Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 373,234 Views
  • 6,587 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
HowlingWolf-1
HowlingWolf-1
  • Member since: Jul. 29, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-11-28 22:40:36 Reply

Pie Pie or anyone else. I am useing the free version of Fruity Loops 5 I cannot make any of my songs longer because I cannot make the....(what is it called the weel whatever the thing in the middle of the screen is), I cannot make it longer to iinclude more things. Is this because of the free version or is there another way to make it longer. I dont know what to do.

PiePie
PiePie
  • Member since: Jul. 21, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-11-28 23:22:08 Reply

At 11/28/05 09:57 AM, Dr4GonFLy wrote: How do i, like open a plugin. I mean, in my case, i want to open the Fruity Peak Controller, where do i do that? I want to have that little window, so i can play with the knobs a little.

ok well first press F9 to get the mixer panel in. Then click on on FX you want it on if you want the plugin to go on everything then click mixer...

This reminds me of a question I asked when I was new. I think it was Chronamut who taught me the ways of the plugins...

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

PiePie
PiePie
  • Member since: Jul. 21, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-11-29 17:51:57 Reply

At 11/29/05 08:40 AM, Dr4GonFLy wrote: Thx. Dude, this stuff is complicated... How did u learn the basics, PiePie? Did u do it on ur own? I now know how the playlist works and what it does^^ YAY! Thank god i dont have "Reason" or anything....

well let me tell you a story

I was always a very lazy boy and from time to time I get this burst of energy to do stuff. So I started fl stop that after a week later because I would rather be watching tv. Then one day I got this energy boost and well I started again. Then I found out if I import some midi's to FL. I could play around with buttons and stuff.

Take a midi and play around with it you could get some good results.

But remember midi's are well uhm n00bish kind of to a certain extent.

xthesnarfx
xthesnarfx
  • Member since: Oct. 23, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 16
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-11-29 18:09:52 Reply

do you only need a mirciphone to make music?


BBS Signature
PiePie
PiePie
  • Member since: Jul. 21, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-11-29 18:18:56 Reply

At 11/29/05 06:09 PM, xthesnarfx wrote: do you only need a mirciphone to make music?

you need a mic to make voices...

you need software to make music or play guitar or something

Newbie Audio Survival Guide

PiePie
PiePie
  • Member since: Jul. 21, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-11-29 20:28:01 Reply

At 11/28/05 10:40 PM, -SilverWolf- wrote: Pie Pie or anyone else. I am useing the free version of Fruity Loops 5 I cannot make any of my songs longer because I cannot make the....(what is it called the weel whatever the thing in the middle of the screen is), I cannot make it longer to iinclude more things. Is this because of the free version or is there another way to make it longer. I dont know what to do.

I dont have Fl 5 and I never tried the free version. but all you have do to make a song longer is open up piano roll and keep on going it never ends.

But im not sure what you want so I guessing what you have is the first sound on top the kick. what you want is the 2nd one the clap

by opening up piano roll right click the sound you want and click piano roll

I still don't know if this is what you want but o well.

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

RyeGuyHead
RyeGuyHead
  • Member since: Sep. 29, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 23
Programmer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-11-29 21:24:04 Reply

How does one create a piano roll with claps?


just you wait

PiePie
PiePie
  • Member since: Jul. 21, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-11-29 21:30:23 Reply

At 11/29/05 09:24 PM, RyeGuyHead wrote: How does one create a piano roll with claps?

I don't get it just right click on clap and open up piano roll.

Ah come on all your fruityloops experts you guys should be helping with these questions. Im not even good in FL and im answering them...

QBsFinest
QBsFinest
  • Member since: Nov. 23, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-03 18:04:51 Reply

Can some one please explain filters and what they do

PERVOK
PERVOK
  • Member since: Apr. 18, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-03 18:15:00 Reply

At 12/3/05 06:04 PM, QBsFinest wrote: Can some one please explain filters and what they do

piepie, i think ill try my hand at answering this one.

filters are an effect which take the frequency of of the instrument and change it.
if you open it up, on default the freq. will be like, 1300 or soemthing.
notice how its all blurry n shit.
turn the frequency up and down, and it gets blurry and unblurry.

if you use FL 5 (which i recommend you do), you can take the frequency knob (the thingy you turn) and right click, and from the little drop down bar, it says 'create automation clip'

after you make it, there should be a little automation channel that appears.
then, after you select the automation channel, you can take the filter channel and fuck around with it, making the sound blur in and out.

have a look:

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

HowlingWolf-1
HowlingWolf-1
  • Member since: Jul. 29, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-03 19:07:11 Reply

I know you sont have Fl Studio 5 but any advise would be great.

I want to know how to compress my music. I cant figure it out even though I read it in the audio portal.

By the way what version of fruity Loops do you have.

PiePie
PiePie
  • Member since: Jul. 21, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-03 21:34:24 Reply

At 12/3/05 07:07 PM, -SilverWolf- wrote: I know you sont have Fl Studio 5 but any advise would be great.

I want to know how to compress my music. I cant figure it out even though I read it in the audio portal.

when you export the song change the bitrate level down a couple nothes...

it is the little arrow thingy that is orange when click

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

TritoneAngel
TritoneAngel
  • Member since: Jul. 24, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 29
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-03 21:36:21 Reply

Pardon the newbieness --

I followed the tutorial directions for how to input an audio clip in FL5. However, when I put in the song (a full wav file) when I try to play it, either a) the program will automatically cut off the song before it ends (will stop playing in the middle of a measure for example) or b) if I click on square in the playlist or something the program just repeats the first measure of the song.... and then starts the loop in an overlap over the next measure, on and on and on. I've tried this with a number of different wav files.

How do I insert a wav file in FL such that the whole song plays?


<|> TritoneAngel <|> <|> Visit TritoneAngel Audio for guitar-centric rock, metal, VG, jazz & classical songs. <|> Newest TritoneAngel Audio: Clockwork (submitted 12/8/08)

BBS Signature
QBsFinest
QBsFinest
  • Member since: Nov. 23, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-03 22:08:21 Reply

How would I make an automation clip of my pattern panning from left to right?

PERVOK
PERVOK
  • Member since: Apr. 18, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-03 22:19:39 Reply

At 12/3/05 10:08 PM, QBsFinest wrote: How would I make an automation clip of my pattern panning from left to right?

on the master effect on you effect channel, open up the effect 'fruity panoOmatic' then on the effect, right click the knob that says 'pan' over it (in the top left hand corner) then make the automation clip from that knob.

QBsFinest
QBsFinest
  • Member since: Nov. 23, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-03 22:38:40 Reply

I have one more for you. Im making a song with slayer using powerchords. when the pattern with the slayer ends, the hold on the slayer carries over to the next pattern. How can i stop that from happening and keep the hold on the slayer channel? I hope that makes sense.

Kasualty
Kasualty
  • Member since: Apr. 12, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-05 21:20:59 Reply

When I import a beat to slice for a remix or sample, it usually sounds fine until a certain point where there is a loud explosion sound and then silence after it. What is that?


Do NOT click the siggy

BBS Signature
Kasualty
Kasualty
  • Member since: Apr. 12, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-06 19:15:00 Reply

Don't tell me im the only one who gets that.


Do NOT click the siggy

BBS Signature
PiePie
PiePie
  • Member since: Jul. 21, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-06 19:17:04 Reply

At 12/6/05 07:15 PM, Kasualty wrote: Don't tell me im the only one who gets that.

yeah rephrase it I don't understand what loud explosion?

SolusLunes
SolusLunes
  • Member since: Sep. 10, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 19
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-08 17:03:31 Reply

Yeah, um... here's one. If I want a note to stop as soon as I play the next note on that channel, how do I do that? And I'd also like to know how I change the length between beats. No, not tempo, I know how to do that, I want to change the length of time continuously between beats so I can get a "heartbeat" effect. I did it in one of my last songs, but I have absolutely NO IDEA how I did it.

gr0ss
gr0ss
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-08 18:52:50 Reply

I don't know if this has been posted already...but, when i try to put a loop thingy in a channel, it doesn't play the full loop? Why is that? Can I fix that?

Jawn

Kasualty
Kasualty
  • Member since: Apr. 12, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-08 20:56:20 Reply

How do I save something I did in the Fruity Scratcher.


Do NOT click the siggy

BBS Signature
Atomskkk
Atomskkk
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-08 21:47:21 Reply

(look at pic)
How do i add more of these? i think you would need a lot more of these to make songs.

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

PiePie
PiePie
  • Member since: Jul. 21, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-08 21:56:47 Reply

At 12/8/05 09:47 PM, TheChildrenAreDead wrote: (look at pic)
How do i add more of these? i think you would need a lot more of these to make songs.

well i answered this in your other thread but since it will be locked I put it here for future pppl

you have to change the beats per minute

if you want to make full songs you have to use piano roll not that

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

LJCoffee
LJCoffee
  • Member since: Oct. 17, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-08 22:39:54 Reply

I've only played with the demo - but I do have one question that I'm hoping that one of you could help me out with - I dunno ... maybe PiePie can aswer this one as he really seems to know what he's talking about:
why exactly does FruityLoops suck so much?


BBS Signature
PiePie
PiePie
  • Member since: Jul. 21, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-08 22:44:11 Reply

At 12/8/05 10:39 PM, ljcoffee wrote: why exactly does FruityLoops suck so much?

it doesn't you just have to know how to use it.

The early versions of Fruity Loops are bad though but 4 and 5 and soon to be 6 are good. It is good for a noob and it is still powerful enough to for that experianced user...

I use fruityloops look at my music

B0UNC3 uses FL and well look at his he pwns my 1000x so yeah...

LJCoffee
LJCoffee
  • Member since: Oct. 17, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 39
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-08 22:48:36 Reply

At 12/8/05 10:44 PM, PiePie wrote: it doesn't (suck)

XD - I'm only trolling man, I posted almost the exact same thing in the Reason thread - I would imagine though that where you were actually very cool with your answer - Ted will lose his frickin' mind and write some rant about what an ass that I am and defend his software like he's the one who wrote it...

Seriously - I've played a little with FL and while I find it to be an exceptional tool, I just prefer other software but on occasion I like to play around with it here and there...

PiePie - you're almost too good of a sport about stuff - really!


BBS Signature
Kasualty
Kasualty
  • Member since: Apr. 12, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-09 16:16:57 Reply

How do I use the Fruity Scratcher?


Do NOT click the siggy

BBS Signature
Atomskkk
Atomskkk
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-09 17:33:28 Reply

At 12/8/05 09:56 PM, PiePie wrote:
At 12/8/05 09:47 PM, TheChildrenAreDead wrote: (look at pic)
How do i add more of these? i think you would need a lot more of these to make songs.
well i answered this in your other thread but since it will be locked I put it here for future pppl

you have to change the beats per minute

if you want to make full songs you have to use piano roll not that

oh, piano role? Can u explain what piano role is exactly, and how to use it, ty.

PiePie
PiePie
  • Member since: Jul. 21, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-12-09 21:50:12 Reply

At 12/9/05 05:33 PM, TheChildrenAreDead wrote: oh, piano role? Can u explain what piano role is exactly, and how to use it, ty.

right click on the sound you want click piano roll and then uhm don't really know how to explain just pretend your on piano and press in the time slots until it has a good beat...