00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

markololohands just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

My Flash Rts Engine

8,826 Views | 34 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

My Flash Rts Engine 2008-08-29 11:10:16

Hello guys.

My name's Murudai, I'm a professional Flash programmer. I've worked on some great projects in the past, and at the moment I have a variety of projects I'm working on, namely some neat games I'm doing for a software company.

I'm a very busy individual, and I don't have time to complete all my projects. My pride and joy is a full qualified Real Time Strategy written in Flash AS3. I've seen other games like this around, but there are some key elements I've noticed are lacking. But they are in my engine:

- Full collision detection between Units/Objects/Terrain
- Smooth animation
- Fog of War
- AI, with teams.
- HUGE maps, with up to 4 AI individually battling it out (or more if your computer can take it)
- Intelligent AI
- Multiple turrets on units, each with individual firing
- Capital ships, with masses of turrets and the ability to create units, like buildings.

But one of the key features is that I have created an ENGINE, not a GAME. This code engine is designed to be used with your own graphics, and is designed to be easily integrated. Between 1 and 100 units can be supported, ranging from simple tanks to flying fortresses. EVEN massive battleships, bristling with turrets, that strike out at multiple foes at once. ALL stats are stored via external XML files. In fact, to add units you just need to create graphics and make stats up in the XML. Same with buildings, and research upgrades (though research upgrades are a little more complicated).