Be a Supporter!

Computer Construction Crew

  • 85,073 Views
  • 2,391 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2009-12-30 17:22:06 Reply

I'm gonna be benching P2 and P3 cpus shortly on a P2B motherboard. Anyone interested in benchmarks?

lol jumper overclocking

Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2009-12-30 21:43:02 Reply

I put out an order for a arctic cooling freezer 7. If its not powerful enough is there a way to remove thermal paste off the cpu incase I want to replace the fan with a better on?


BBS Signature
Reaper93
Reaper93
  • Member since: Sep. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2009-12-31 02:09:20 Reply

Just wipe it off with a tissue or something?

Assuming it's not thermal adhesive (which should never be used for CPUs, ever, unless you are absolutely certain you never want to remove the HSF) you can just wipe it with something and it'll come right off, unless I'm missing something here.

TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2009-12-31 07:18:59 Reply

You can just lick it off.

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2009-12-31 09:28:26 Reply

Rubbing alcohol will do it. Anyway, the AC7 is an amazing cooler for the price, but it depends on what you're overclocking. Like I said, if it's a Core 2 Quad, I don't know how much luck you'll have, being it's a very hot chip, but 3.2 might be possible. I know that a lot of people with a 4Ghz on a quad are doing it with liquid cooling.

Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-01 10:08:48 Reply

At 12/31/09 09:28 AM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote: Rubbing alcohol will do it. Anyway, the AC7 is an amazing cooler for the price, but it depends on what you're overclocking. Like I said, if it's a Core 2 Quad, I don't know how much luck you'll have, being it's a very hot chip, but 3.2 might be possible. I know that a lot of people with a 4Ghz on a quad are doing it with liquid cooling.

Yeah I was looking into liquid coolant on newegg but they dont have the greatest selection. Anyone know any good sites for liquid coolant.


BBS Signature
XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-01 11:54:28 Reply

Gah. Fucking DirectCanda and their 2 week shipping time. All my Newegg parts got here in 3 days of being shipped.


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-01 12:36:05 Reply

no one cares about p2 qq

PolishMatt
PolishMatt
  • Member since: Feb. 13, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 29
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-02 08:07:22 Reply

At 1/1/10 11:54 AM, XIII13 wrote: Gah. Fucking DirectCanda and their 2 week shipping time.

Everything I got from there arrived the next day and I hadn't spent an extra penny on shipping.


Visit my brilliant Last.fm account by clicking the breathtaking signature below. Disappointment is futile.

BBS Signature
XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-02 10:04:57 Reply

At 1/2/10 08:07 AM, PolishMatt wrote:
At 1/1/10 11:54 AM, XIII13 wrote: Gah. Fucking DirectCanda and their 2 week shipping time.
Everything I got from there arrived the next day and I hadn't spent an extra penny on shipping.

Do you live out on the West Coast?

Thye're shipping from Vancouver to Southren Ontario, and Canada Post says it won't get here until January 7th.

Ordered Christmas day, shipped out last monday.

This looks froody.

BBS Signature
XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-02 10:07:01 Reply

Completley forgot to mention this in the last post.

Would the Ndivia 250 card be SLI compatibile with the newer 300 series cards when they come out?


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
PolishMatt
PolishMatt
  • Member since: Feb. 13, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 29
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-02 14:23:57 Reply

At 1/2/10 10:04 AM, XIII13 wrote: Do you live out on the West Coast?

I love that song but um, I lived in Ontario.

At 1/2/10 10:07 AM, XIII13 wrote: Would the Ndivia 250 card be SLI compatibile with the newer 300 series cards when they come out?

You could even SLI a washing machine with it if Nvidia made one but to be serious for a moment, yes you can do that but the performance won't be as good as it would be if the cards were the same model.


Visit my brilliant Last.fm account by clicking the breathtaking signature below. Disappointment is futile.

BBS Signature
XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-02 20:56:49 Reply

At 1/2/10 02:23 PM, PolishMatt wrote:
At 1/2/10 10:04 AM, XIII13 wrote: Do you live out on the West Coast?
I love that song but um, I lived in Ontario.

Lol wut. Didn't know that was a song. I just figured that to get shipping times like that, you'd have to live near Vancouver. Maybe it's just the time of year that I'm ordering at, since I live just north of Toronto.


At 1/2/10 10:07 AM, XIII13 wrote: Would the Ndivia 250 card be SLI compatibile with the newer 300 series cards when they come out?
You could even SLI a washing machine with it if Nvidia made one but to be serious for a moment, yes you can do that but the performance won't be as good as it would be if the cards were the same model.

So you're saying 250 + 250 would be a better performance than an 300 series + a 250? Or are you saying two 300's would be better than a 250 and a 300?

Either way, it would be higher performance than a single card. >.>


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-04 20:09:19 Reply

Here is the motherboard i have at the moment
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16813131347&cm_re=p45-_-13-1 31-347-_-Product

Anyway im having trouble connecting the case internal wires to the motherboard. Theres about 6 different spots to connect the usb from the front of the case. Here is a list of spots I could put it into
Com1
USB1112
USBPW6-11
USB78
USB910
Ok onto the next wire its called 1394 No idea where that goes.
I have a bunch of 1 pin and 2 pin internal case wires that I'm not sure where they go. They could go to the Panel. Heres a list of the internal case wiring that has no where to go yet.
POWER SW
POWER LED+
POWER LED-
RESET SW
If i cant do it myself i can get help in a few days time.


BBS Signature
XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-05 20:56:15 Reply

Well, I got 95% of my parts today. Motherboard hit a delay, and won't be arriving till later this week.

Also, to answer my question from earlier, turns out SLI cards have to be same model. What do you guys think, should I buy a 295 card after the 300 series comes out and theres a drop in price, or just go with a more expensive 300 series?


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
steveo1259
steveo1259
  • Member since: Mar. 16, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-06 10:16:03 Reply

go with the more expensive 300 series. If you go with the 295 youre likely to hit issues with incompatible drivers for sli functions and thus games wont work as well

mooguy
mooguy
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Filmmaker
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-06 20:39:31 Reply

Remember me?

I just got an XFX Rdeon HD 4850 1 GB and I originally had a Saphire Radeon HD 4850 512MB. Now I want to use them together.

Common sense tells me they should, and even the ATI CrossFireX chart says I can. My computer is the only one that disagrees.

For some reason, the only card that works is the XFX even with CrossFire enabled.

I even went into the BIOS only to find no hint of GPUs.

So can anyone help? ANy idea what's going on?


America. Ghettos. Walmart. NFL. Internet. Slavery. Starbucks. Disney World. Porno. Fake tits. Sushi. Taco Bell. Rodeo. Christmas. Pop-Eye. Books. Sportsmanship. Fuck yeah.

BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-10 10:47:34 Reply

At 1/4/10 08:09 PM, Jerich0 wrote:

All the headers should be labeled in the motherboard manual.

At 1/5/10 08:56 PM, XIII13 wrote:

The 295 is useless as the 5870 performs just as well for $100 less. Though, if you're an Nvidia guy, wait for Fermi. It's supposed to be amazing, but there's no word on pricing yet.

At 1/6/10 08:39 PM, mooguy wrote:

What motherboard do you have? Try putting the lower clocked card in the first slot, so that the higher one downclocks to match it, instead of the lower one trying to overclock to match the other.

TheMaster
TheMaster
  • Member since: May. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 30
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-10 10:58:23 Reply

My PC has died. Was using it, and it just turned off. Turning it back on, it powers on (lights come on and fans start etc) but it won't boot.

Any ideas?


PSN: Absurd-Ditties | Steam | Letterboxd

BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-10 11:22:20 Reply

At 1/10/10 10:58 AM, TheMaster wrote: My PC has died. Was using it, and it just turned off. Turning it back on, it powers on (lights come on and fans start etc) but it won't boot.

Any ideas?

Sounds like the motherboard, but it could also be GPU. Try hooking up some speakers and listening to see if the computer is getting into Windows, just not displaying anything.

Also, new sound setup.

Computer Construction Crew

TheMaster
TheMaster
  • Member since: May. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 30
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-10 12:04:40 Reply

At 1/10/10 11:22 AM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote: Sounds like the motherboard, but it could also be GPU. Try hooking up some speakers and listening to see if the computer is getting into Windows, just not displaying anything.

I took the RAM out and dusted them down and stuck them back in, and it's come on, so I hope it was just that.


PSN: Absurd-Ditties | Steam | Letterboxd

BBS Signature
XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-10 20:29:39 Reply

At 1/10/10 10:47 AM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote: The 295 is useless as the 5870 performs just as well for $100 less. Though, if you're an Nvidia guy, wait for Fermi. It's supposed to be amazing, but there's no word on pricing yet.

The only reason I want Nvidia is because I've heard ATI doesn't make drivers for Linux. If they do, i'd take either.


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
ph0ne
ph0ne
  • Member since: Nov. 25, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-12 00:08:40 Reply

At 1/10/10 08:29 PM, XIII13 wrote:
At 1/10/10 10:47 AM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote: The 295 is useless as the 5870 performs just as well for $100 less. Though, if you're an Nvidia guy, wait for Fermi. It's supposed to be amazing, but there's no word on pricing yet.
The only reason I want Nvidia is because I've heard ATI doesn't make drivers for Linux. If they do, i'd take either.

Hardly the case. I was able to play intensive 3D games such as Sauerbraten in Ubuntu no problem with my HD4670 running on proprietary drivers.

XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-12 07:39:59 Reply

At 1/12/10 12:08 AM, ph0ne wrote:
At 1/10/10 08:29 PM, XIII13 wrote:
At 1/10/10 10:47 AM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote: The 295 is useless as the 5870 performs just as well for $100 less. Though, if you're an Nvidia guy, wait for Fermi. It's supposed to be amazing, but there's no word on pricing yet.
The only reason I want Nvidia is because I've heard ATI doesn't make drivers for Linux. If they do, i'd take either.
Hardly the case. I was able to play intensive 3D games such as Sauerbraten in Ubuntu no problem with my HD4670 running on proprietary drivers.

I'm hesitant to trust you after your stint of trolling in the Athiest Army thread, but I'll look past it. I'll look at Ati as well, when I pick up my next graphics card.


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
ph0ne
ph0ne
  • Member since: Nov. 25, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-12 18:16:17 Reply

At 1/12/10 07:39 AM, XIII13 wrote: I'm hesitant to trust you after your stint of trolling in the Athiest Army thread, but I'll look past it. I'll look at Ati as well, when I pick up my next graphics card.

Try it yourself if you don't believe me, although I don't know why you would want to use Linux unless you're incredibly poor.

XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-12 20:40:01 Reply

At 1/12/10 06:16 PM, ph0ne wrote:
At 1/12/10 07:39 AM, XIII13 wrote: I'm hesitant to trust you after your stint of trolling in the Athiest Army thread, but I'll look past it. I'll look at Ati as well, when I pick up my next graphics card.
Try it yourself if you don't believe me, although I don't know why you would want to use Linux unless you're incredibly poor.

Maybe I am incredibly poor. However, lets not argue this.

Anyway, I got everything together and connected. Ther's only one problem. I don't seem to be getting anything. My case power button seems to be malfunctioning (may have connected it wrong, I'll check again after), and when I click the power button on the motherboard, everything comes on for a bout a second, before going back into standby mode. A second later it turns back on agian, then off again. It repeats over and over agian. My monitor is recieving a signal, but immediatly goes into standby mode, something it didn't do before I hooked it up.

I know this is vague, if you need more info/pictures, tell me.


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
ph0ne
ph0ne
  • Member since: Nov. 25, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-12 21:02:18 Reply

At 1/12/10 08:40 PM, XIII13 wrote: Anyway, I got everything together and connected. Ther's only one problem. I don't seem to be getting anything. My case power button seems to be malfunctioning (may have connected it wrong, I'll check again after), and when I click the power button on the motherboard, everything comes on for a bout a second, before going back into standby mode. A second later it turns back on agian, then off again. It repeats over and over agian. My monitor is recieving a signal, but immediatly goes into standby mode, something it didn't do before I hooked it up.

I know this is vague, if you need more info/pictures, tell me.

Check how well your 24-pin power connector is seated. I had that problem with a build I did for a friend. Also, try reseating the header for the power button.

XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-12 22:59:53 Reply

At 1/12/10 09:02 PM, ph0ne wrote:
At 1/12/10 08:40 PM, XIII13 wrote: Anyway, I got everything together and connected. Ther's only one problem. I don't seem to be getting anything. My case power button seems to be malfunctioning (may have connected it wrong, I'll check again after), and when I click the power button on the motherboard, everything comes on for a bout a second, before going back into standby mode. A second later it turns back on agian, then off again. It repeats over and over agian. My monitor is recieving a signal, but immediatly goes into standby mode, something it didn't do before I hooked it up.

I know this is vague, if you need more info/pictures, tell me.
Check how well your 24-pin power connector is seated. I had that problem with a build I did for a friend. Also, try reseating the header for the power button.

It was fully in. Besides, I know it's getting power, because the standby light is on. Reseating the header?

Just an update. I spent the last hour or so, taking the mother board out, taking everything else out, and making everything was connected properly. I think I fucked up mounting the standoff, so I fixed that, but still have the same problem. Tommorow, I'll try running it with no extras, just mobo, and the CPU to test to see if it's the mobo giving me the problem.


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-13 06:12:42 Reply

Have you made sure the switch on the back of the PSU is in the right position?

XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2010-01-13 07:43:13 Reply

At 1/13/10 06:12 AM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote: Have you made sure the switch on the back of the PSU is in the right position?

Yeah. To clarify this, I am getting power to the mobo. I get the orange standby light when the PSU is plugged in and on. It's just when I turn on the mobo, either through the case button, or the motherboard button, All the nessacary LED's come on, fans start up, etc, but then it shuts down a second later, and repeats.


This looks froody.

BBS Signature