Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 371,759 Views
  • 6,587 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Oct. 27th, 2013 @ 10:48 PM Reply

At 10/27/13 08:16 PM, TheFiercePixel wrote: I just open up FL Studio and now I can't access all of my sample packs through the browser.

Anyone got a solution for this!?

weird, when did that start happening?

anyway, you can go to Options > File Settings and then add the folders you want manually for now.


p.s. i am gay

TheFiercePixel
TheFiercePixel
  • Member since: May. 15, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Oct. 28th, 2013 @ 07:51 AM Reply

At 10/27/13 10:48 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 10/27/13 08:16 PM, TheFiercePixel wrote: I just open up FL Studio and now I can't access all of my sample packs through the browser.

Anyone got a solution for this!?
weird, when did that start happening?

anyway, you can go to Options > File Settings and then add the folders you want manually for now.

This is the first time it's ever happened.

Alright, thanks! ^^ I'll try that out now!


Stalk me on the internet and listen to my music.
SoundCloud
Twitter

BBS Signature
indefinitereaction
indefinitereaction
  • Member since: May. 7, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Oct. 28th, 2013 @ 08:45 AM Reply

At 10/24/13 12:15 AM, Breed wrote:
At 10/23/13 11:07 AM, BlueOceans wrote: Should the kick and bass be panned to opposite sides in dance music?
Feel free to experiment a little with that but generally in EDM you dont want to pan anything low frequency very intensely. Keep things around or under 10% panning.

Also, dont use that as a cheat for getting them to work. A lot of people "hide" things in stereo, when what they really just need is better EQ and sidechain compression. Always double check a mix in mono to make sure things actually sound good together.

This. Honestly the best answer on this whole page. You're better off finding sounds to fit the structure of the song you want to make, rather than forcing the sounds you have to fit in awkwardly.

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 3rd, 2013 @ 07:12 AM Reply

What's best way to raise the volume of a track after its all been mixed etc? When I was done mixing I was at about -5db then after I mastering I ended up on 0db. I want to raise the volume, its not loud enough, but I don't want it to clip.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 3rd, 2013 @ 07:31 AM Reply

At 11/3/13 07:12 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: What's best way to raise the volume of a track after its all been mixed etc? When I was done mixing I was at about -5db then after I mastering I ended up on 0db. I want to raise the volume, its not loud enough, but I don't want it to clip.

try a decent master compressor. endorphin is a really good free one, i used to use it to "master" speedcore stuff so it's definitely capable of loud haha (it's actually really nuanced and a great plugin, so yeah!)


p.s. i am gay

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 4th, 2013 @ 04:24 PM Reply


try a decent master compressor. endorphin is a really good free one, i used to use it to "master" speedcore stuff so it's definitely capable of loud haha (it's actually really nuanced and a great plugin, so yeah!)

thanks that seems to be doing the trick! But im back with another question...
I have a drum loop which i want to sidechain to my kick and snare, how do i do this?

Wburnett86
Wburnett86
  • Member since: Nov. 9, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 9th, 2013 @ 12:43 AM Reply

Hey guys I'm working in nuendo and I'm trying to export a multi track audio file that has been rough mixed..so that I can write a beat to the track. When I open the file in fruity loops 9 producer edition..it's looping the first four bars of the imported track rather than allowing me to write a beat for the whole track. I would prefer to write the beat for certain segments of the track and cut and paste each part..verse, chorus, bridge etc. but it's keeps looping part of the imported track and only goes to 64 bars when my imported track is 74. Help!!!

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 9th, 2013 @ 08:14 AM Reply

At 11/4/13 04:24 PM, 8-bitheroes wrote:

try a decent master compressor. endorphin is a really good free one, i used to use it to "master" speedcore stuff so it's definitely capable of loud haha (it's actually really nuanced and a great plugin, so yeah!)
thanks that seems to be doing the trick! But im back with another question...
I have a drum loop which i want to sidechain to my kick and snare, how do i do this?

Route the kick and snare to a sub buss without removing their master routing. Asign the loop to a buss. Add fruity peak controller to that sub buss (it will mute the sub buss which is good in this case cuz the originals will not be muted in their master routing). Right click the volume of the loop, and select Link to Controller. Select the sub buss peak in the dropdown menu in the middle of the link-to-controller settings. Then, set the graph to inverted using its drop down menu, then click accept. You can now adjust the peak controller settings to effectively side chain to both the kick and snare without touching the originals.

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 10th, 2013 @ 02:41 PM Reply

Route the kick and snare to a sub buss without removing their master routing. Asign the loop to a buss. Add fruity peak controller to that sub buss (it will mute the sub buss which is good in this case cuz the originals will not be muted in their master routing). Right click the volume of the loop, and select Link to Controller. Select the sub buss peak in the dropdown menu in the middle of the link-to-controller settings. Then, set the graph to inverted using its drop down menu, then click accept. You can now adjust the peak controller settings to effectively side chain to both the kick and snare without touching the originals.

when i route them to a sub bus which do i choose 1. route to this track only 2. sidechain to this track or 3. sidechain to this track only. these are the options that come up when i right click my bus.

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 10th, 2013 @ 10:36 PM Reply

At 11/10/13 02:41 PM, 8-bitheroes wrote: when i route them to a sub bus which do i choose 1. route to this track only 2. sidechain to this track or 3. sidechain to this track only. these are the options that come up when i right click my bus.

Just left click it. That way you are just adding that routing without removing the master routing.

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 11th, 2013 @ 04:40 AM Reply

At 11/10/13 10:36 PM, Breed wrote:
At 11/10/13 02:41 PM, 8-bitheroes wrote: when i route them to a sub bus which do i choose 1. route to this track only 2. sidechain to this track or 3. sidechain to this track only. these are the options that come up when i right click my bus.
Just left click it. That way you are just adding that routing without removing the master routing.

Thank you, you have been very helpful, its made things a whole lot easier.

k7g4p11
k7g4p11
  • Member since: Oct. 23, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 21st, 2013 @ 11:38 AM Reply

At 11/3/13 07:12 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: What's best way to raise the volume of a track after its all been mixed etc? When I was done mixing I was at about -5db then after I mastering I ended up on 0db. I want to raise the volume, its not loud enough, but I don't want it to clip.

If you want to raise the volume as much as possible but don't want to use a compressor, I'd recommend the Lookahead Limiter: http://www.savioursofsoul.de/Christian/vst-plugins/effect-plugins/dynamics (Scroll down until you see it)
It's a very simple Limiter, but imo has the best sound. I use it it to master all my tracks. :D

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 21st, 2013 @ 10:41 PM Reply

since switching to fl 11,

if i click play at a point where a note is halfway through, the note thats halfway through plays.

Its very annoying for my workflow, anyway to turn this off?

Deshiel
Deshiel
  • Member since: Mar. 1, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 12
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 22nd, 2013 @ 01:53 AM Reply

How to make metal? My latest track is close, but its not it!

Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 22nd, 2013 @ 01:56 AM Reply

At 11/22/13 01:53 AM, Deshiel wrote: How to make metal? My latest track is close, but its not it!

Try getting a really good guitar sampler or an actual guitarist. Same goes to the bass. You could just use real drum samples or a drum machine that uses real drum sounds or fudagufosig.

Tykwa
Tykwa
  • Member since: Feb. 20, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 27th, 2013 @ 01:55 PM Reply

Hey guys, I have a question about linking things to automation, Or moreover making that happen, I'm using a new synth Firebird2, It's a VST, So I was expecting it to be linkable, But yet it isn't... Is there a way I can, wrap this thing or do some programming?

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Nov. 27th, 2013 @ 06:28 PM Reply

At 11/27/13 01:55 PM, Tykwa wrote: Hey guys, I have a question about linking things to automation, Or moreover making that happen, I'm using a new synth Firebird2, It's a VST, So I was expecting it to be linkable, But yet it isn't... Is there a way I can, wrap this thing or do some programming?

at the top left of the plugin window there's a drop-down menu (next to the cog icon), select "browse parameters" and a list of the parameters will appear in the browser. right click the one you want to link and select "link to controller" as usual. the last thing you changed in the plugin window will be highlighted automatically, which is handy!


p.s. i am gay

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 2nd, 2013 @ 04:33 PM Reply

On the previous page I asked about sidechaining a drum loop to my bass and snare drum. Someone kindly helped me with that but I'm in a situation now where I want to sidechain two loops to my kick and snare. How do I do this? I tried linking it but it seems to end up sidechaining either one or the other.

DOTcurrency
DOTcurrency
  • Member since: Nov. 9, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 2nd, 2013 @ 06:22 PM Reply

At 12/2/13 04:33 PM, 8-bitheroes wrote: On the previous page I asked about sidechaining a drum loop to my bass and snare drum. Someone kindly helped me with that but I'm in a situation now where I want to sidechain two loops to my kick and snare. How do I do this? I tried linking it but it seems to end up sidechaining either one or the other.

Heres what I would do:
If the two loops are similar (ie. both drum loops) I would put them on the same mixer channel and then sidechain the whole mixerchannel to the kick and snare as usual.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 2nd, 2013 @ 09:49 PM Reply

At 12/2/13 06:22 PM, DOTcurrency wrote: Heres what I would do:

OR just uncheck the "remove conflicts" box when you make the 2nd link :v


p.s. i am gay

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 4th, 2013 @ 08:28 PM Reply

At 11/21/13 10:41 PM, jpbear wrote: since switching to fl 11,

if i click play at a point where a note is halfway through, the note thats halfway through plays.

Its very annoying for my workflow, anyway to turn this off?

could use an answer for this still,

another question, not sure why but in FL 11 playlist used to restart wherever the time marker WAS

even when you push pause and play repeatedly.

Now the time marker goes to the very beggining of the track everytime i pause

zaporzan
zaporzan
  • Member since: Feb. 14, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 5th, 2013 @ 04:41 AM Reply

At 12/2/13 04:33 PM, 8-bitheroes wrote: On the previous page I asked about sidechaining a drum loop to my bass and snare drum. Someone kindly helped me with that but I'm in a situation now where I want to sidechain two loops to my kick and snare. How do I do this? I tried linking it but it seems to end up sidechaining either one or the other.

Like DOT said, you could put the loops to the same mixer channel. Or you could have them in separate channels, then route those two to one mixer channel and sidechain that one. I think a better solution would be to just have two compressors sidechained to each one separately. Hope that works!

Also to your previous question about inserting rests into your music. No one mentioned reducing the 'release'. I think that is your problem here. The fruity sampler has a ADSR envelope (Attack, Delay, Sustain, and Release). The release controls how long it takes for the volume to fade after you have stopped playing the note. It may have been a problem with reverb and delay, and you could automate the volume separately, but I think it's easier this way. I used to pick samples and they would play full length even after I let go of the key. It was so frustrating because I couldn't figure out why, then I found out about this and problem solved. Hope that helps!


...

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 10th, 2013 @ 09:18 PM Reply

Hey guys I have a quick question about exporting tracks. I'm facing some huge problems when exporting all of a sudden. For a while it would take me max 2 minutes to export a song, however one of my songs would take upwards of 20-30 minutes to export... However now it seems that every song I try and export takes an incredibly long time. I just started exporting a section of a track that was about 3mb and went to out and to dinner for close to 2 hours and when I came back it was at 40%

This shouldn't be an issue with my computer considering I'm playing BF3/4, Witcher 2, and several CPU intensive games on max settings... I've tried all different Bitrates and sinc rates and that was a temporary fix for some songs but no longer works. I'm at a complete loss of what to do because I don't really want to waste an entire day exporting a piece of a track. I'm stumped because it almost seems like it's getting worse.


At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 10th, 2013 @ 09:37 PM Reply

At 12/10/13 09:18 PM, Envy wrote: Hey guys I have a quick question about exporting tracks. I'm facing some huge problems when exporting all of a sudden. For a while it would take me max 2 minutes to export a song, however one of my songs would take upwards of 20-30 minutes to export... However now it seems that every song I try and export takes an incredibly long time. I just started exporting a section of a track that was about 3mb and went to out and to dinner for close to 2 hours and when I came back it was at 40%

This shouldn't be an issue with my computer considering I'm playing BF3/4, Witcher 2, and several CPU intensive games on max settings... I've tried all different Bitrates and sinc rates and that was a temporary fix for some songs but no longer works. I'm at a complete loss of what to do because I don't really want to waste an entire day exporting a piece of a track. I'm stumped because it almost seems like it's getting worse.

For example, I just tried 6 point-hermite and 128kbps and it's still freezing... I don't even know what to do. I've tried deleting samples/vsts/effects etc etc, it just seems like the FLP is corrupt.


At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

Mrobeymenow
Mrobeymenow
  • Member since: Nov. 26, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 10th, 2013 @ 10:24 PM Reply

At 12/10/13 09:37 PM, Envy wrote: Hey guys I have a quick question about exporting tracks. I'm facing some huge problems when exporting all of a sudden. For a while it would take me max 2 minutes to export a song, however one of my songs would take upwards of 20-30 minutes to export...

I wouldn't be surprised if it is just a glitch in the program you use, Re-downloading it should fix it. But if you have some irreplaceable things on their then I don't know how to help. I hope this doesn't keep you from trying your best on your songs, I am a major fan of yours, and look forward to your next songs.

Mrobeymenow
Mrobeymenow
  • Member since: Nov. 26, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 10th, 2013 @ 10:30 PM Reply

At 12/10/13 10:24 PM, Mrobeymenow wrote:
At 12/10/13 09:37 PM, Envy wrote: Hey guys I have a quick question about exporting tracks. I'm facing some huge problems when exporting all of a sudden. For a while it would take me max 2 minutes to export a song, however one of my songs would take upwards of 20-30 minutes to export...
I wouldn't be surprised if it is just a glitch in the program you use, Re-downloading it should fix it. But if you have some irreplaceable things on their then I don't know how to help. I hope this doesn't keep you from trying your best on your songs, I am a major fan of yours, and look forward to your next songs.

In fact you are the one who inspired me to make my own music, and got me hooked on this site. I love your work, and I'm sure it will continue to inspire me.

Unfairy
Unfairy
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Gamer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 11th, 2013 @ 05:04 AM Reply

Where can I find useful and understandable beginner's information on Fruity Loops? I've tinkered with it on my own on and off for a while now and I can apply what I've figured out through trial and error. I feel like at this point I am limited by "winging it" as it were.

However, I'm really overwhelmed by stuff like this topic because I have no grasp of the lingo, no community input, and no real learned foundation. How do the geniuses who do figure this stuff out figure it out? Bleh.


Live in your world, play in mine...

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 11th, 2013 @ 05:21 AM Reply

FL has one of the best help files of any program ever, if all else fails.


p.s. i am gay

Unfairy
Unfairy
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Gamer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 11th, 2013 @ 05:56 AM Reply

At 12/11/13 05:21 AM, midimachine wrote: FL has one of the best help files of any program ever, if all else fails.

Really? That's a derp on my part, but I am used to unhelpful help files so it didn't particularly occur to me. I'll have to check it out next time I'm not running on 6AM fumes.

Still outside sources would be appreciated.


Live in your world, play in mine...

AetherX
AetherX
  • Member since: Nov. 5, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Dec. 11th, 2013 @ 01:47 PM Reply

Youtube is your friend. I've learned pretty much everything I know about FL from two different people:

ste1438 (Check out his Beginner to Pro series)

Seamless (Probably start with his FL Studio Basics series)


--NG Music -- Soundcloud--
Most Recent Song: Explore Infinity <-Failed audition to NGADM!