Be a Supporter!

Computer Hospital: Part Two

  • 105,592 Views
  • 1,724 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Wylo
Wylo
  • Member since: Aug. 21, 2000
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 60
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-12 18:48:33 Reply

My bad. The "Try a different computer? I'd take it to the store where you got it from and ask them to try it. It might be a bad connection cable." part of that last post was directed to aprime.

HEMI9
HEMI9
  • Member since: Feb. 23, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Musician
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-18 17:18:50 Reply

my computer downloaded this thing called Antivirus 360. And it blocks me from NG! i'm on my mac but i need games so i use PC. so how do i delete AV360?


Wow this banner is really old and makes me cringe a little bit

BBS Signature
Sir-Nuts
Sir-Nuts
  • Member since: Sep. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 41
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-18 18:00:50 Reply

At 3/18/09 05:18 PM, HEMI9 wrote: my computer downloaded this thing called Antivirus 360. And it blocks me from NG! i'm on my mac but i need games so i use PC. so how do i delete AV360?

Here's a guide on how to delete Antivirus 360. It was the first result of a quick search on Google, actually.

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-22 11:20:44 Reply

So I recently raised my CPU overclock from 3.8 ghz to 4.15, and now some programs are running shitty.

Windows movie maker and Trackmania specifically.

Trackmania's average frame rate effectively cut in half from what I remember it being. WMM skips so much that I find it impossible to actually do anything with the program. All other games and programs work fine, not a single hitch.

The overclock is 8+ hours stress test stable, so what could actually be causing this?

DELUCA2400
DELUCA2400
  • Member since: May. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 25
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-23 08:31:16 Reply

Okay I just got my computer back from my old place and I plugged it in in and connected all of the cables, but it doesn't read anything (keyboard, mouse, stuff like that). The CPU has power and is on. Any idea what's wrong?

iMate900
iMate900
  • Member since: Aug. 8, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-23 15:40:06 Reply

At 3/22/09 11:20 AM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote: So I recently raised my CPU overclock from 3.8 ghz to 4.15, and now some programs are running shitty.

Overclock to 3.9GHz then. At least it's a bit higher than 3.8 :)


Save Firefox and free software!
iMate900 4 BBS Mod in 2010!
RIP Michael Jackson. RIP Billy Mays. (But I do not care for them)

BBS Signature
steveo1259
steveo1259
  • Member since: Mar. 16, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-24 17:30:03 Reply

At 3/23/09 08:31 AM, DELUCA2400 wrote: Okay I just got my computer back from my old place and I plugged it in in and connected all of the cables, but it doesn't read anything (keyboard, mouse, stuff like that). The CPU has power and is on. Any idea what's wrong?

well then try plugging your keyboard and mouse into different connectors

DELUCA2400
DELUCA2400
  • Member since: May. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 25
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-24 19:42:32 Reply

At 3/24/09 05:30 PM, steveo1259 wrote:
At 3/23/09 08:31 AM, DELUCA2400 wrote: Okay I just got my computer back from my old place and I plugged it in in and connected all of the cables, but it doesn't read anything (keyboard, mouse, stuff like that). The CPU has power and is on. Any idea what's wrong?
well then try plugging your keyboard and mouse into different connectors

Already tried that and I used my other keyboard and mouse and they didn't work either.

deckheadtottie
deckheadtottie
  • Member since: Oct. 21, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 60
Programmer
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-25 19:28:02 Reply

At 3/24/09 07:42 PM, DELUCA2400 wrote: Already tried that and I used my other keyboard and mouse and they didn't work either.

Have you tried opening it up and making sure it's all connected correctly? If you have no input devices whatsoever, this is a problem we might struggle to solve. Is it a USB keyboard and mouse, or PS/2? If it's USB, try PS/2 and vice versa. might help.

Sounds like a loose connection inside, so all might not be lost.

At 3/22/09 11:20 AM, ThoseSneakyFrench wrote: So I recently raised my CPU overclock from 3.8 ghz to 4.15, and now some programs are running shitty.

FFFFFFFFFFF-

4.15 GHz...

You can call me crazy, but you have to admit that must have something to do with your problems.


#coys

BBS Signature
BenelliM4
BenelliM4
  • Member since: Oct. 26, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-25 21:33:35 Reply

Umm... I've been in this thread before, and I sort of have another problem. I don't know why but my computer's speakers aren't working anymore. They're plugged in, everything's in the right place, and they have power. They worked fine before on this computer and then we used them on another computer for about two months before switching back to our current one.
They're Harman\Kardon HK206 speakers on a Dell Dimension 3000 (Or 2300, I can't really tell.) running Windows XP SP3. It's hard drive had to be wiped recently due to a virus we had, and we are missing the software disc that came with it. People have said that drivers aren't needed for these speakers, but when I plug them in and check the Control Panel, It reads "No Audio Device."


Here's my Dtoid account. And my Urban Terror ID is BenelliM4-Medic. And I know Travis Touchdown isn't a Capcom character, but I put him in anyway.

BBS Signature
ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-25 21:59:01 Reply

At 3/25/09 07:28 PM, deckheadtottie wrote: You can call me crazy, but you have to admit that must have something to do with your problems.

The two issues were completely isolated from the overclock, but it proceeded to hard lock then BSoD on me anyway. I'm back at 3.8 now. Sad thing is I had 4.3 before I accidentally overwrote the settings.

At 3/25/09 09:33 PM, BenelliM4 wrote:

:Speaker problems

Being it's a new format, you probably need to install drivers for the sound card itself. Read up on your Dell model and find what kind of integrated sound it uses, then find drivers for it. All should run smoothly after doing so.

BenelliM4
BenelliM4
  • Member since: Oct. 26, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-25 22:30:01 Reply

Being it's a new format, you probably need to install drivers for the sound card itself. Read up on your Dell model and find what kind of integrated sound it uses, then find drivers for it. All should run smoothly after doing so.

I know what I'm looking for. I need the SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio Drivers. I just can'tfind them. I know they're on the second computer I mentioned, but I don't know the folderpath. I was really hoping someone would help me with that.


Here's my Dtoid account. And my Urban Terror ID is BenelliM4-Medic. And I know Travis Touchdown isn't a Capcom character, but I put him in anyway.

BBS Signature
Haggard
Haggard
  • Member since: Dec. 25, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 57
Writer
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-26 04:53:48 Reply

At 3/25/09 10:30 PM, BenelliM4 wrote:
Being it's a new format, you probably need to install drivers for the sound card itself. Read up on your Dell model and find what kind of integrated sound it uses, then find drivers for it. All should run smoothly after doing so.
I know what I'm looking for. I need the SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio Drivers. I just can'tfind them.

http://www.google.com/search?q=SoundMAX+
Integrated+Digital+Audio+Drivers

There...


Surf Nazis must die! || Wi/Ht? #38 || Review Request Club || NG Logs || METAL-ABC (Last update: 04. March 2012)

Haggard
Haggard
  • Member since: Dec. 25, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 57
Writer
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-26 06:53:48 Reply

At 3/26/09 05:56 AM, Jawdyn wrote: Will deleteing the entire contents of my Temp Folder hurt my computer? There is A LOT of stuff in there that I thought i have removed a long time ago. It's contents is 6 Gigabytes.

Well, it's called "temporary folder" for a reason. (Nearly) All things in there aren't vital for your computer, but only things that are stored there while you work on your PC (start a program -> parts are loaded into the temp folder. Unzipping something? Temp folder, etc.)

Can I just delete the entire folder and everything will be ok, and i will get some gig back?

You can safely delete the contents of the folder, don't delete the folder itself.
Also, if you don't know exactly what you are doing, better don't touch anything. However, it should be safe to delete all files with a *.tmp ending.


Surf Nazis must die! || Wi/Ht? #38 || Review Request Club || NG Logs || METAL-ABC (Last update: 04. March 2012)

deckheadtottie
deckheadtottie
  • Member since: Oct. 21, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 60
Programmer
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-26 06:56:20 Reply

At 3/26/09 05:56 AM, Jawdyn wrote: Can I just delete the entire folder and everything will be ok, and i will get some gig back?

Deleting your temp files is encouraged, actually. Use something like CCleaner to be really effective. Bare in mind, though, that deleting those temp files will remove cookies, if you check a box asking if you want to stay signed in on websites, you will have to put your credentials back in.

I delete my temp files every time I reboot my system, so it's not a problem at all.


#coys

BBS Signature
UKZ
UKZ
  • Member since: Apr. 11, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 16
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-26 20:27:21 Reply

Question: I have two zune hardrives, just the hd's no zune or screen; does anyone know if i could hook them up as external hardrives to my computer?


Crews:
Graffiti Crew
Stoner's Club

BBS Signature
Roni123
Roni123
  • Member since: Sep. 30, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-27 15:22:45 Reply

Its not much of a problem but since I got my new ram I've been getting mouse lag on source games.
I'm sure it has to do something with my ram but I don't know how to fix it.
I changed sensitivity and turned on and off smoothing.
Can anyone help?

BenelliM4
BenelliM4
  • Member since: Oct. 26, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-27 16:12:01 Reply

At 3/26/09 04:53 AM, Haggard wrote: There...

Took me four tries to get 'em working, but they work! And I salute you sir!


Here's my Dtoid account. And my Urban Terror ID is BenelliM4-Medic. And I know Travis Touchdown isn't a Capcom character, but I put him in anyway.

BBS Signature
justanothergamer
justanothergamer
  • Member since: Jan. 30, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-03-31 23:22:42 Reply

I am currently having problems running some of my games on my pc. When I try to start them i get this error.

R6002 "floating point not loaded"

Anyone have any ideas?


BBS Signature
iMate900
iMate900
  • Member since: Aug. 8, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-04-04 17:43:59 Reply

At 3/31/09 11:22 PM, justanothergamer wrote: I am currently having problems running some of my games on my pc. When I try to start them i get this error.

R6002 "floating point not loaded"

Anyone have any ideas?

Please post a picture of your motherboard.


Save Firefox and free software!
iMate900 4 BBS Mod in 2010!
RIP Michael Jackson. RIP Billy Mays. (But I do not care for them)

BBS Signature
iMate900
iMate900
  • Member since: Aug. 8, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-04-04 17:46:00 Reply

*THE SAGA ENDS!*

I have routed to my wireless problem due to my card's support under development, and not working just yet.


Save Firefox and free software!
iMate900 4 BBS Mod in 2010!
RIP Michael Jackson. RIP Billy Mays. (But I do not care for them)

BBS Signature
Entice
Entice
  • Member since: Jun. 30, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-04-04 21:28:29 Reply

My CD/DVD drive stopped working. It seems to be spinning the disk around but it won't show up when I go to "computer". It's like it's not there.

Haggard
Haggard
  • Member since: Dec. 25, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 57
Writer
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-04-05 07:08:29 Reply

At 4/4/09 09:28 PM, bgraybr wrote: My CD/DVD drive stopped working. It seems to be spinning the disk around but it won't show up when I go to "computer". It's like it's not there.

Is it just that one disk or is it with all disks you try? Also, if you insert no disk into the drive, can you then see the drive under "My Computer"?

If it is just one disk that does not work, then maybe the disk is too scratched to be read.
If it is with all disks or if the drive doesn't even show up, then maybe some of the cables aren't plugged in properly.


Surf Nazis must die! || Wi/Ht? #38 || Review Request Club || NG Logs || METAL-ABC (Last update: 04. March 2012)

killslasher
killslasher
  • Member since: Dec. 1, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-04-05 16:00:54 Reply

http://killslasher.newgrounds.com/news/p ost/293442

I need some help. I guess I'll treat this lightly if nothing happens in a matter of days. I might post a few more links and details if you ask for it, or if I feel it is needed.
Anyways, someone please click the link and see what they can do.

Entice
Entice
  • Member since: Jun. 30, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-04-05 17:30:05 Reply

At 4/5/09 07:08 AM, Haggard wrote:
At 4/4/09 09:28 PM, bgraybr wrote: My CD/DVD drive stopped working. It seems to be spinning the disk around but it won't show up when I go to "computer". It's like it's not there.
Is it just that one disk or is it with all disks you try? Also, if you insert no disk into the drive, can you then see the drive under "My Computer"?

If it is just one disk that does not work, then maybe the disk is too scratched to be read.
If it is with all disks or if the drive doesn't even show up, then maybe some of the cables aren't plugged in properly.

The drive is gone under"My Computer". Every disk I tried doesn't work, so it's the computer.
Is this expensive/hard to repair?

Markface
Markface
  • Member since: Nov. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 25
Animator
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-04-06 10:18:03 Reply

This is all very sudden and started out of the blue. My computer was working fine and I shut it down properly. About an hour later I went to play on it and it would not run.

I'm able to load up windows, log in and move about for a bit but sooner or later (usually about 1-2 minutes in) it freezes up on me. Everything stops running and it just freezes.

I can run the computer on safe mode which is what I'm doing now. Obviously this will be very vague and I'm no expert... so if there's anything you need to know... ask.


[;];=]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]

BBS Signature
Haggard
Haggard
  • Member since: Dec. 25, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 57
Writer
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-04-06 10:41:08 Reply

At 4/5/09 05:30 PM, bgraybr wrote: The drive is gone under"My Computer". Every disk I tried doesn't work, so it's the computer.
Is this expensive/hard to repair?

My best guess is that a cable isn't plugged in properly. It's quite easy to repair, just open the computer and unplug/replug all the cables connected with your cd-drive.
However, if you aren't experienced with computers it's best to let someone else do it (maybe a friend).
If that doesn't work then you should try a different CD drive (if you have access to one) and see if that works. If it does, then maybe your CD drive broke. New ones aren't expensive.


Surf Nazis must die! || Wi/Ht? #38 || Review Request Club || NG Logs || METAL-ABC (Last update: 04. March 2012)

iMate900
iMate900
  • Member since: Aug. 8, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-04-06 13:15:00 Reply

At 4/5/09 04:00 PM, killslasher wrote: http://killslasher.newgrounds.com/news/p ost/293442

I need some help. I guess I'll treat this lightly if nothing happens in a matter of days. I might post a few more links and details if you ask for it, or if I feel it is needed.
Anyways, someone please click the link and see what they can do.

I'm sure you have a really tangly virus there.

New option to add on what you should do:
4. Get some kind of Linux like Ubuntu.


Save Firefox and free software!
iMate900 4 BBS Mod in 2010!
RIP Michael Jackson. RIP Billy Mays. (But I do not care for them)

BBS Signature
TacoFreak
TacoFreak
  • Member since: Jul. 27, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-04-06 17:46:21 Reply

I doubt you guys will be able to answer this, as I don't know how to fix it and nor does the computer forum which I post on regularly and we know a lot about hardware.

Anyways here we go.

I have this stuttering problem. Basically my games (only noticeable in SOME fps games.) stutter. It's not a FPS problem, my fps is usually 80 or so, but it's just like choppyness. This also happens with sound in game. Another problem is that when I'm listening to music and when I sometimes type the music slightly skips.

I've tried everything I think, from reinstalling Windows, to running memory tests to playing around with cpu settings.

I am 95% sure it's my CPU though, which is why I am planning to sell mine and buy a new one (same price though).

iMate900
iMate900
  • Member since: Aug. 8, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Hospital: Part Two 2009-04-08 17:56:39 Reply

At 4/6/09 05:46 PM, TacoFreak wrote: I am 95% sure it's my CPU though, which is why I am planning to sell mine and buy a new one (same price though).

I would be 10% sure that your CPU, video and sound card combined may be the problem.


Save Firefox and free software!
iMate900 4 BBS Mod in 2010!
RIP Michael Jackson. RIP Billy Mays. (But I do not care for them)

BBS Signature