Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 469,193 Views
  • 6,781 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
t-bone88
t-bone88
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 23
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-14 05:46:19 Reply

Ok, I'm lost on the whole auto clip. I got the sound I want and got it in the pattern box below the other pattern boxes, of course it's red, and I made the end higher to fade in the music, but yet it doesn't do it, need some help here guys.


BBS Signature
Tzunami
Tzunami
  • Member since: Feb. 1, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-14 06:47:34 Reply

At 1/14/09 05:46 AM, t-bone88 wrote: Ok, I'm lost on the whole auto clip. I got the sound I want and got it in the pattern box below the other pattern boxes, of course it's red, and I made the end higher to fade in the music, but yet it doesn't do it, need some help here guys.

A easier way to do it, is right-clicking what you're trying to automate, say volumn, and creating a automation clip like that. From there you want to use the playlist, not the pattern, and make sure you place the automation in the upper area, then just make a second point and drag it where you want to..

..of course the precision aspect would be done in the piano roll but.. that's the gist of it.


BBS Signature
Reprah
Reprah
  • Member since: Nov. 11, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-14 08:22:17 Reply

LW:- Yeah, you have to input the pattern manually, hit by hit. If you have eight bars of the same pattern, though, why have eight bars in the first place? Just use four bars.

TB:- Automation clips be tricky. If you want the whole song to fade in then automate the master volume. That's either the slider next to "HELP" or the slider on the first channel in the mixer.


BBS Signature
MantisClock
MantisClock
  • Member since: Sep. 1, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Gamer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-14 12:17:00 Reply

some of my instruments like fruity granulizers dont work why


Ph33r mah l33t sk!||z | copy and paste nothing to be cool | 2012 WILL FUCKING HAPPEN believe |

BBS Signature
Reprah
Reprah
  • Member since: Nov. 11, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-14 12:28:05 Reply

Granulizer requires a wav file.


BBS Signature
Psychophan7
Psychophan7
  • Member since: Feb. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-14 13:59:45 Reply

How can I recolour channels in the channel window? Having 10 red channels does not make for quick recognition!

Psychophan7
Psychophan7
  • Member since: Feb. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-14 14:15:54 Reply

Ah, thanks. And if I don't want a gradient, I can just recolour two channels at a time to make them the start/end colours!

Mich
Mich
  • Member since: Jan. 12, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 47
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-14 14:18:22 Reply

At 1/14/09 02:03 PM, diminitive wrote:
To make a gradient, select all the channels you want as part of the gradient, then push alt + c

To randomly color each channel, selectall the chanells you want colored, then push control+alt+c

I never knew you could do that :p

Reprah
Reprah
  • Member since: Nov. 11, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-14 16:36:59 Reply

^ Yeap. Novelty wears off pretty quickly, though.


BBS Signature
EbonHawk7X
EbonHawk7X
  • Member since: Aug. 23, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-15 16:35:34 Reply

revived

does anyone know how i can save my 3xOsc. synth? i mean like, into fl preset 3xOsc. folder thing so i can pull it up whenever i want!?

Iodyne
Iodyne
  • Member since: Jul. 26, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-15 16:42:02 Reply

If you just want to save the generator settings, not the channel stuff (like arpeggiator) go to the plugin tab on the Channel Settings thingy, click the black 3xOsc bar above all the settings and go to "Save preset as..." It should start you out in the right directory, too.

Hope that helps.


BBS Signature
Iodyne
Iodyne
  • Member since: Jul. 26, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-15 16:44:41 Reply

Say, does anyone know if you can key samples to your keyboard? I'm trying to do a live mix for a friend, to try out a new synth I built, but it's being balls annoying unless I lay the sample down in automation first. :(


BBS Signature
Iodyne
Iodyne
  • Member since: Jul. 26, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-15 16:50:31 Reply

AGH I meant balls annoying *if* I lay the sample down first.

Gah.


BBS Signature
EbonHawk7X
EbonHawk7X
  • Member since: Aug. 23, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-15 17:46:47 Reply

At 1/15/09 04:42 PM, Iodyne wrote: If you just want to save the generator settings, not the channel stuff (like arpeggiator) go to the plugin tab on the Channel Settings thingy, click the black 3xOsc bar above all the settings and go to "Save preset as..." It should start you out in the right directory, too.

Hope that helps.

how do i save it including the channel settings (like slide etc...)?

EbonHawk7X
EbonHawk7X
  • Member since: Aug. 23, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-15 17:55:24 Reply

sorry for the double post, also how dou you change tempo (in song) and how do you change time signature (in song and just in general)

Iodyne
Iodyne
  • Member since: Jul. 26, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-15 18:04:53 Reply

At 1/15/09 05:46 PM, EbonHawk7X wrote: how do i save it including the channel settings (like slide etc...)?

Click the battery at the top left of the channel window.

At 1/15/09 05:55 PM, EbonHawk7X wrote: how dou you change tempo (in song)

It's marked, at the top of the FL interface. Should be 140.00 by default. See the attached picture.

At 1/15/09 05:55 PM, EbonHawk7X wrote: how do you change time signature (in song and just in general)

Go to Options > Project General Settings (or press F10, and click the Project tab at the bottom left corner).

Hope that helps.

Ask your FruityLoops questions here


BBS Signature
EbonHawk7X
EbonHawk7X
  • Member since: Aug. 23, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-15 18:40:34 Reply

At 1/15/09 06:04 PM, Iodyne wrote:
At 1/15/09 05:46 PM, EbonHawk7X wrote: how do i save it including the channel settings (like slide etc...)?
Click the battery at the top left of the channel window.

thanks!


At 1/15/09 05:55 PM, EbonHawk7X wrote: how dou you change tempo (in song)
It's marked, at the top of the FL interface. Should be 140.00 by default. See the attached picture.

im not retarted,lulz. i meant like while the song is playing say i want to shift in the middle of a song that is being fast to be slow and then have a retardando or something.


At 1/15/09 05:55 PM, EbonHawk7X wrote: how do you change time signature (in song and just in general)
Go to Options > Project General Settings (or press F10, and click the Project tab at the bottom left corner).

also how would i do this in-song?


Hope that helps.

tons, ty!

Iodyne
Iodyne
  • Member since: Jul. 26, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-15 19:02:20 Reply

Oh. Oh! You mean changing it DURING THE SONG.

Right. Okay, to do that you need automation clips. Short version, right-click on any slider or knob (or the song tempo) and hit "Create automation clip." You can edit it manually in the bottom half of the playlist. Or the top half, depending. Click and drag, right-click to create a new point.

Long version, google Fruity Loops Automation Clips or something similar. There're tons of guides out there.

I don't think it's possible to change the time signature during the song, though...


BBS Signature
RandomAnnoyance
RandomAnnoyance
  • Member since: Mar. 26, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-15 21:01:26 Reply

You can't physically change the time sig. in the middle of the song. The only way would be to judge your time around the 4/4 and use snapping to help :( awkward to do, but its the only way

Siborg
Siborg
  • Member since: Jan. 14, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-16 16:46:51 Reply

HAHA yea ive tried doing that before doesn't work to well it tends to fuck up your song..plus uh why would you want to do that anyways why don;t you make your loop or what ever in a differant time sig then import it into your song that has say a 4/4 time sig. I do this with my 3/4 break glitches and it works well. Also on this topic if your going to do that you may have a big of an overlap or gap in sample so a neat trick is go into the sampler goto the time knob and adjust it so it loops, then goto i think its called tone or something like that ( sorry im at work) and adjust it so it sounds more natural).


Watching The Human Race Vanish

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-17 00:36:12 Reply

You can export then import into a 3/4 project file and open as an audio clip. Or just try and figure out the spacing as someone above me stated.

I do that sometimes

At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

zedd56
zedd56
  • Member since: Aug. 31, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-18 21:03:30 Reply

Hai.

I'm not really a music artist, although playing around with fl when you're bored is pretty fun. There are lots of things i don't know yet, and i'm going to go ahead and ask a couple of easy-to-answer straightforward questions, that i have in fact researched, and couldn't find the answers to.

- How do you lengthen the sequencer to 2 bars? So i can make 2 or even 4 bar drum beats, because piano roll + drums are a pain..... which leads to my next question
- How do you place a different sample on each key of the piano roll? All i know is that it has something to do with slicing.
- I know how to make automated clips for knobs, but how do you export them to attach to a controller, such as a simple x/y controller?
- This might be a longer one to answer.... how exactly does the beatslicer work? All i know is that you use it to take a loop or whatever to slice it into sub loops and separate the instruments or something like that...

i could go ahead and ask all my questions about generators/synthesizers, and what the hell LFO means and how to create your own samples... but that's something that they have tutorials already written for.

Answers are greatly appreciated :D

Tzunami
Tzunami
  • Member since: Feb. 1, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-18 23:23:53 Reply

At 1/18/09 09:03 PM, zedd56 wrote: - How do you lengthen the sequencer to 2 bars? So i can make 2 or even 4 bar drum beats, because piano roll + drums are a pain..... which leads to my next question

There's two different ways, the easier way is to start using the playlist to lay out your drums and placing them in different patterns. The other way, using the pattern roll is to use the top left hand corner and change the "--" to 8 or 16. Although that works too learning the playlist is so much easier.

- How do you place a different sample on each key of the piano roll? All i know is that it has something to do with slicing.

Slicing isn't exactly what you need, but you're talking about using the FPC. It's pretty much a way to use drums in the piano roll as a kit, instead of sample by sample. As well you can also upload your own samples to it and use those with the FPC.

- I know how to make automated clips for knobs, but how do you export them to attach to a controller, such as a simple x/y controller?

If I'm right about what you mean, meaning that you want to connect a automation clip to a X/Y controller, you'd have to right click and click 'link to controller' then select what you want to link it to in the drop down menu.

- This might be a longer one to answer.... how exactly does the beatslicer work? All i know is that you use it to take a loop or whatever to slice it into sub loops and separate the instruments or something like that...

If you open a loop into the Fruity Slicer, it will automatically slice that loop into it's best form, from there you place the notes through the keys on a piano including the black keys.

I'm sure you could pick it up after a little practice, so keep on trying and asking those questions. Before you know it you'll be making melodies on FL like it's nothing. That 3rd question I'm not exactly sure about but I'm sure that's what you mean, if it's not just clarify it a little and I'll help you out.


BBS Signature
CARTOONGUY
CARTOONGUY
  • Member since: Apr. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-18 23:30:26 Reply

I want to change the tempo on a specific Pattern in the play list "with out everything els being the same tempo" I want certain patterns to be certain tempos, i have tried automation clips and that just makes all patterns the same tempo, so can somebody help me get this to work?

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-18 23:39:14 Reply

Cant do that. Unless you do it by hand I.E. spacing of the notes.


At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

zedd56
zedd56
  • Member since: Aug. 31, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-18 23:44:08 Reply

First of all, wow, thanks!

Yeah, i've been using the playlist to make my extra-long drum loops, and actually i think i'll stick to that rather than extending the sequencer. Good knowledge though ^^

Yes, the FPC is exactly what i needed! I'll be sure to make good use of this :D
Not sure whether i'll end up preferring the fpc over the sequencer though, but then again it's probably situational (drum solos?)

Ah, i saw the link to controller option there before, didn't really understand where to point it to.
I get it now, thanks :D

Sounds a wee bit complicated, i'll leave that for now.... i'm not really interested in using other people's loops anyhow

Thanks for all the great answers!

Now i just need to work on making my own samples... here are a few things i've made so far with fl:
http://trportfolio.net/upload/view_uploa d.php?id=231031
http://trportfolio.net/upload/view_uploa d.php?id=167052
http://trportfolio.net/upload/view_uploa d.php?id=211009
http://trportfolio.net/upload/view_uploa d.php?id=774762

You can tell right away that it's made of purely presets right now :(
I've got myself vanguard and nexus, and vanguard's seems a lot more simple to use
although i think i should start with 3xOSC or sytrus first, right?
Nexus looks much more sophisticated...

Oh well, all in good time, especially since music isn't my main concern right now

Again, thanks for the awesome help :D

Tzunami
Tzunami
  • Member since: Feb. 1, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-18 23:58:35 Reply

At 1/18/09 11:44 PM, zedd56 wrote: First of all, wow, thanks!

Yeah, i've been using the playlist to make my extra-long drum loops, and actually i think i'll stick to that rather than extending the sequencer. Good knowledge though ^^

Yes, the FPC is exactly what i needed! I'll be sure to make good use of this :D
Not sure whether i'll end up preferring the fpc over the sequencer though, but then again it's probably situational (drum solos?)

Ah, i saw the link to controller option there before, didn't really understand where to point it to.
I get it now, thanks :D

Sounds a wee bit complicated, i'll leave that for now.... i'm not really interested in using other people's loops anyhow

Thanks for all the great answers!

It's all about preference, I have a friend of mine.. who I've used FL with since I first started, he veered to hip-hop though, but he prefers to use a 8 count pattern roll. I used to as well, but then I started using the FPC some and I got hooked.

Just do what feels right to you.. if you ever find something else you like over another way, use that.. change is always good.


BBS Signature
Tykwa
Tykwa
  • Member since: Feb. 20, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 12
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-19 00:37:20 Reply

I suck ass

  • -( Project )-
    -( Project )- by Tykwa

    Click to listen.

    Score
    0 / 5.00
    Type
    Loop
    Genre
    Miscellaneous
    Popularity
    1 Views

Suggestions?
Ive been in FL for over half a year.

Yeah, that little piece took way to long

Lets, fill me with tips

zedd56
zedd56
  • Member since: Aug. 31, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-19 00:58:53 Reply

a little vague, dontcha think?

You're kind of asking for people to dump their style on you.

you should probably develop your own style.

EbonHawk7X
EbonHawk7X
  • Member since: Aug. 23, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2009-01-19 01:09:27 Reply

At 1/19/09 12:37 AM, Tykwa wrote: I suck ass
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/2 04615
Suggestions?
Ive been in FL for over half a year.

Yeah, that little piece took way to long

Lets, fill me with tips

I aknowledge that you are asking a fruity loops question, but in the future please put all posts that are related to ths sort of thig here: Advertizement thread