Be a Supporter!

Computer Construction Crew

  • 81,668 Views
  • 2,386 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 23rd, 2009 @ 01:15 AM Reply

I was thinking of trying liquid coolant but at the same time I dont see a point because it would still have fans and what not. So The setup I was going to get has like 6 fans...

Anywho i'm somewhat on a budget but I managed to come up with these specs from newegg

Processor: AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.0ghz Quad core
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16819103674
Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16813157162&cm_re=SB750-_-13 -157-162-_-Product
4gb Ram DDR2
Case With 3 fans
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16811162045
Graphics card - I'm more of an Nvidia person so for now 9600GT perhaps a 9800gtx
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16814150397
Power Supply 580w
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16817709011

Instead of buying all of this off newegg I think i will buy some of it from best buy the day after christmas because things will be dirt cheap and the rest on newegg. I'm really new to this so any advice would be greatly appreciated. I plan on overclocking the processor a little bit not much though. So im wondering if i need to up the watts on the power supply.

All of this comes out to 450 via newegg perhaps i can save on $ by buying from stores and not getting raped by shipping and handling from newegg.

Oh do i need a sound card? Could i just use a male to male JACK and use a stereo?
I made a thread with this in general but its generally ignored.


BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 24th, 2009 @ 12:39 PM Reply

Power supply mobo and case are shite. Instead of a 955, get an athlon x4 620 or a phenom x3 720. Use the money you saved to get this, this, and this.

Also, 9600gt is a good card, but not for the price. The ATI 4670 is about equal, sometimes better, for 20 bucks less. See for yourself.

XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 24th, 2009 @ 09:42 PM Reply

Oh shit, club's back up. :D

Anyway, I'm about *this* close to having my parts. I'm at, like, 1200 dollars, and I need another 200. So glad it's Christmas, so I don't have to wait until next pay day.


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 08:32 AM Reply

I hate to switch over to intel but the majority of AMD motherboards dont support Nvidia. AND I NEED NVIDIA. Ati blows imo So I'm going with a intel core 2 quad core 2.66. gpu 9800gt This motherboard fits my needs http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16813128372


BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 11:33 AM Reply

Stop being an ignorant fanboy cunt. All motherboards support all graphics cards in single card configurations whether it's ati/nvidia/amd/intel. There are still amd motherboards that support SLI, but they use nvidia chipsets, which are in most ways inferior to the motherboards made by intel and amd. ATI in no way "blows", it just lacks physX support, which, if you knew anything about, is only supported in a handful of games, and all it does is make pretty papers float around.

Dean
Dean
  • Member since: Feb. 16, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 45
Gamer
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 12:50 PM Reply

I may be planning to make a build, again. I didn't go through with it last time because I figured a laptop would be more suitable for my time at university.

My budget wont be as high as list time, and will most likely be around £350-£400 tops. If anyone has some time to spare I would appreciate a full list of parts that would give me the best PC I can get for my money. Keep in mind that I need every possible part included in this price. Monitor, keyboard and mouse as well.

Before anyone is willing to make this list of parts for me, I would like to clarify that this build is not defiantly going to be made. This is just so that I can see what kind of a PC I am going to get with the money I have to spend. If the computer seems like it is something that will be able to run some games and have a decent amount of power, I probably will go ahead and build it.

Thanks in advance to anyone who is willing to make me a complete list of parts.


BBS + Chat Moderator - Feel free to send me a PM if you have a problem!
Want to instant message me? [ Skype - DeanNewgrounds ]

BBS Signature
Dean
Dean
  • Member since: Feb. 16, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 45
Gamer
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 12:54 PM Reply

I also forgot to mention that the Operating System doesn't have to be included on the list, seeing as I can get a free copy of XP, Vista or Windows 7 through the MSDN-AA scheme that is offered to certain university students.


BBS + Chat Moderator - Feel free to send me a PM if you have a problem!
Want to instant message me? [ Skype - DeanNewgrounds ]

BBS Signature
Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 01:45 PM Reply

At 12/27/09 11:33 AM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote:

If the motherboard was designed to handle ati cards it will run nvidia 5x slower.


BBS Signature
Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 01:59 PM Reply

I hate to start a amd vs intel debate but im trying to get to 3.2 Ghz to run a ps2 emulator with no issues so the gpu im going with is nvidia geforce 9800gt

Now I could go with intel
cpu: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16819115057
mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16813128372
The only issue here is i would have to overclock from 2.66 to 3.2 and I have never oc before

Or i could go with amd and not have to overclock
cpu+mobo combo http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealD etails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.305245

The main issue Ive noticed with amd is the Hyper transports is 4000Mhz The most a motherboard I have up there only handles 2600MHz Hyper Transport on the fsb. Can someone explain to me whats going on with that.


BBS Signature
TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 03:25 PM Reply

yeahhhhhhhhhhhh

Computer Construction Crew

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 03:57 PM Reply

If the motherboard was designed to handle ati cards it will run nvidia 5x slower.

I have an nvidia card on an amd chipset. I have a 4770 on a 750 SLI motherboard.

derp

Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 04:27 PM Reply

I wouldn't mind overclocking I just dont wanna be a moron and overheat it and fry it. Plan on going with an Arctic cooling Freezer 7. I'm sorry for arguing with you french. I just want to know if I can overclock with this mobo cpu combo.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16813128372
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16819115057

According to the reviews I can.


BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 05:04 PM Reply

Both parts are great for overclocking but you'd have no luck doing it on an AC7. You'd need at least a Mugen II to get 3.2 ghz out of. it.

Still want to know, in the form of graphs and benchmarks, why you prefer intel/nvidia or amd/ati at this price level.

TurtleHood
TurtleHood
  • Member since: Dec. 18, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 09:37 PM Reply

I need help. Some how my drivers got deleted around the early months of 2009(maybe after March?) and have been suffering ever since. I can't play SOME of my games, my computer has slowed down, and pages load slowly. I really have no knowledge of PC's, but I know enough to get around. I've tried to find websites to install my drivers again but no luck. Can anyone tell me what to do?


I am online

BBS Signature
Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 27th, 2009 @ 10:02 PM Reply

Depends on your graphics card google drivers for whatever card you have. You can figure that out with cpu-z again google. Perhaps a virus scanner or a wipeout is in order if those ideas dont work.


BBS Signature
TheWolfe
TheWolfe
  • Member since: Dec. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 28th, 2009 @ 12:46 AM Reply

Personally I've heard most people prefer Intel because of the saying "You get what you pay for", and that amd chips seem to fail more often, not work, not meet expectations, etc etc. No real proof or numbers to back it up, but I just feel more comfortable buying a the dominant, more widely used, and chip with a company that has more mulah than cheaping out and getting amd. Just a preference.

I prefer Nvidia simply because I don't understand ati numberings. And no one seems willing to explain.

Nvidia:
8000 Series - Old, crappy
9000 Series - Oldish-, not so bad
200 Series - Newest, Best
300 Series - The future

Ati:
4000...idk?
5000...idk?
x2...wait theres two of them in one? WTF?

It just confuses me and I don't really see a difference between them, except knowing that ATI has/had a huge driver problem. They don't seem all that much cheaper than Nvidia (as oppose to the real arguement that amd is a ton cheaper than intel).
With these gpus, I just see them as equals more or less, and I understand one more than the other. Therefore I'm more comfortable and willing to buy them.


RAWR.

BBS Signature
steveo1259
steveo1259
  • Member since: Mar. 16, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 28th, 2009 @ 07:36 AM Reply

At 12/28/09 12:46 AM, TheWolfe wrote: Ati:
4000...idk?
5000...idk?
x2...wait theres two of them in one? WTF?

4000 = old but still good and relativley cheap
5000 = dx 11, very new still quite expensive
X2 = crossfire on 1 card, like the nvidia 295 or 275

sirbobsalot2
sirbobsalot2
  • Member since: Aug. 17, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 28th, 2009 @ 10:08 AM Reply

I doubt this is the right place to ask, but it seemed to be the closest I could think of.

Does anyone know a good CMD (XP) guide? I've been playing around with it and managed to get it to accept input "newgrounds" and then it would go to www.newgrounds.com

But I'd like to have a list of the commands before the input, however google searching has come up with nothing but how to change the colour of my command prompt :(

So it'd look something like;

Commands: newgrounds, youtube

Input:

Just thought that people who know how build PC's probably know how to do some basic CMD coding as well.


(Back from the dead!)
Thanks to TheWolfe for letting me steal his sig.

BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 28th, 2009 @ 02:49 PM Reply

At 12/27/09 09:37 PM, TurtleHood wrote: Can anyone tell me what to do?

Run Gpu-z and download drivers from the website corresponding to your chip.

ATI
Nvidia

At 12/28/09 12:46 AM, TheWolfe wrote: Nvidia:
8000 Series - Old, crappy

Actually, the 8000 series is widely considered Nvidia's most successful product, and the height of their reign.

9000 Series - Oldish-, not so bad

9000 Series flagship was a rebrand of the 8000 series, the 9800gtx was exactly the same as the 8800gtx, except for a die shrink which made it run cooler.

200 Series - Newest, Best

The 200 Series, while great, released very, very expensive, and I was swept up in this. When prices simmered down, the 260 became some of the best price/performance you could get for a time. It's also worth noting that the GTS 250 is a rebrand of the 9800GTX, which was a rebrand of the 8800gtx.

300 Series - The future

Everyone wants Fermi to come out; ATI fanboys so that the 5xxx series drops in price; Nvidia Fanboys so that they can buy new cards.

Ati Naming Scheme isn't much different from Nvidia's - The first number is the generation, the second is the series, and the third one is the specific model.

TurtleHood
TurtleHood
  • Member since: Dec. 18, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 28th, 2009 @ 05:17 PM Reply

Thanks French I downloaded that GPU thing and it really wasn't any help. Either all the blanks were blank or were 'unknown', I went to the NVIDIA website to automatically find the drivers I need because I don't know which ones I do need and it said this: 'The NVIDIA Smart Scan was unable to evaluate your system hardware. Please use Option 1 to manually find drivers for your NVIDIA products.' I really don't know which ones to choose from the manual search.


I am online

BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 28th, 2009 @ 05:32 PM Reply

If GPU-z doesn't come up with anything, check your computer OEM for the specs of your PC. It should specify the model, and you can take it from there.

Vault13dweller
Vault13dweller
  • Member since: Dec. 13, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Writer
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 28th, 2009 @ 06:12 PM Reply

I've been wanting to build a computer for quite some time, the first true motivation being this thread.. How do you reccomend I start?


BBS Signature
TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 29th, 2009 @ 10:39 AM Reply

Quick question Ive been messing around with speedfan I'm not really sure what temp1 temp2 and temp3 are. But im assuming Core is the cpu obviously. Anywho When my comp is idle it goes down to about 13c which seems way too low for a amd dual core.

13c converted into F is 55F degrees yet the thermastat in my house is usually 68-70F I is so confused

Computer Construction Crew


BBS Signature
TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 29th, 2009 @ 11:06 AM Reply

Temp 1 temp 2 and temp 3 is usually stuff like CPU (not cores), NB temp and VRM temp.

As for the AMD dual core it's possible you have a Brisbane and they have bad temp sensors.

You might be able to get more accurate readings using SIW (google it) or everest. If it's still inaccurate check the temperature readings in the BIOS.

Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 29th, 2009 @ 11:24 AM Reply

At 12/29/09 11:06 AM, TacoFreak wrote: Temp 1 temp 2 and temp 3 is usually stuff like CPU (not cores), NB temp and VRM temp.

As for the AMD dual core it's possible you have a Brisbane and they have bad temp sensors.

You might be able to get more accurate readings using SIW (google it) or everest. If it's still inaccurate check the temperature readings in the BIOS.

Anyway I installed siw and everest couldnt figure out how to use them for temperature readings so I went straight into the bios. Now I'm not sure whats what so I went into PC health status and there they had...
cpu tcontrol - 37c
There was another one i forget but it was 36c
So obviously whatever speedfan is reading is faulty. Brisbane does that have to do with the motherboard or the processor?


BBS Signature
TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 29th, 2009 @ 12:13 PM Reply

For everest and SIW look for a tab called sensor

Brisbane is the code name of the CPU type that you have. Mine is for example Heka, and a Phenom 2 X4 would be a Deneb.

As for the Bios it should be reading right, either you're looking at something else or it's just faulty.

PolishMatt
PolishMatt
  • Member since: Feb. 13, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 29
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 29th, 2009 @ 09:52 PM Reply

At 12/29/09 10:39 AM, Jerich0 wrote: 13c converted into F is 55F degrees yet the thermastat in my house is usually 68-70F I is so confused

There's a way to change it to from Celsius to Fahrenheit if you want to, just go to Configure and under the Options tab at the bottom. I would love to know what Temp2 is, it's oddly hot. Temp might be even hotter but I already know that's the South Bridge.

Also, Rainmeter + Home-brewed skin = Awesome.

Computer Construction Crew


Visit my brilliant Last.fm account by clicking the breathtaking signature below. Disappointment is futile.

BBS Signature
Jerich0
Jerich0
  • Member since: Nov. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 30th, 2009 @ 09:00 AM Reply

At 12/29/09 09:52 PM, PolishMatt wrote:
At 12/29/09 10:39 AM, Jerich0 wrote: 13c converted into F is 55F degrees yet the thermastat in my house is usually 68-70F I is so confused
There's a way to change it to from Celsius to Fahrenheit if you want to, just go to Configure and under the Options tab at the bottom. I would love to know what Temp2 is, it's oddly hot. Temp might be even hotter but I already know that's the South Bridge.

Also, Rainmeter + Home-brewed skin = Awesome.

Meh I like celcius that way i know i shouldnt be going over 65c when overclocking. But seems pretty useful.


BBS Signature
PolishMatt
PolishMatt
  • Member since: Feb. 13, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 29
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Dec. 30th, 2009 @ 04:54 PM Reply

At 12/30/09 09:00 AM, Jerich0 wrote:
Meh I like celcius that way i know i shouldnt be going over 65c when overclocking. But seems pretty useful.

65C = 149F


Visit my brilliant Last.fm account by clicking the breathtaking signature below. Disappointment is futile.

BBS Signature