New Topic Respond to this Topic
EoD696
EoD696
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Zerovoting and Exposure. 2008-09-29 04:58:49 Reply

Yeah, I'm new so...this whole "zero bombing" thing is foreign to me, but I am also an experienced webmaster, and forcing people to only vote once would not be difficult at all...that seems the most viable solution to the problem in discussion to me. Although, there are downsides...think about it for a moment, how many of the giants here in the audio portal got voted on multiple times to get their status? I mean, of the thousand or so votes on a single song, I bet at least half are multiple votes by a single user...not all of them of course, but one user votes twice, then the next one does, and so on and so forth and before you know it you've got 1500 5/5 ratings on a song. Allowing multiple votes allows for a quick progression through the masses of rankings and pieces for the songs that people really like. Yet, it also allows zero bombers to do their worst.

So...I guess the moral is if you've got a really good song, it'll survive the bomb, but if you don't it wont. Ultimately, as a musician, you have to consider your purpose; is it to please yourself or everyone else? Either purpose is admirable, though, if you want to be on the top, you've got to work to please the masses, and that includes the zero bombers, and if they favor trance/dance/dnb, then thats what you've got to create. Otherwise, quit your bitching and move on with life. It goes on without you, and there are other places to share your music.

S3C
S3C
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 03
Musician
Response to Zerovoting and Exposure. 2008-09-29 11:54:45 Reply

At 9/29/08 04:58 AM, EoD696 wrote: Yeah, I'm new so...this whole "zero bombing" thing is foreign to me, but I am also an experienced webmaster, and forcing people to only vote once would not be difficult at all...that seems the most viable solution to the problem in discussion to me.