Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 464,358 Views
  • 6,782 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
SpeirMint
SpeirMint
  • Member since: Nov. 29, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-01 14:01:30 Reply

Define 'can only use'. Are you unable to click them, are they not visible, are they inaudible?

Well, I can't link any channels to the mixer after the fifth slot. The option is just faded out. Maybe I'm just messing up something when I select the channel?


I finally made a signature :D

BBS Signature
Oakwood
Oakwood
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 27
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-01 14:09:52 Reply

At 12/1/14 02:01 PM, SpeirMint wrote:
Define 'can only use'. Are you unable to click them, are they not visible, are they inaudible?
Well, I can't link any channels to the mixer after the fifth slot. The option is just faded out. Maybe I'm just messing up something when I select the channel?

Ah I see, you link channels by right-clicking the desired mixer slot and click 'Link selected channels > To this track'. I always use the FX number scroller in the top right of the channel settings, what happpens when you scroll that one above 5? I really have no clue what could be the problem...


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SoundCloud || YouTube || Facebook
PM me for constructive reviews, collaborations or commissions!
Latest track: Clouds (Oakwood RMX)!

BBS Signature
Oakwood
Oakwood
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 27
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-01 14:14:10 Reply

At 12/1/14 02:01 PM, SpeirMint wrote:
Define 'can only use'. Are you unable to click them, are they not visible, are they inaudible?
Well, I can't link any channels to the mixer after the fifth slot. The option is just faded out. Maybe I'm just messing up something when I select the channel?

Orrrr are you trying to link your channel to a Send slot? Because that's indeed not possible.


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SoundCloud || YouTube || Facebook
PM me for constructive reviews, collaborations or commissions!
Latest track: Clouds (Oakwood RMX)!

BBS Signature
SpeirMint
SpeirMint
  • Member since: Nov. 29, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-01 19:25:43 Reply

At 12/1/14 02:09 PM, LiquidOoze wrote:
At 12/1/14 02:01 PM, SpeirMint wrote:
Define 'can only use'. Are you unable to click them, are they not visible, are they inaudible?
Well, I can't link any channels to the mixer after the fifth slot. The option is just faded out. Maybe I'm just messing up something when I select the channel?
Ah I see, you link channels by right-clicking the desired mixer slot and click 'Link selected channels > To this track'. I always use the FX number scroller in the top right of the channel settings, what happpens when you scroll that one above 5? I really have no clue what could be the problem...

Yep, that's the problem. I can work with only 5 for now though. Also, I'm on a computer I don't use as much, and there's no problem here.


I finally made a signature :D

BBS Signature
Jaxbows
Jaxbows
  • Member since: Nov. 27, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-01 22:25:55 Reply

FL Studio indeed is one of the few DAWs (if not the only one) that isn't able to do this, yes. If it really is a main concern, you're better off using another DAW.

Hmmm perhaps... what do you suggest in my case?

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-02 04:07:51 Reply

At 12/1/14 01:55 PM, LiquidOoze wrote:
At 12/1/14 11:04 AM, Jaxbows wrote: Ok, thanks for the fast reply. I already thought of perhaps doing it the way you explained, but I really want to just fool around on my keyboard with the sample file and being able to play all my 49 keys. Might be indeed just impossible, because maybe it'd be too hard for Fl to render every note in the same tempo. Anyway, here's my first encounter of Fl studio being too limited for what I want to produce. Never thouht that would happen, though ;p
FL Studio indeed is one of the few DAWs (if not the only one) that isn't able to do this, yes. If it really is a main concern, you're better off using another DAW.

open the file in fruity granulizer, go to the sampler tab (SMP) and then set the TIME knob to however long the loop is meant to be (e.g. 1 bar, 2 bars etc.). default granulizer preset will do exactly what you need it to.

FL is great!


p.s. i am gay

Oakwood
Oakwood
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 27
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-02 10:21:33 Reply

At 12/2/14 04:07 AM, midimachine wrote: open the file in fruity granulizer, go to the sampler tab (SMP) and then set the TIME knob to however long the loop is meant to be (e.g. 1 bar, 2 bars etc.). default granulizer preset will do exactly what you need it to.

FL is great!

Damnit, see? There's always a way!


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SoundCloud || YouTube || Facebook
PM me for constructive reviews, collaborations or commissions!
Latest track: Clouds (Oakwood RMX)!

BBS Signature
dj-Jo
dj-Jo
  • Member since: May. 29, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-02 11:11:07 Reply

Considering that I'm trying to use FL Studios live,

What kind of Audio Interface would I need for low latency and only 1 mic.
Would I even need a big interface or would something like this work

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/shure-x2u-xlr-to-usb-microphone-adapter?rNtt=XLR-to-USB&index=1

If I use something like this, would it show up in ASIO and would it perform fine with EQ and Limiter plugins over the mixer slot it's attached to?


I suck at grammer ^ can't you tell?
Yoooooouuuutuuubeeeee

Sleepycoaster
Sleepycoaster
  • Member since: Oct. 19, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-18 17:19:34 Reply

Thanks for the presets, midimachine! I've played around with them and am starting to get the hang of it. It definitely helped, and even used some of the presets in my last track.

SpeirMint
SpeirMint
  • Member since: Nov. 29, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-28 22:31:25 Reply

I have an issue... even though FL isn't internet based, for some reason when my playlist starts, it keeps rewinding quarter second clips before it goes on, as if buffering. Also, I'm using Producer Edition in case that makes it easier to find a solution.


I finally made a signature :D

BBS Signature
w00tw00
w00tw00
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-28 22:51:25 Reply

At 12/28/14 10:31 PM, SpeirMint wrote: I have an issue... even though FL isn't internet based, for some reason when my playlist starts, it keeps rewinding quarter second clips before it goes on, as if buffering. Also, I'm using Producer Edition in case that makes it easier to find a solution.

that's weird, have you tried uninstalling it, then re-installing it?

SpeirMint
SpeirMint
  • Member since: Nov. 29, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-28 22:55:24 Reply

At 12/28/14 10:51 PM, w00tw00 wrote:
At 12/28/14 10:31 PM, SpeirMint wrote: I have an issue... even though FL isn't internet based, for some reason when my playlist starts, it keeps rewinding quarter second clips before it goes on, as if buffering. Also, I'm using Producer Edition in case that makes it easier to find a solution.
that's weird, have you tried uninstalling it, then re-installing it?

Check. Also, it makes weird clicky noises frequently, no matter if my headphones are in the audio jack or if I'm using speakers. Hoping It'll have fixed itself by tommorow cause this is my first song where I really drew from my creativity.


I finally made a signature :D

BBS Signature
SpeirMint
SpeirMint
  • Member since: Nov. 29, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-12-28 23:37:59 Reply

Wait, it's working now. Thanks anyway W00t!


I finally made a signature :D

BBS Signature
SpeirMint
SpeirMint
  • Member since: Nov. 29, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-01 23:25:38 Reply

Always bbb coming back! I need tips on how to make a nice background ambient!


I finally made a signature :D

BBS Signature
Anarkat
Anarkat
  • Member since: Feb. 17, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-01 23:34:43 Reply

At 12/28/14 10:55 PM, SpeirMint wrote:
At 12/28/14 10:51 PM, w00tw00 wrote:
that's weird, have you tried uninstalling it, then re-installing it?
Check. Also, it makes weird clicky noises frequently, no matter if my headphones are in the audio jack or if I'm using speakers. Hoping It'll have fixed itself by tommorow cause this is my first song where I really drew from my creativity.

Are you using the legit version? Because I know the warez version does that often.

SpeirMint
SpeirMint
  • Member since: Nov. 29, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-02 02:13:40 Reply

At 1/1/15 11:34 PM, dem0lecule wrote:
At 12/28/14 10:55 PM, SpeirMint wrote:
At 12/28/14 10:51 PM, w00tw00 wrote:
that's weird, have you tried uninstalling it, then re-installing it?
Check. Also, it makes weird clicky noises frequently, no matter if my headphones are in the audio jack or if I'm using speakers. Hoping It'll have fixed itself by tommorow cause this is my first song where I really drew from my creativity.
Are you using the legit version? Because I know the warez version does that often.

Yeh, got that figured out already. But thank you anyway, and if the real version is by Image-Line, then I am using the real deal!


I finally made a signature :D

BBS Signature
SpeirMint
SpeirMint
  • Member since: Nov. 29, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-02 02:15:12 Reply

At 1/1/15 11:25 PM, SpeirMint wrote: Always bbb coming back! I need tips on how to make a nice background ambient!

Sorry iI'm on mobile and my keypad is acting up.


I finally made a signature :D

BBS Signature
w00tw00
w00tw00
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-02 03:45:59 Reply

At 1/2/15 02:13 AM, SpeirMint wrote: Yeh, got that figured out already. But thank you anyway, and if the real version is by Image-Line, then I am using the real deal!

So? You could still crack it and have all the files etc that you would get purchasing it.

Did you go on FL's website and purchase a legit copy?

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-02 07:48:06 Reply

Hey geezers, i was wondering if theres a shortcut/ faster way to move from the draw tool to the selection tool when working in the piano roll. It feels a bit slow moving up to the tool bar everytime when doing a lot of note editing. I know there are some shortcuts for this somewhere...


Check out my EP ''Joystick Junkie''

BBS Signature
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-02 08:11:43 Reply

At 1/2/15 07:48 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: Hey geezers, i was wondering if theres a shortcut/ faster way to move from the draw tool to the selection tool when working in the piano roll. It feels a bit slow moving up to the tool bar everytime when doing a lot of note editing. I know there are some shortcuts for this somewhere...

press B for paint, P for draw and E for select
might not work if typing keyboard is enabled
full list of most important shortcuts: http://www.image-line.com/support/FLHelp/html/basics_shortcuts.htm


p.s. i am gay

SpeirMint
SpeirMint
  • Member since: Nov. 29, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-02 11:47:42 Reply

So? You could still crack it and have all the files etc that you would get purchasing it.

Did you go on FL's website and purchase a legit copy?

I bought the box. And if that's not legit, I don't know what is.


I finally made a signature :D

BBS Signature
SpeirMint
SpeirMint
  • Member since: Nov. 29, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-02 11:50:12 Reply

Also the problem already resolved itself.


I finally made a signature :D

BBS Signature
Oakwood
Oakwood
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 27
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-02 14:29:05 Reply

At 1/2/15 08:11 AM, midimachine wrote:
At 1/2/15 07:48 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: Hey geezers
press B for paint, P for draw and E for select
might not work if typing keyboard is enabled

It still works if you hold shift and press the corresponding key.


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SoundCloud || YouTube || Facebook
PM me for constructive reviews, collaborations or commissions!
Latest track: Clouds (Oakwood RMX)!

BBS Signature
8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-02 15:14:25 Reply

At 1/2/15 02:29 PM, LiquidOoze wrote:
At 1/2/15 08:11 AM, midimachine wrote:
At 1/2/15 07:48 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: Hey geezers
press B for paint, P for draw and E for select
might not work if typing keyboard is enabled
It still works if you hold shift and press the corresponding key.

Thanks guys


Check out my EP ''Joystick Junkie''

BBS Signature
Voltus
Voltus
  • Member since: Jul. 10, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician

At 1/4/15 04:14 AM, FiendMachine wrote: How do I make Beats with impact?
You know the ones which you actually feel hitting in your ears on putting headphones.
I did it but then it suppressed the rest of the tune playing making the music shitty with just beats and some random noise in the background.
Then I reduced the volume of the beats but then they lose their impact and also it feels like some small child hitting on toy drums with a electric guitar playing simultaneously.

Solution?

compression, eqing, sidechaining and mixing. It's a pretty intricate thing to make stuff punchy and there is no "one way" to do it. Stuff that makes the drums on one track punchy could very well bleed the live out of another drumtrack on another track. you should learn about compression as well as you can. what also helps if you're going for loudness is softclipping your drum bus but that is something should only do if it fits your style (hip hop, edm, even rock the harder louder styles of music use this rather often I imagine). in your particular dilemma you could try multiband compression to identify where your drums push the other frequencys away and try to work around this way but if you mix nicely and eq great this should be less and less needed.


Voltus' Soundcloud
Newest Track: Anticipate
If you want me to Review one of your pieces, just send me a PM ;)

Voltus
Voltus
  • Member since: Jul. 10, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-07 04:46:12 Reply

At 1/7/15 03:03 AM, FiendMachine wrote:
At 1/4/15 06:00 AM, Voltus wrote:
Oh! Got it.Thank you! ^^ I found tutorials on these on the internet.
But I couldn't find a video tutorial. Any links?

if you want a quick and easy tutorial on that stuff look up some of the mixing tutorials by seamlessr for example. be warned though he isnt very traditional about his mixing philosophy. hes got one on compression too i think.


Voltus' Soundcloud
Newest Track: Anticipate
If you want me to Review one of your pieces, just send me a PM ;)

TheAudioGuy
TheAudioGuy
  • Member since: Oct. 18, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-09 04:47:00 Reply

just got new studio monitors. and a new audio interface. all is working well.

except from when i open fl and the volume level is really loud.

i play a wav file? same level
i listen to something on itunes? same level
i play a youtube video? same level
i do anything in fl studio? way freaken louder.

anyone know whats going on here.

when i use fl studio with my headphones, the level is the same as everything else.

Voltus
Voltus
  • Member since: Jul. 10, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician

At 1/9/15 04:47 AM, TheAudioGuy wrote: just got new studio monitors. and a new audio interface. all is working well.

except from when i open fl and the volume level is really loud.

i play a wav file? same level
i listen to something on itunes? same level
i play a youtube video? same level
i do anything in fl studio? way freaken louder.

anyone know whats going on here.

when i use fl studio with my headphones, the level is the same as everything else.

how are your headphones connected? through the interface or through your normal pc output?
also what interface do you use?


Voltus' Soundcloud
Newest Track: Anticipate
If you want me to Review one of your pieces, just send me a PM ;)

TheAudioGuy
TheAudioGuy
  • Member since: Oct. 18, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-09 10:34:32 Reply

At 1/9/15 09:22 AM, Voltus wrote:
how are your headphones connected? through the interface or through your normal pc output?
also what interface do you use?

i use a presonus audiobox usb.
i plugged my headphones into the normal pc output

Voltus
Voltus
  • Member since: Jul. 10, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2015-01-09 11:41:25 Reply

At 1/9/15 10:34 AM, TheAudioGuy wrote:
At 1/9/15 09:22 AM, Voltus wrote:
how are your headphones connected? through the interface or through your normal pc output?
also what interface do you use?
i use a presonus audiobox usb.
i plugged my headphones into the normal pc output

you know how you can adjust the volume of windows with the loudspeaker in the lower right corner of windows? that doesnt effect fl studio if you have it running on the asio drivers. so my first hint would be to set that to maximum volume software wise and regulate your volume with the volume knob on the interface. I also would connect my phones through the interface as well so you have a constant frame of reference because the D/A Converters in your interface are 100x better than those on your shitty onboard audio.

tell me if you've had sucess! ;)


Voltus' Soundcloud
Newest Track: Anticipate
If you want me to Review one of your pieces, just send me a PM ;)