Be a Supporter!

The Flash 'Reg' Lounge

  • 1,731,637 Views
  • 63,749 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Innermike
Innermike
  • Member since: Sep. 11, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-25 21:21:44 Reply

At 8/25/13 07:47 PM, Glaiel-Gamer wrote: i made a post in general and it got deleted immediately didn't realize the mods around here were still that active

That's happened to me a bunch

At 8/25/13 08:24 PM, VoidForce wrote: I'm moving house at the moment so as soon as I get into the new one and my stuff unpacked and internet connection up, I'm going to make an aim to have Katakana done by the end of September which by most estimations from people is more than enough time.

Yeah my katakana is just passable, it doesn't really matter, most katakana will be easy to guess and it's not used that often, since it's for foreign words whenever you see it you're almost guaranteed to have hirigana/romanji/english right next to it. It's irritating because the symbols are so simplified they're hard to tell apart unlike hirigana where there are unique curves everywhere.

Most people seem to say that languages are easier to pick up when you're around people that speak it, which makes sense. Got any plans as far as going to Japan for any decent time to help learning? There are loads of people around that I've spoken to recently (mostly Korean, a few Japanese) that have been up for Skype chatting for a bit of language exchange if that would help pronunciation?

I've talked to a couple japanese people online, if you watch a lot of anime - crunchyroll subscriber here ;_; - then your pronunciation (as in accent/inflections and all that) will probably be fine surprisingly. I think the only way to get used to the homophones, which I think is the biggest hurdle in Japanese, is to actually spend time there and put yourself in situations where you need to contextualize quickly on a frequent basis, I don't think there's any substitute for that.

At the rate I'm going I'd like to pass the N4 by the end of the year, definitely N3 next june maybe even N2 if I'm feeling lucky, my only real rule for myself is not to revise/cram leading up to it, because I think that defeats the purpose, the whole idea is to objectively gauge my natural Japanese skills, so I should go in without any special preparation. I don't know if I'll ever do the N1, I'd have to double my knowledge just to have access to that last 10%, doesn't seem worth the time studying, if I ever take it it'll be after trying to just learn from experience (and of course WaniKani because that website is borderline addictive).

In my dreams I'd move there sometime in the next 3 years, and I'd need to spend at least 2-3 times the amount of time I spent studying the language for it to be worthwhile.

Also:

The Flash 'Reg' Lounge


nobody

PrettyMuchBryce
PrettyMuchBryce
  • Member since: Mar. 17, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-25 22:25:58 Reply

My Ludum Dare game.

http://www.prettymuchgames.com/games/yea

Trying out full screen. It seems to perform OK on my computer. Any one have a bad frame rate ?

MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-25 22:32:35 Reply

At 8/25/13 10:25 PM, PrettyMuchBryce wrote: My Ludum Dare game.

http://www.prettymuchgames.com/games/yea

Trying out full screen. It seems to perform OK on my computer. Any one have a bad frame rate ?

Yea

Wait, no. Also, that fucking scared me the first time >=(

Innermike
Innermike
  • Member since: Sep. 11, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-25 23:24:03 Reply

At 8/25/13 10:25 PM, PrettyMuchBryce wrote: My Ludum Dare game.

http://www.prettymuchgames.com/games/yea

Trying out full screen. It seems to perform OK on my computer. Any one have a bad frame rate ?

Worked fine. It also got genuinely scary, and it was kind of life affirming.


nobody

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-25 23:40:41 Reply

At 8/25/13 10:25 PM, PrettyMuchBryce wrote: Trying out full screen. It seems to perform OK on my computer. Any one have a bad frame rate ?

yeah, it uses 100% of my CPU (dual-core 3.2 GHz - it seems to use both cores?) and runs at about 10 FPS


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
PrettyMuchBryce
PrettyMuchBryce
  • Member since: Mar. 17, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-25 23:58:07 Reply

At 8/25/13 11:40 PM, egg82 wrote:
At 8/25/13 10:25 PM, PrettyMuchBryce wrote: Trying out full screen. It seems to perform OK on my computer. Any one have a bad frame rate ?
yeah, it uses 100% of my CPU (dual-core 3.2 GHz - it seems to use both cores?) and runs at about 10 FPS

Oh well. I'll just revert it back to non-fullscreen. Theres something about some systems that makes it just barf. It works fine on my mac, but on my windows machine it runs poorly. Thanks for checking.

MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 00:06:30 Reply

At 8/25/13 11:58 PM, PrettyMuchBryce wrote: Oh well. I'll just revert it back to non-fullscreen. Theres something about some systems that makes it just barf. It works fine on my mac, but on my windows machine it runs poorly. Thanks for checking.

Maybe turn the quality down some if you didn't already? I think it was ebf4, it looked kinda poopy fullscreened (lower quality) and better not.

Innermike
Innermike
  • Member since: Sep. 11, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 02:02:27 Reply

At 8/25/13 11:58 PM, PrettyMuchBryce wrote:
At 8/25/13 11:40 PM, egg82 wrote:
At 8/25/13 10:25 PM, PrettyMuchBryce wrote: Trying out full screen. It seems to perform OK on my computer. Any one have a bad frame rate ?
yeah, it uses 100% of my CPU (dual-core 3.2 GHz - it seems to use both cores?) and runs at about 10 FPS
Oh well. I'll just revert it back to non-fullscreen. Theres something about some systems that makes it just barf. It works fine on my mac, but on my windows machine it runs poorly. Thanks for checking.

I had a similar problem a while ago where my game ran at 60 fps without dropping a frame on my fairly low spec macbook air, whereas people with pretty high end rigs got about 10fps god that was annoying.


nobody

Xeptic
Xeptic
  • Member since: May. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 32
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 06:10:51 Reply

I did a thing.

  • Recordshop Tycoon 2
    Recordshop Tycoon 2 by Xeptic

    Build your own record store and try to become the number one record store tycoon!

    Score
    Under Judgment
    Type
    Game
    Popularity
    35 Views
    Rated
    Everyone


BBS Signature
Innermike
Innermike
  • Member since: Sep. 11, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 12:54:21 Reply

At 8/26/13 06:10 AM, Xeptic wrote: I did a thing.
http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/624110

I still remember finishing the first one, I assume this one will take slightly longer, I'm like half an hour in atm, good job.

Side story: I just got totally flamed to pieces on a Japanese language forum for a reply I made saying I thought incest was messed up. Remind me not to brandish my morals so readily, I forget that for everything said on the internet theres always some group of people who will take offence to it.

And I thought I was a super liberal guy.

This was enlightening.


nobody

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 13:05:25 Reply

At 8/26/13 12:54 PM, Innermike wrote: Side story: I just got totally flamed to pieces on a Japanese language forum for a reply I made saying I thought incest was messed up.

Their culture is pretty different. In America, for instance, pretty much everything related to sex is considered, to a varying degree, to be "taboo" - we're pretty shamefur about our intercourse, here.


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 13:08:46 Reply

At 8/26/13 01:05 PM, egg82 wrote: Their culture is pretty different. In America, for instance, pretty much everything related to sex is considered, to a varying degree, to be "taboo" - we're pretty shamefur about our intercourse, here.

reminds me, actually: An old 9th-grade challenge was to go into a crowded room and shout "penis" or "vagina" at the top of your lungs. Most people were too embarrassed to do it. Pretty sure very few other countries have that issue.


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 13:13:53 Reply

At 8/26/13 01:05 PM, egg82 wrote: Their culture is pretty different. In America, for instance, pretty much everything related to sex is considered, to a varying degree, to be "taboo" - we're pretty shamefur about our intercourse, here.

Spoiler alert:
.
.
.
I wonder how they're gonna tackle that in the spike lee remake of Oldboy. It's coming out in a few months I believe.

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 13:47:13 Reply

oh, here's a question if you need food for thought. Or thought for food.

What is it specifically that differentiates the MD5 hashing algorithm from, say, an MD5 encryption algorithm? That is to say; what line of code or part of the algorithm specifically makes sure the data is "hashed" and not "encrypted"?

This is my best guess:
I assume when you perform bitwise operations that do not result in loss of data, it can then be reversed to "decrypt" the data - however a hash like the MD5 continually drops data during the operation to finally come up with a result of 128-bit (16-byte) strings. The thing is, I can't seem to find any specific line of code or piece of the algorithm that does that. I'm probably missing something obvious, but if anyone else wants to give it a shot, i'm pretty curious to know exactly how it all works.

Also, this was interesting


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
Glaiel-Gamer
Glaiel-Gamer
  • Member since: Dec. 28, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 28
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 14:29:49 Reply

At 8/26/13 01:47 PM, egg82 wrote: What is it specifically that differentiates the MD5 hashing algorithm from, say, an MD5 encryption algorithm?

https://forums.digitalpoint.com/threads/md5-is-reversible.1284030/

MD5 isn't an encryption algorithm its just a hashing algorithm any website that says its decrypting the hashes is just looking them up in a table

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 14:41:58 Reply

At 8/26/13 02:29 PM, Glaiel-Gamer wrote: MD5 isn't an encryption algorithm its just a hashing algorithm any website that says its decrypting the hashes is just looking them up in a table

I know this :P
What i'm asking is what specific line of code or piece of the algorithm is saying "you can't ever get this information back"?


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
Archawn
Archawn
  • Member since: Sep. 9, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 27
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 15:33:05 Reply

At 8/26/13 02:41 PM, egg82 wrote:
At 8/26/13 02:29 PM, Glaiel-Gamer wrote: MD5 isn't an encryption algorithm its just a hashing algorithm any website that says its decrypting the hashes is just looking them up in a table
I know this :P
What i'm asking is what specific line of code or piece of the algorithm is saying "you can't ever get this information back"?

I'm far from an expert on hashes and this sort of thing, but I'll take a shot at answering your question.

It's the algorithm itself that says "you can't ever get this information back." The goal of a hashing algorithm is to basically take variable-length data and turn it into data of a fixed length. However, while compression algorithms are concerned with finding a shorter full representation of your data (either with or without losses), hash functions basically attempt to assign each possible input value a unique identifier that can be used for searches, comparisons, or encoding, without having to perform those operations on the data directly (for performance reasons). When applied to cryptography, the goal is to use/find/develop hash functions that aren't easily reversed. This is the only principal difference, as far as I know.

I might be way off there but that's my best guess as a crypto-newbie.

More info:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cryptographic_hash_function
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hash_function#Description
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MD5#Algorithm

Glaiel-Gamer
Glaiel-Gamer
  • Member since: Dec. 28, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 28
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-26 15:40:44 Reply

At 8/26/13 02:41 PM, egg82 wrote:
At 8/26/13 02:29 PM, Glaiel-Gamer wrote: MD5 isn't an encryption algorithm its just a hashing algorithm any website that says its decrypting the hashes is just looking them up in a table
I know this :P
What i'm asking is what specific line of code or piece of the algorithm is saying "you can't ever get this information back"?

AND, OR

if you know that A|B = 1, and you know that B=1, then A could be 0 or 1

MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-27 00:10:17 Reply

I need feedback on how to juice up my game. Particles and screen shakes seem out of place here.

All mouse controls. Trying to make the interface more fluid rather than having to click a tile then click a command back and forth. The remaining buttons will get replaced eventually.

Obviously, more art to come. Also planned: unique unit sprites, idle animations, dynamic expressions, dynamic dialogue sequences mid-battle, better animation interactions, balance, skills, etc.

FlyingColours
FlyingColours
  • Member since: Jul. 3, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-27 01:15:42 Reply

At 8/27/13 12:10 AM, MSGhero wrote: I need feedback on how to juice up my game. Particles and screen shakes seem out of place here.

ERROR — You do not have permission to preview this project.

MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-27 09:13:14 Reply

At 8/27/13 01:15 AM, FlyingColours wrote:
At 8/27/13 12:10 AM, MSGhero wrote: I need feedback on how to juice up my game. Particles and screen shakes seem out of place here.
ERROR — You do not have permission to preview this project.

I set it for anyone to see wtf, now I have to wait until I'm back at my laptop since mobile can't even touch those options x.x

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-27 10:07:30 Reply

At 8/26/13 03:40 PM, Glaiel-Gamer wrote: AND, OR

if you know that A|B = 1, and you know that B=1, then A could be 0 or 1

I need to learn my bitwise operations .-.
thanks, I knew I was probably missing something obvious :P


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
pirateplatypus
pirateplatypus
  • Member since: Sep. 27, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-27 10:21:50 Reply

At 8/27/13 01:15 AM, FlyingColours wrote:
At 8/27/13 12:10 AM, MSGhero wrote: I need feedback on how to juice up my game. Particles and screen shakes seem out of place here.
ERROR — You do not have permission to preview this project.

I got the same. Have you tried turning it off and on again?


"If loving Python is crazy then I don't want to be sane." -Diki

MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-27 11:10:41 Reply

At 8/27/13 10:21 AM, pirateplatypus wrote:
At 8/27/13 01:15 AM, FlyingColours wrote:
At 8/27/13 12:10 AM, MSGhero wrote: I need feedback on how to juice up my game. Particles and screen shakes seem out of place here.
ERROR — You do not have permission to preview this project.
I got the same. Have you tried turning it off and on again?

Ok here, I remember now there was a server error when I went to another page, so it probably didn't save the change

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-27 13:26:36 Reply

At 8/27/13 11:10 AM, MSGhero wrote: Ok here, I remember now there was a server error when I went to another page, so it probably didn't save the change
http://www.newgrounds.com/projects/view/675472
TypeError: Error #1006: stopAllMovieClips is not a function.
	at Animation/stop()[C:\Users\Nick\Documents\Projects\Flash\Princess Wars\src\Animation.as:99]
	at States::CutsceneState/exit()[C:\Users\Nick\Documents\Projects\Flash\Princess Wars\src\States\CutsceneState.as:123]
	at StateManager/helpSwap()[C:\Users\Nick\Documents\Projects\Flash\Princess Wars\src\StateManager.as:62]
	at Function/<anonymous>()[C:\Users\Nick\Documents\Projects\Flash\Princess Wars\src\StateManager.as:50]
	at Function/http://adobe.com/AS3/2006/builtin::apply()
	at com.greensock::TweenLite/render()[D:\_Flash\_AS3_v12\src\com\greensock\TweenLite.as:699]
	at com.greensock.core::SimpleTimeline/render()[D:\_Flash\_AS3_v12\src\com\greensock\core\SimpleTimeline.as:148]
	at com.greensock.core::Animation$/_updateRoot()[D:\_Flash\_AS3_v12\src\com\greensock\core\Animation.as:547]

after pressing the "Skip Cutscene" button or just clicking "Next" until the end. Also, everything fades to black and stays there. Not sure if unfinished, or bug.


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-27 13:40:05 Reply

At 8/27/13 01:26 PM, egg82 wrote: after pressing the "Skip Cutscene" button or just clicking "Next" until the end. Also, everything fades to black and stays there. Not sure if unfinished, or bug.

Update your flash noob. #11.8

It's such a nice function, but yeah 11.8 :(

MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-27 14:11:59 Reply

Ok fine.

Doesn't require 11.8 now

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-27 14:27:24 Reply

At 8/27/13 02:11 PM, MSGhero wrote: Ok fine.
http://www.newgrounds.com/projects/view/675472
Doesn't require 11.8 now

looks pretty neat!
I would update, but since I use the debug with chrome it's a bit of a manual process. I'll do it later. Maybe.

You would not believe the sheer number of errors in the YouTube player

So I maded this, my skype-alike. Well, partially-maded. The only thing that really works right now is audio :(
It should use UPnP if available, though I have no means to test it, so i'll just trust that the code works. Otherwise it's pretty much LAN-only. Also, you can play with the values in the settings, though I haven't made a nice in-app interface for them yet.
Thoughts?


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
Glaiel-Gamer
Glaiel-Gamer
  • Member since: Dec. 28, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 28
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-27 14:46:56 Reply

At 8/27/13 10:07 AM, egg82 wrote:
At 8/26/13 03:40 PM, Glaiel-Gamer wrote: AND, OR

if you know that A|B = 1, and you know that B=1, then A could be 0 or 1
I need to learn my bitwise operations .-.
thanks, I knew I was probably missing something obvious :P

Yeah there's only a handful of them that are reversible
besides the obvious ones (~, identity)

XOR is reversible (its reversible with XOR, fun fact)
ADD and SUBTRACT are reversible (assuming they wrap around after 256, etc)
bit rotate (not bit shift) is reversible

remember you need to know one of the inputs in order to reverse them too, simply doing like

result[0] = input[0]^input[1]

would crush information

Wolfos
Wolfos
  • Member since: Jan. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 25
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2013-08-28 06:16:10 Reply

Anyone here have experience with Stage3D?

I have a 2D tile renderer that does full culling every frame, allowing it to render massive worlds at no extra performance cost. However, this doesn't work too well on mobile, giving me about 12FPS on an old XPeria R800i. When I tried the same thing in Unity with it's GL class (for direct access to OpenGL), it gave me near 60 FPS.

So basically, I need to render around 1000 quads each frame, each with their own UV map, using the same 1024x1024 texture. Would Stage3D be fast enough for this?