Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 391,057 Views
  • 6,637 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-11 05:21:21 Reply

FL has one of the best help files of any program ever, if all else fails.


p.s. i am gay

Unfairy
Unfairy
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Gamer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-11 05:56:37 Reply

At 12/11/13 05:21 AM, midimachine wrote: FL has one of the best help files of any program ever, if all else fails.

Really? That's a derp on my part, but I am used to unhelpful help files so it didn't particularly occur to me. I'll have to check it out next time I'm not running on 6AM fumes.

Still outside sources would be appreciated.


Live in your world, play in mine...

AetherX
AetherX
  • Member since: Nov. 5, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-11 13:47:01 Reply

Youtube is your friend. I've learned pretty much everything I know about FL from two different people:

ste1438 (Check out his Beginner to Pro series)

Seamless (Probably start with his FL Studio Basics series)


--NG Music -- Soundcloud--
Most Recent Song: Explore Infinity <-Failed audition to NGADM!

Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-11 19:57:06 Reply

At 12/11/13 01:47 PM, AetherX wrote: Youtube is your friend. I've learned pretty much everything I know about FL from two different people:

ste1438 (Check out his Beginner to Pro series)

Seamless (Probably start with his FL Studio Basics series)

Also, Beats4Beets.
Dude makes pretty good beginner tutorials.

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-12 09:38:07 Reply

Hey guys, just a quick question.. Say i have a sample i want to use in a project. Whats the best way to match the pitch and key of the sample to my project? I have tried doing this in fruity slicer by adjusting the pitch slider however that's just doing it by ear and it doesnt really give me a clear indication of whether or not its correctly pitched. Thanks in advance.

Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-12 09:46:56 Reply

At 12/12/13 09:38 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: Hey guys, just a quick question.. Say i have a sample i want to use in a project. Whats the best way to match the pitch and key of the sample to my project? I have tried doing this in fruity slicer by adjusting the pitch slider however that's just doing it by ear and it doesnt really give me a clear indication of whether or not its correctly pitched. Thanks in advance.

I've got nothing helpful to contribute, sadly.

in which case I shouldn't respond at all but kafjdakfga

Is it a vocal sample, or a melody sample?
As for advice? You just have to listen. Very carefully.

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-12 10:20:44 Reply


Is it a vocal sample, or a melody sample?
As for advice? You just have to listen. Very carefully.

Its a reversed sound from a sample pack.

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-13 00:50:00 Reply

At 12/10/13 09:37 PM, Envy wrote: oioio

i used to have this issue with soundfonts in FL, just a shot in the dark.

I would say the issu eis moer likely in a corrupted vst than in FL's framework, try looking into it in that vein.

Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-13 01:53:40 Reply

At 12/12/13 10:20 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: Its a reversed sound from a sample pack.

A reversed sample? Like a sweep that actually has tone?
Well...shit, I've got nothing.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-13 09:11:40 Reply

At 12/12/13 09:38 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: Hey guys, just a quick question.. Say i have a sample i want to use in a project. Whats the best way to match the pitch and key of the sample to my project? I have tried doing this in fruity slicer by adjusting the pitch slider however that's just doing it by ear and it doesnt really give me a clear indication of whether or not its correctly pitched. Thanks in advance.

you could always just find a free tuning VST to look at while you adjust the pitch (MTuner is really good and comes with a massive bundle of good free stuff from melda production)
actually you can run pitcher and just go off of the "input pitch" needle


p.s. i am gay

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-13 19:11:59 Reply

At 12/13/13 01:53 AM, Yoshiii343 wrote:
At 12/12/13 10:20 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: Its a reversed sound from a sample pack.
A reversed sample? Like a sweep that actually has tone?
Well...shit, I've got nothing.

Yeh basically

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-16 00:45:10 Reply

At 12/13/13 07:11 PM, 8-bitheroes wrote:
At 12/13/13 01:53 AM, Yoshiii343 wrote:
At 12/12/13 10:20 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: Its a reversed sound from a sample pack.
A reversed sample? Like a sweep that actually has tone?
Well...shit, I've got nothing.
Yeh basically

if possible, just get the frequency of the key's tonic (http://www.phy.mtu.edu/~suits/notefreqs.html) and with a spectrum analyzer mach the samples to it

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-16 00:47:14 Reply

At 12/16/13 12:45 AM, jpbear wrote:
At 12/13/13 07:11 PM, 8-bitheroes wrote:
At 12/13/13 01:53 AM, Yoshiii343 wrote:
At 12/12/13 10:20 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: Its a reversed sound from a sample pack.
A reversed sample? Like a sweep that actually has tone?
Well...shit, I've got nothing.
Yeh basically
if possible, just get the frequency of the key's tonic (http://www.phy.mtu.edu/~suits/notefreqs.html) and with a spectrum analyzer mach the samples to it

the sample's fundamental frequency if it has one, if not just find the harmonic thats playing loudest in the sample and use that as your "guide"

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-16 19:05:37 Reply

Thanks for helping.

KatMaestro
KatMaestro
  • Member since: Dec. 9, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-27 00:14:04 Reply

Is there any modwheel or similar function for the piano roll?

Daru925
Daru925
  • Member since: Jan. 18, 2013
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Artist
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-12-27 10:36:55 Reply

Hi, what are you trying to do?
I don't think there is one by default.
If you're using native plugin from FL (harmor, sytrus) there are a bunch of effects that are available in the piano roll.
Like Slide, portamento, notes, color notes that trigger effects.
If you left click on any button in a plugin you get a list of different automation available.

For everything non FL, it depends of the plugin, but you can use various type of automations.
Left click wont work usually.

You can either use "browse parameter" from the plugin window(click the down arrow top left), then a list of everything you can automate (parameters, CC) will popup.
Usually "midi CC #1" is used by modwheel.
From there you can use "edit event" to draw curve in piano roll , "create automation curve" to draw clean spline-curves in the Playlist, or "link to controller", for example "dashboard" plugin.
I used it to create a sustain pedal for a bass.
You have fruity keyboard controller to control a parameter from the piano roll depending of the note, or the velocity of the note.

There is another method where you move any parameter in the VST window (like modwheel), then go to tool, last tweaked parameter and you get the same automation menu. But it doesn't work 100%


Salut!
I create 3D art here, and you can listen to my music there! Comments/Feedback appreciated.
Merci! :)

Glyxis
Glyxis
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 02:46:51 Reply

Hello. Why my speech synthesizer didn't appear on the pattern anymore? All other instruments can be seen..

Stealth-Emergence
Stealth-Emergence
  • Member since: Dec. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 11:00:13 Reply

At 1/6/14 02:46 AM, Glyxis wrote: Hello. Why my speech synthesizer didn't appear on the pattern anymore? All other instruments can be seen..

How were you trying to do it?

I've just a quick go (haven't used the speech synthesizer for a while)

The steps you need to follow to achieve it should be:

On a new or existing pattern.

Add, Insert, or Replace on the step sequencer the "speech synthesizer" type your text and choose your settings and then accept.

Your speech should now appear on the step sequencer, then go over to the playlist and click where you want your new pattern to appear.

It should then be there.

Is this how you tried?

If you did, then I've no other suggestions


Audio Artists required for Charity Album: Read further information here The charity is Jambange

BBS Signature
Daru925
Daru925
  • Member since: Jan. 18, 2013
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Artist
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 11:39:59 Reply

At 1/6/14 02:46 AM, Glyxis wrote: Hello. Why my speech synthesizer didn't appear on the pattern anymore? All other instruments can be seen..

Just in case...

_Are you sure you havent zipped a channel's icon?
Try F5; then Alt+U

_Check you haven't grouped your channels by mistake.
Bottom left of step sequencer panel there is an "All/unsorted/groupname" menu.
When you group channels, the other disappear from step sequencer.


Salut!
I create 3D art here, and you can listen to my music there! Comments/Feedback appreciated.
Merci! :)

Glyxis
Glyxis
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 13:50:01 Reply

Thanks for replies. @Stealth-Emergence: Yes, that is exactly what i do. I insert it as new one, not replace.
@Daru925: No, I haven't zipped the channel icon. Also, the channel display filter is on "All", so it should be there.

And now i noticed that when i have added the synthesizer, and add another instrument, the speech synthesizer magically appear, named as "Default". I don't understand why. So actually it is there, but i can't see it until i set another one..

Glyxis
Glyxis
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 14:00:28 Reply

Sorry for double posting, but.. Hmm, yeah, the default means it's just the "Type your text here" speech. I tested it without putting my own speech there.. Anyway, i get my speech there, but i still don't understand why i must do it that way..

So, not acute anymore, but if someone has idea what the problem is, you're welcome to tell. :)

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 14:52:22 Reply

At 1/6/14 02:00 PM, Glyxis wrote:
So, not acute anymore, but if someone has idea what the problem is, you're welcome to tell. :)

Are you using the most recent version of FL? I cant seem to simulate this issue at all.

Glyxis
Glyxis
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 16:36:31 Reply

At 1/6/14 02:52 PM, Breed wrote:
At 1/6/14 02:00 PM, Glyxis wrote:
So, not acute anymore, but if someone has idea what the problem is, you're welcome to tell. :)
Are you using the most recent version of FL? I cant seem to simulate this issue at all.

Not actually. I'm using 9.0.

Sleepycoaster
Sleepycoaster
  • Member since: Oct. 19, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 19:56:00 Reply

Hi there.

I want to ask about Fruity Formula Controller. I'm using the Basic Sine preset. When I turn the frequency knob (I believe it was c?) all the way up it still doesn't go as fast as I want it to. (I'm trying to add vibrato to a 3xosc eurobeat saw, and using FFC to control fine pitch.) It seems that you can't edit the shown sine formula directly, as FFC just ignores my changes. Are there presets with faster frequencies? Is there a way to put in your own formula?

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 20:41:57 Reply

At 1/6/14 07:56 PM, AquariusCyclone wrote: It seems that you can't edit the shown sine formula directly, as FFC just ignores my changes.

you need to press "COMPILE" for changes to take effect

for the formula a+Sin(SongTime*Pi*2*c)*(b-0.5) you can change the 2 to a higher value to increase the speed. the a/b/c variables have a maximum value of 1, so that's something to keep in mind!


p.s. i am gay

Sleepycoaster
Sleepycoaster
  • Member since: Oct. 19, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 21:02:28 Reply

Thanks, it worked!

Sleepycoaster
Sleepycoaster
  • Member since: Oct. 19, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 23:54:33 Reply

Another question. I decided to put vibrato on my Sytrus saw instead but there doesn't seem to be a fine pitch knob anywhere on Sytrus. I suppose I could just draw an envelope, but I'd rather link Fruity Formula Controller to some knob. Is there a pitch-changing FX I could put into an insert in the mixer? Thanks in advance.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-07 06:53:02 Reply

At 1/6/14 11:54 PM, AquariusCyclone wrote: Another question. I decided to put vibrato on my Sytrus saw instead but there doesn't seem to be a fine pitch knob anywhere on Sytrus. I suppose I could just draw an envelope, but I'd rather link Fruity Formula Controller to some knob. Is there a pitch-changing FX I could put into an insert in the mixer? Thanks in advance.

unless you need the vibrato on just one operator, why not use the channel pitch?

since the channel pitch range is 4 octaves either way, you can make the vibrato range easier to manage by changing the preset formula to something like a+Sin(SongTime*Pi*x*c)*(0.1*(b-0.5)), where x represents the max vibrato speed you want.


p.s. i am gay

Stealth-Emergence
Stealth-Emergence
  • Member since: Dec. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-07 08:21:37 Reply

At 1/7/14 06:53 AM, midimachine wrote:
since the channel pitch range is 4 octaves either way, you can make the vibrato range easier to manage by changing the preset formula to something like a+Sin(SongTime*Pi*x*c)*(0.1*(b-0.5)), where x represents the max vibrato speed you want.

No shit! you can put formulae into FL?


Audio Artists required for Charity Album: Read further information here The charity is Jambange

BBS Signature
Lethal-Input
Lethal-Input
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-07 14:40:52 Reply

The sound won't play in piano roll for me. If I actually click on the note itself on the piano roll, i'll hear it, but when I actually click the play button, no sound....

The notes set on the "patterns" window will play though.