New Topic Respond to this Topic
thefev
thefev
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 31
Blank Slate
How do you make your music? Aug. 22nd, 2008 @ 10:11 PM Reply

I was wondering, how do you get the ideas, the motivation etc.? Do you plan your song out before you even start making it, or do you just make it up as you go along? How do you plan it out? What are your techniques?
I'm new to the whole making music thing, and I was wondering how I should make a start. Help?

Achievement: +1 post count acquired!!!
STFU This sig is original ... Therefore another 1000 people have it.

PERVOK
PERVOK
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 22
Blank Slate
Response to How do you make your music? Aug. 22nd, 2008 @ 10:17 PM Reply

At 8/22/08 10:11 PM, thefev wrote: I was wondering, how do you get the ideas, the motivation etc.? Do you plan your song out before you even start making it, or do you just make it up as you go along?

I go by feel, so I "make it up" (or so you put it) as I go along.

How do you plan it out?

Common sense. Intro, bridge, melody, bridge2, outro. That's my standard build, but it's always different every time.

What are your techniques?

Everything I'm good at.

I just write the thing that I want the song to revolve around (drums, melody, anything else) and then I just write the song accordingly.

Krank
Krank
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to How do you make your music? Aug. 22nd, 2008 @ 10:30 PM Reply

I get 95% of my inspiration for new songs while I'm not making music. the toilet, listening to other songs, showering, eating breakfast, driving. I'll remember it and go work on it.

once I get a good idea going making music, i get excited like "whoa i'm making something awesome!" that excitement drives me to finish up the song.

SkatingIsGenetic
SkatingIsGenetic
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to How do you make your music? Aug. 22nd, 2008 @ 11:41 PM Reply