Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 371,532 Views
  • 6,587 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2 weeks ago Reply

At 9/1/14 07:59 PM, KatMaestro wrote:
At 9/1/14 07:56 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 9/1/14 11:06 AM, KatMaestro wrote: What Daru said was right.

Tempo changing on FL is limited in many ways. There is absolutely no indicator or icon showing at which point the tempo changed.
hint bar at the top left shows exactly which tempos you're putting in :v
Only when played or mouse-over. Very convenience.

lol really

so you want big fat numbers somewhere else, all the time? sorry if not having that is limiting for you :v


p.s. i am gay

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2 weeks ago Reply

automation in FL is limited cause the automation clips don't follow you around when you're not playing them!


p.s. i am gay

KatMaestro
KatMaestro
  • Member since: Dec. 9, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2 weeks ago Reply

At 9/1/14 08:03 PM, midimachine wrote:
lol really

so you want big fat numbers somewhere else, all the time? sorry if not having that is limiting for you :v

All the time as what it is. Sorry that I cannot voice my opinion in front of ignorant people.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2 weeks ago Reply

OH ok i see why you're confused. i thought you were just being contentious :<

events DO show up on the playlist, they're just inside patterns and not on their own like automation clips. if you want to be 100% sure when the change is occuring put your tempo events in an empty pattern, name the pattern TEMPO CHANGE OMG and colour it hot pink. that way you'll never lose it and you'll always know that it's the tempo change pattern and not the bongo ensemble pattern.


p.s. i am gay

Eagleon
Eagleon
  • Member since: Feb. 11, 2004
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 13 days ago Reply

At 9/1/14 06:51 AM, Troisnyx wrote: words!

Might be a stupid answer, I might get yelled at because I'm basically saying what xenxies is saying to do, but did you know about this bugger? https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/46645289/paaaint.jpg Took me ages to find out it existed since it only appears whenever the hell it likes your zoom settings/how many notes you've selected/etc. It stretches out notes much more mathematically than your puny meat-based human brain could ever hope to cope with/deals with FL's finest-grained time division (pulse), and if you need it finer (or looser, for that matter), it's adjustable in the project settings. Just zoom in towards the end of the notes to make sure it's snug with a non-weird time division, or hold alt to snap to 25% increments.


Eat Cheetos® brand Breakfast Cereal Soup!
Mounds of mashy gruel in a sweet, questionably cheesy corn-broth!

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 13 days ago Reply

At 9/4/14 02:27 PM, Eagleon wrote:
At 9/1/14 06:51 AM, Troisnyx wrote: words!
Might be a stupid answer, I might get yelled at because I'm basically saying what xenxies is saying to do, but did you know about this bugger?

this question has already been answered properly by two people, thanks


p.s. i am gay

Eagleon
Eagleon
  • Member since: Feb. 11, 2004
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 13 days ago Reply

At 9/4/14 09:20 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 9/4/14 02:27 PM, Eagleon wrote:
At 9/1/14 06:51 AM, Troisnyx wrote: words!
Might be a stupid answer, I might get yelled at because I'm basically saying what xenxies is saying to do, but did you know about this bugger?
this question has already been answered properly by two people, thanks

You're welcome.


Eat Cheetos® brand Breakfast Cereal Soup!
Mounds of mashy gruel in a sweet, questionably cheesy corn-broth!

Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 13 days ago Reply

At 9/5/14 02:20 AM, Eagleon wrote:
At 9/4/14 09:20 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 9/4/14 02:27 PM, Eagleon wrote:
At 9/1/14 06:51 AM, Troisnyx wrote: words!
Might be a stupid answer, I might get yelled at because I'm basically saying what xenxies is saying to do, but did you know about this bugger?
this question has already been answered properly by two people, thanks
You're welcome.

You're making this far more toxic than it needs to be. Thanks for throwing assumptions out.

In cinematic and classical music you don't always need to do the math -- all you need is emotional slowdown where necessary. And when you play an instrument you don't necessarily think of doing math when slowing down -- you just slow down when it feels right.

Two people have told me about automation and the events window, and I've used the events window to great effect. I can't yet describe it, not until this piece is finished.

I tried to be civil in addressing xenxies, but my patience is fast wearing off. I was honestly hoping the vitriol-throwing would end!


AMDG ✝

NGADM Round 2 Entry: A Night in the Attic

BBS Signature
Eagleon
Eagleon
  • Member since: Feb. 11, 2004
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 13 days ago Reply

At 9/5/14 03:56 AM, Troisnyx wrote:
You're making this far more toxic than it needs to be. Thanks for throwing assumptions out.

In cinematic and classical music you don't always need to do the math -- all you need is emotional slowdown where necessary. And when you play an instrument you don't necessarily think of doing math when slowing down -- you just slow down when it feels right.

Two people have told me about automation and the events window, and I've used the events window to great effect. I can't yet describe it, not until this piece is finished.

I tried to be civil in addressing xenxies, but my patience is fast wearing off. I was honestly hoping the vitriol-throwing would end!

No vitriol intended!

There's more than one way to skin a cat, and it sounded like you might not know about the stretch handle re. talking about clunkiness for spacing notes apart (I've worked with FL since 7, albeit in kind of a flailing unprofessional way, and I only recently noticed it) And yeah, ideally you'd (or I'd) use a midi keyboard to play things the way it's intended - I don't personally have access to or skill with such, so being able to stretch notes out organically without really worrying about the math beyond basic measure fitting was a godsend.

Tempo shifts in FL do have drawbacks, as stated, in the sense that sample stretching is automatically done, so you might get some severe choppiness if you use them at the same time, so I thought it was worth actually stating a nice way to accomplish what you're asking without painfully and manually editing the entire stream of notes in a pattern one at a time - regardless of whether you knew about it or want to use it, I'm personally reading this thread from the beginning to look for things I wouldn't even think of to ask or do, so in that sense I'd rather say something than not.

I hope I haven't ruffled too many feathers by dropping in here so suddenly - I just wanted to help out.


Eat Cheetos® brand Breakfast Cereal Soup!
Mounds of mashy gruel in a sweet, questionably cheesy corn-broth!

Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 13 days ago Reply

At 9/5/14 04:09 AM, Eagleon wrote:
No vitriol intended!

There's more than one way to skin a cat, and it sounded like you might not know about the stretch handle re. talking about clunkiness for spacing notes apart (I've worked with FL since 7, albeit in kind of a flailing unprofessional way, and I only recently noticed it) And yeah, ideally you'd (or I'd) use a midi keyboard to play things the way it's intended - I don't personally have access to or skill with such, so being able to stretch notes out organically without really worrying about the math beyond basic measure fitting was a godsend.

I know what you mean -- I kinda did this when starting out, but then I felt I needed a more gradual change, and it was hard for me to achieve.

Tempo shifts in FL do have drawbacks, as stated, in the sense that sample stretching is automatically done, so you might get some severe choppiness if you use them at the same time, so I thought it was worth actually stating a nice way to accomplish what you're asking without painfully and manually editing the entire stream of notes in a pattern one at a time - regardless of whether you knew about it or want to use it, I'm personally reading this thread from the beginning to look for things I wouldn't even think of to ask or do, so in that sense I'd rather say something than not.

Understood.

Normally with editing the events window, to circumvent this, I don't slow down in a straight line, because it does make the sound choppy. It's a downward curve, imagine a quarter of a circle, sort of. Quarter of an oval would suit it better... that way, I get the rubato I'm naturally used to. After this round's piece is done I may send you an FLP to explain, if need be.


I hope I haven't ruffled too many feathers by dropping in here so suddenly - I just wanted to help out.

Eh, no worries. ^_^


AMDG ✝

NGADM Round 2 Entry: A Night in the Attic

BBS Signature
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 13 days ago Reply

At 9/5/14 04:09 AM, Eagleon wrote: Tempo shifts in FL do have drawbacks, as stated, in the sense that sample stretching is automatically done, so you might get some severe choppiness if you use them at the same time, so I thought it was worth actually stating a nice way to accomplish what you're asking without painfully and manually editing the entire stream of notes in a pattern one at a time - regardless of whether you knew about it or want to use it, I'm personally reading this thread from the beginning to look for things I wouldn't even think of to ask or do, so in that sense I'd rather say something than not.

the drawbacks of tempo automation aren't necessarily on FLs part though. cause real time, pitch preserved time-stretching is a nightmare. i heard that live achieves something similar by looking ahead at tempo automation when doing precomputed stretching and warping, which is a really neat feature that FL should totally steal. that said, the stretching is only automatic on samples with tempo info or markers afaik. a long vocal track for instance won't have any stretching at all by default.

look i'm not gonna lie, the paint feature is super nifty. but it's so much easier to just slice your audio clips at the point of tempo change, or to make separate copies of the clips with different adjustments to the absolute multiplication of the clip length, or to do basically anything other than resequence a complex series of notes. if you haven't used audio clips before the tempo automation there's literally no point in doing it, plus if you record an audio clip over a tempo change the timing is preserved.

how about this: load loops into fruity slicer or slicex, problem (mostly) solved!
cause lets face it, nobody on NG is having this problem with any other kind of audio clip
(i mean, i sure as hell don't)

I hope I haven't ruffled too many feathers by dropping in here so suddenly - I just wanted to help out.

all g m8


p.s. i am gay

Glyxis
Glyxis
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate

I have one question about Harmor: I have a quite nice synth there, but when i play two notes at same time, the first note fades out completely and start playing the second note. So I'd like to have it like that the first note can still be hear on the "background" of the second note. So how?

Hmm.. Did I explain it too complexly?

Daru925
Daru925
  • Member since: Jan. 18, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Artist

Does this happen with default preset as well or just your synth patch?
You probably have enabled legato or monophonic mode somewhere in the synth/channel options/ piano roll, so when two notes overlaps, only one remains.


Salut!
I create 3D art here, and you can listen to my music there! Comments/Feedback appreciated.
Merci! :)

Glyxis
Glyxis
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate

At 9/9/14 08:06 AM, Daru925 wrote: Does this happen with default preset as well or just your synth patch?
You probably have enabled legato or monophonic mode somewhere in the synth/channel options/ piano roll, so when two notes overlaps, only one remains.

Oh yes, I have actually enabled legato because it gives nice "sliding" effect to another note. And when I turn it off, it plays more notes at same time, BUT it doesn't slide anymore and sounds quite bad. Can it be like that it slides, but also plays more notes at same time?

Daru925
Daru925
  • Member since: Jan. 18, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Artist

Activate "porta" switch, uncheck "legato", then in the "pitch" row there is a "legato" panel where you can control glide time and blending options.


Salut!
I create 3D art here, and you can listen to my music there! Comments/Feedback appreciated.
Merci! :)

Glyxis
Glyxis
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate

Okay, I got it now. Thanks. :)

PeterSatera
PeterSatera
  • Member since: Jan. 29, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate

At 9/1/14 11:06 AM, KatMaestro wrote: Tempo changing on FL is limited in many ways. There is absolutely no indicator or icon showing at which point the tempo changed.

There's a workflow I use which helps which may work for you for tempo changes.

> Stretch the channel really large. This allows you to get an easy handle on things.
> Have your scrub over the point where you are changing tempo. This means when grabbing the point you'll get real time feedback on how fast/slow it will be.
> Once you have decided on your tempo, if you need to know it at quick glance. Create a marker for it (ALT and T). This will create a marker which you can drag and position where needed. Once you have created one marker, you can add multiples by right clicking and say 'add marker' and specific positions.

One problem with FLstudio is that it stretches all the timeline of samples depending on the live tempo you're on. Other DAW's dont do this, from what Ive seen. But it's only a visual problem, when your scrub is over it, it retains the tempo you set it at. However, it's annoying as fuck to watch all the samples bunch up through playback when you slowdown and speed up timings, this then causes problems when working with video, and quickly placing your scrub cause's the video player to mess up in position. But FLStudio is hardly the film scoring tool, it's really not designed for it.

Anyway, hopefully this workflow will aid you a bit in tempo changes. :)

Ask your FruityLoops questions here


BBS Signature
8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate


checking phase relative to what? if you're looking for stereo phase issues, use the stereo separation knob on the master channel and listen for any sounds disappearing or sounding wacky. apart from that you should be able to check phasing by listening to all your instruments normally - phasing generally sounds like someone's put a flanger with no LFO on. then you have to figure out what's causing the phase issues in the problem instruments, checking all your chanmel routing and plugin wet/dry mix settings is a good start

Well yeah I was to check for phase issues. I do use the mono tip but it would be nice to check visually as well to back up my ears.