New Topic Respond to this Topic
Burnzoid
Burnzoid
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Bass guitar Club Feb. 18th, 2007 @ 06:53 AM Reply

I've been playing bass for seven years and will out do anyone in this club!

I did it for the lulz:

BBS Signature
Twone
Twone
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 35
Musician
Response to Bass guitar Club Feb. 18th, 2007 @ 09:16 AM Reply

So... am I in yet?

BBS Signature
positively-negative
positively-negative
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 11
Reader
Response to Bass guitar Club Feb. 18th, 2007 @ 08:54 PM Reply

At 2/18/07 04:25 AM, Insert-Pie wrote:
At 2/18/07 04:06 AM, positively-negative wrote:
It all really comes down to what you need. A 4 string or a 5 string. Fender always make a good bass but Ibanez also make some damn fine basses as well. It is a matter of seeing what one can find in their area that is good and within their budget.
I don't want a fancy 6 string fretless bass or anything like that. I just want a standard 4 string.

A friend of mine is after a Warrick. He says they're pretty good. I've also heard Fenders are alright to start with, but aren't that good if you're after a high quality bass. Opinions?

Warricks ar pretty good. but all the good ones are high end hand-made products which will cost a fortune. and a good Fender will not only play well, those fuckers are built to last, I mean my dad's friend has a bottom end Squire that retails for less than $400NZ and has been using it professionally for 15 odd years. But also have you thought about maybe buying a used bass. If you can find the right deal you may get a $2000 bass for $1000 just because some bloke took it out of the case once or twice.

I'm also willing to stretch my budget if I have to.

If you have too. Then look at US made Fenders. like any Fender, they play nice, can be used for anything and have a god like reputation to boot.

positively-negative
positively-negative
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 11
Reader