00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

TwistSSD just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Wi/Ht? level up! Lounge

3,752,762 Views | 87,863 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Response to Wi/Ht? level up! Lounge 2011-08-20 06:38:21

The first time I met newgrounds was just a year after I had "discovered" neopets, and my brother introduced me to it (He was 11 at the time). Coincidentally, he had "discovered" flash at round about the same time, and ever since I found out that I could submit flash to newgrounds, I started learning it and signed up instantly to make sure I didn't miss out on anything.

I started reviewing a lot back then, but my reviews were also a bit immature, but they were the majority -- I didn't have more than 30 reviews the whole of this year.

The real time when I actually started "learning" flash was when he was making a small beat-em-up and was stuck at a problem; I suggested something -- I didn't know anything about it at the time -- and magically, it worked.

Soon after, I found out AS2 was very easy to learn (self explaining code) and so I started creating flash. I occasionally tried to draw, around very early 2009 (I was still 10 at the time) and guess what? No surprise, I failed. People didn't want to see my userpage, and they didn't know who I was either. I got PMs from people stating that some of them hated me and that I should leave, but as the person I was and is, I just continued.

Later on, in late 2010, I faced an issue : I was level 9, I didn't feel like going on Newgrounds at all, and I felt like plain quitting; I had submitted good flash, and then got some good scores....as well as PMs from users who liked my flash. Of course, my flash skill had improved since 2008. I wouldn't actually want to quit, so I just didn't log on....for 6 months.