Be a Supporter!

Computer Construction Crew

  • 88,882 Views
  • 2,395 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
PickledOnionMuffin
PickledOnionMuffin
  • Member since: Nov. 13, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 33
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 13:08:47 Reply

as long as youve got the right motherboard socket for your new CPU, an adequate heatsink, and no fancy detectors and shit, it should be alright


Sig made by BBM in 2003

BBS Signature
sirbobsalot2
sirbobsalot2
  • Member since: Aug. 17, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 13:24:31 Reply

Someone finally made a Computer crew :)

Anyway, my computers Specs

CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz
RAM: x2 512mb sticks (upgrading to two 2gb sticks later this month)
Graphics Card: a nVidia GeForce 7900 GS.

I have a quick question though, I've been planning to upgrade my Graphics Card but I don't know if my Motherboard can run DDR3 Cards, I tried searching my motherboards specs, but nothing came up, I looked in my System Information, and nothing came up, I looked in the Owner's Manual, and nothing came up.

So I'm wondering if anyone knows if the basic Motherboard that comes with a Dell XPS 600 (Model No: 0GC375) can run DDR3 and if you know any other information it would be appreciated.


(Back from the dead!)
Thanks to TheWolfe for letting me steal his sig.

BBS Signature
TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 14:18:26 Reply

At 12/5/08 01:47 PM, Jezuz wrote:
At 12/5/08 01:24 PM, sirbobsalot2 wrote:
So I'm wondering if anyone knows if the basic Motherboard that comes with a Dell XPS 600 (Model No: 0GC375) can run DDR3 and if you know any other information it would be appreciated.
If you're running a Pentium 4, my guess would be no, you can't.

Get a GeForce 9800 GT off Amazon. DDR2, 90 bucks, thing is insane.

The pentium 4 would bottleneck the card.

If you do not know what that means, bottlenecking is when a part cannot perform at it's full potential because it's being limited by another part. In this case the card is being bottlenecked by the processor.

I'd get an AMD 6000+, or something around that because it's cheap. A AMD 6000+ processor is equal to the cheapest Intel quad for gaming. And the quad is 2.5x more expensive. Although the quad will overclock a lot better than the 6000+. You have a intel motherboard though.

sirbobsalot2
sirbobsalot2
  • Member since: Aug. 17, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 15:50:29 Reply

I had a look for a 9800 Card on Amazon but I couldn't find one under £100, and most were DDR3 so I'm going to have to buy a new Motherboard as well, does anyone recommend a particular model? Also will I need to get a new CPU or can it wait for a while?


(Back from the dead!)
Thanks to TheWolfe for letting me steal his sig.

BBS Signature
TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 16:58:06 Reply

At 12/5/08 03:50 PM, sirbobsalot2 wrote: I had a look for a 9800 Card on Amazon but I couldn't find one under £100, and most were DDR3 so I'm going to have to buy a new Motherboard as well, does anyone recommend a particular model? Also will I need to get a new CPU or can it wait for a while?

Don't think it will be a problem if it has DDR3. As long as it fits in the PCI - E socket and your PSU gives enough power it should be ok. Not sure though.

At 12/5/08 02:28 PM, Jezuz wrote:
ffffffffff quad lolol

I'd rather get a Dual core, cheaper, better for gaming than a quad (the high end ones), and still overclocks just as well.

TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 17:05:06 Reply

yeah the card will work you just need PCI - E slot x 16 2.0

TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 17:33:18 Reply

At 12/5/08 05:26 PM, Jezuz wrote:
At 12/5/08 04:58 PM, TacoFreak wrote:
I'd rather get a Dual core, cheaper, better for gaming than a quad (the high end ones), and still overclocks just as well.
I don't get that logic. Q6600 is 180, E6600 (dual core version) is about 160. 20 dollars, for two more cores. How could that be worse for gaming, besides the fact that some games don't use the quads potential? Higher end also means higher price. Q6600 is the way to go if you want a cheap, fast and reliable processor.

http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/deskt op-cpu-charts-q3-2008/Crysis-1680x1050,8 18.html

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 17:40:41 Reply

If you're ever in the market for an Nvidia graphics card, go EVGA. They are the only manufacturer I know of whose warranty covers both overclocking AND removing the stock heat sink. Their cards are also GODLY overclockers.

At 12/5/08 01:24 PM, sirbobsalot2 wrote: Someone finally made a Computer crew :)

Anyway, my computers Specs

I know I don't have the rules in my first post, but please put your specs in your sig if you can for reference's sake.

mooguy
mooguy
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Filmmaker
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 17:45:38 Reply

Hey there. I've been wanting a nice computer for some time now. By the looks of it, newegg seems to be the best place to get parts and I'm not really sure where to start. I want to have a nice graphics card and I suppose I need a good motherboard to go with it. But I want somthing that can handle Fallout 3 on medium to high settings. And of course, I want it to be affordable. All of the cards I've seen are about $700. I don't want to spend that much money on a crad and 2 years later end up getting a more expensive one! I would appreciate any help.

And maxing out your computer. What's it mean and is it bad?

America. Ghettos. Walmart. NFL. Internet. Slavery. Starbucks. Disney World. Porno. Fake tits. Sushi. Taco Bell. Rodeo. Christmas. Pop-Eye. Books. Sportsmanship. Fuck yeah.

BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 17:58:27 Reply

At 12/5/08 05:45 PM, mooguy wrote: help me be leet!

What's your maximum budget?

mooguy
mooguy
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Filmmaker
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 19:06:38 Reply

At 12/5/08 05:58 PM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote:
At 12/5/08 05:45 PM, mooguy wrote: help me be leet!

So long as it isn't leer.

What's your maximum budget?

It shouldn't be too high, obviously. How much is too much when it comes to these things?


America. Ghettos. Walmart. NFL. Internet. Slavery. Starbucks. Disney World. Porno. Fake tits. Sushi. Taco Bell. Rodeo. Christmas. Pop-Eye. Books. Sportsmanship. Fuck yeah.

BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-05 19:12:03 Reply

A decent budget gaming pc can usually be managed together for 600-800 dollars.

How much is too much.

There is no limit on how much a computer can actually cost. I'm hoping to have 4500 saved up for my 2010 build, a near impossible task, but achievable none-the-less.

TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-06 07:21:07 Reply

Every 5 minutes or so, I get a annoying sound that goes like "blip". I don't know what can be causing it.
I was thinking that it was the safely remove hardware tool, but I think that's not it.

Any suggestions on how I can fix this?

Im posting this here beacuse TSF is being a douche and doesn't wants to answer my question in General.
sirbobsalot2
sirbobsalot2
  • Member since: Aug. 17, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-06 13:07:42 Reply

I was having a look at some RAM yesterday and found a great deal, x2 2gb's of RAM from Corsair for only £32, I was just about to buy it when I noticed at the bottom it said: "Please Note: Installing 4gb onto PC's with 32-bit operating systems is not advised since 32-bit systems do not support 4gb of system memory".

Because I'm only using standard XP does that mean that it will have any problems processing the extra RAM or will it just shut it off and use the 3gb it can process?

Also in case you want to buy it LINK


(Back from the dead!)
Thanks to TheWolfe for letting me steal his sig.

BBS Signature
TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-06 13:41:22 Reply

At 12/6/08 01:07 PM, sirbobsalot2 wrote:
Because I'm only using standard XP does that mean that it will have any problems processing the extra RAM or will it just shut it off and use the 3gb it can process?

What's your current RAM? If it's 2 GB then 4 GB isn't really needed. Especially for Windows XP where you can't fully support 4 GB of RAM.

What will happen is instead of having 4 gb, you will only have 3. That's all.

TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-06 15:53:05 Reply

lol at Palit support.

I sent them an email regarding a question about warrenty. Well anyways, I use gmail, and you can have a signature which basically a message at the bottom of every email you send. My signature is: Tacos rule!

When they replied to me, they said that tacos rule.

:DD

Rig
Rig
  • Member since: Oct. 29, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 20
Musician
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-06 20:32:40 Reply

At 12/6/08 03:53 PM, TacoFreak wrote: When they replied to me, they said that tacos rule.

DD

Nice. :)

This is about a month old already, but AMD announced something called ATI Stream. Quote: "ATI Stream is AMD's GPU-accelerated computing project and for all intents and purposes it is basically AMD-flavoured CUDA," and has a lot of support from Adobe and Microsoft. GPU-enabled Flash and Powerpoint, anyone?

That brings me to another predicament I found myself in: PhysX vs Havok. Any opinions?


____________________________Bel-Air remixes! You must listen!____________________________

BBS Signature
TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-06 21:01:01 Reply

I don't know anything about that Rig.

Also a question.

I will be getting some cash for christmas and my birthday (jan 7th).

I don't know what to get though.

I could save up, because I plan on upgrading somewhere in the beginning of 2010, or later if my computer can still handle all the games that I will be playing.

I could also get a 22" LCD monitor, currently I have a 17 " LCD monitor with a 8 ms response time.

Maybe I could get a sound card, but I don't know if it's really worth it, I don't want to get anything expensive, but then I wouldn't see a huge difference. I have a Realtek HD now I think. It's built into my Gigabyte motherboard though.

I can also get some games, but I got cod4 and l4d in the past month so don't really need a new game.

Any idea guise?

Actually what about a new case for my rig? Mine is pretty basic right now and the front is fucked up. It doesn't have enough room for fans too. The problem is mounting shit to a case and installing everything is probably hard, and I don't want to pay some guy money to do it for me.

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-07 07:00:43 Reply

Jezuz, don't fool yourself by saying a power supply isn't important, it's the heart of the machine. I'm sure whatever you have will be enough, but just to make sure, list the maximum wattage and the amperage on the 12v rail/s

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-07 17:42:46 Reply

Eh, you'd probably be fine then.

TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-08 14:31:39 Reply

I managed to get 11015 3dmark06 score with my 6000+ and 9600 GT which is GOOD.

A stock 9600 Gt is 650 / 1800 / 1650. I had mine at 750 / 2190 / 1825.

My cpu is stock at 3.1 GHz and I took it all the way to 3.45 GHz. Seems like little but AMD's are hard to overclock. When I was at 3.5 GHz I got a BSOD that was 0x44. I googled it but couldn't find anything about it related to CPU's and OC.

My temps were extreamly cool. I can probably even go up to 4 GHz if it's stable.

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-15 17:30:16 Reply

At 12/11/08 01:04 PM, Jezuz wrote: So, I have DP35DP Media Series motherboard. It apparently doesn't allow me to overclock from the bios, but I'd still enjoy doing so in the future, considering I'll be getting an E8500, which supposedly is an OC God. What software would I use, if any? Is it too risky to use them or would the risk be worth it?

Another question I have is: Should I get 2x2GB RAM, or 3x1GB RAM? I hear that 32 bit systems only work up to 3GBs, so the added cost doesn't seem worth it. Are there any other benefits of having lots of 1GB of RAM rather than two 2GBs, or vice versa?

If you cannot overclock from the bios, your motherboard will lack the ability to overclock as a whole. Software overclockers are actually very dangerous unless they are custom tailored to work on a motherboard. NTune is a prime example of this disaster in action. My e8500 was pushed to 4.75ghz for benching settings, so if you want to get one, an overclockable motherboard might be worth an extra 100 dollars.

As for the memory issue, motherboards operate ram in dual channel, which means you need an equal pairs of ram. Even if the usable capacity is the same, 3x1 is slower than 2x2 because of a shitstorm of stuff having to do with bandwidth. Besides, 4 gigs is dirt cheap, I've seen it around for 60 dollars. In fact, if you want, I have a set of memory that you could use, and would be willing to let go for cheap.

TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-16 08:15:49 Reply

This is fucking lame.

I regret getting my 9600 gt, I wish I put in a little more money for a 9800 gtx + or HD4850.

Now I have to stick with my 17" monitor for a year fuck sake this is lame.

:(((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-16 18:09:16 Reply

30" dell monitors for 750!

Fuck man, if you can afford these by any stretch, get them. The thing that makes these so special is the 2560x1600 resolution. You need one hell of a graphics solution to drive these monitors, but it's worth it.

Specs

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-16 18:26:08 Reply

At 12/16/08 06:09 PM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote: 30" dell monitors for 750!

Fuck man, if you can afford these by any stretch, get them. The thing that makes these so special is the 2560x1600 resolution. You need one hell of a graphics solution to drive these monitors, but it's worth it.

Specs

Edit: They sold out in five minutes flat!

TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-16 19:40:31 Reply

At 12/16/08 06:09 PM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote: 30" dell monitors for 750!

Fuck man, if you can afford these by any stretch, get them. The thing that makes these so special is the 2560x1600 resolution. You need one hell of a graphics solution to drive these monitors, but it's worth it.

Specs

Nice 14 ms response and 1:700 contrast ratio...

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-17 04:51:52 Reply

You do realize that it doesn't make much of a difference. I looked up the specs of my monitor, and it has a 16ms response and an 800:1 ratio. I've never had ghosting in games, and it's plenty vibrant for me.

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-20 06:23:54 Reply

Try messing around with other settings, like contrast and color settings on your monitor, and also on ATI's control panel.. For me, cranking up the digital vibrance made things look a lot better. If you can't get the blacks to display properly without turning something up to an uncomfortable level, then you'll need a new monitor, unfortunately. Fear not though, that shit is cheap these days.

Ding.

sirbobsalot2
sirbobsalot2
  • Member since: Aug. 17, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-20 06:30:02 Reply

Yesterday I loaded up Half Life 2 on my aging Computer(was one of the best in 2005, but hasn't be upgraded since), and it crashed and gave me a black screen that wouldn't go away and the only way to get rid of it was to shut the computer down.

I tried the Pirates, Vikings and Knights mod for Half-Life 2, and the same thing happened. I also tried Fallout 3 which also crashed. When I finally got to the root of the problem I found out that the "nv4_disp display driver" was not working and had caused the computer to crash.

My Graphics Card is a Nvidia 7900GS and I have 1gb of RAM if that helps, I think that I could simply upgrade my drivers, but I don't know which is which and when I downloaded the lastest my Steam Options showed a basic 9.0 Nvidia Driver instead of the 9.0c version.


(Back from the dead!)
Thanks to TheWolfe for letting me steal his sig.

BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2008-12-20 06:47:45 Reply

In it's time, that was indeed an awesome card, but it's old nonetheless. You could try finding the drivers on Nvidia's website, however, the older cards are only made to be compatible up to a certain version. Your best bet would be to search for "7900GS WHQL Drivers" on an archive of some sort. Google is your friend.

Remember to install the drivers as I outlined on page 2, otherwise you could run into problems.