Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 465,027 Views
  • 6,782 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 20:41:57 Reply

At 1/6/14 07:56 PM, AquariusCyclone wrote: It seems that you can't edit the shown sine formula directly, as FFC just ignores my changes.

you need to press "COMPILE" for changes to take effect

for the formula a+Sin(SongTime*Pi*2*c)*(b-0.5) you can change the 2 to a higher value to increase the speed. the a/b/c variables have a maximum value of 1, so that's something to keep in mind!


p.s. i am gay

Sleepycoaster
Sleepycoaster
  • Member since: Oct. 19, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 21:02:28 Reply

Thanks, it worked!

Sleepycoaster
Sleepycoaster
  • Member since: Oct. 19, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-06 23:54:33 Reply

Another question. I decided to put vibrato on my Sytrus saw instead but there doesn't seem to be a fine pitch knob anywhere on Sytrus. I suppose I could just draw an envelope, but I'd rather link Fruity Formula Controller to some knob. Is there a pitch-changing FX I could put into an insert in the mixer? Thanks in advance.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-07 06:53:02 Reply

At 1/6/14 11:54 PM, AquariusCyclone wrote: Another question. I decided to put vibrato on my Sytrus saw instead but there doesn't seem to be a fine pitch knob anywhere on Sytrus. I suppose I could just draw an envelope, but I'd rather link Fruity Formula Controller to some knob. Is there a pitch-changing FX I could put into an insert in the mixer? Thanks in advance.

unless you need the vibrato on just one operator, why not use the channel pitch?

since the channel pitch range is 4 octaves either way, you can make the vibrato range easier to manage by changing the preset formula to something like a+Sin(SongTime*Pi*x*c)*(0.1*(b-0.5)), where x represents the max vibrato speed you want.


p.s. i am gay

Stealth-Emergence
Stealth-Emergence
  • Member since: Dec. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-07 08:21:37 Reply

At 1/7/14 06:53 AM, midimachine wrote:
since the channel pitch range is 4 octaves either way, you can make the vibrato range easier to manage by changing the preset formula to something like a+Sin(SongTime*Pi*x*c)*(0.1*(b-0.5)), where x represents the max vibrato speed you want.

No shit! you can put formulae into FL?


Audio Artists required for Charity Album: Read further information here The charity is Jambange

BBS Signature
Lethal-Input
Lethal-Input
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-07 14:40:52 Reply

The sound won't play in piano roll for me. If I actually click on the note itself on the piano roll, i'll hear it, but when I actually click the play button, no sound....

The notes set on the "patterns" window will play though.

Voltus
Voltus
  • Member since: Jul. 10, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-07 15:06:14 Reply

At 1/7/14 02:40 PM, icyflamez96 wrote: The sound won't play in piano roll for me. If I actually click on the note itself on the piano roll, i'll hear it, but when I actually click the play button, no sound....

The notes set on the "patterns" window will play though.

have you checked if you're in song mode or not?
and what do you call the "patterns" window?


Voltus' Soundcloud
Newest Track: Anticipate
If you want me to Review one of your pieces, just send me a PM ;)

Stealth-Emergence
Stealth-Emergence
  • Member since: Dec. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-07 15:09:13 Reply

At 1/7/14 02:40 PM, icyflamez96 wrote: The sound won't play in piano roll for me. If I actually click on the note itself on the piano roll, i'll hear it, but when I actually click the play button, no sound....

The notes set on the "patterns" window will play though.

These are probably really obvious suggestions, but I'll start here anyway as you haven't given enough information to go from.

Check the instrument(s) isn't muted?

Check volume levels

Check velocity levels in the piano roll (this sometimes happens with me, occasionally the velocity is set to low for some reason, perhaps from forgetting from having it set prior to this instrument)

Check the mixer levels, if you've assigned the instrument to a mixer channel at this point.

Check whether you're on either song/pattern mode

That's all I can think of right now


Audio Artists required for Charity Album: Read further information here The charity is Jambange

BBS Signature
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-07 17:29:57 Reply

might've accidentally placed slide notes, i do it all the time!

re: formulae, in your effects list you should have the fruity formula controller unless you removed it from favourites. basically a peak controller/LFO on steroids, but you need to do all the math yourself


p.s. i am gay

Sleepycoaster
Sleepycoaster
  • Member since: Oct. 19, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-07 23:32:30 Reply

At 1/7/14 06:53 AM, midimachine wrote:
At 1/6/14 11:54 PM, AquariusCyclone wrote: Another question. I decided to put vibrato on my Sytrus saw instead but there doesn't seem to be a fine pitch knob anywhere on Sytrus. I suppose I could just draw an envelope, but I'd rather link Fruity Formula Controller to some knob. Is there a pitch-changing FX I could put into an insert in the mixer? Thanks in advance.
unless you need the vibrato on just one operator, why not use the channel pitch?

since the channel pitch range is 4 octaves either way, you can make the vibrato range easier to manage by changing the preset formula to something like a+Sin(SongTime*Pi*x*c)*(0.1*(b-0.5)), where x represents the max vibrato speed you want.

Messing with channel pitch is usually my last resort. But I'll do that. From what I learned since I posted that question, changing pitch takes up a lot of processing power and thus usually isn't a plugin.

Lethal-Input
Lethal-Input
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-09 00:50:26 Reply

Ok, I didn't figure out why it wasn't working before, but I got on today with none of those issues coming up.

So I watched a few tutorials on FL and (since i've tinkered with it before) now I pretty much remember how set notes and patterns semi fluently to make a song.... My main problem now is finding instruments that sound good. All of the sound editing stuff is foreign to me, so I guess that's the main thing people use to take "meh" sounding instruments and turn them into good sounding ones? Can anyone help me with this stuff, or give me some general tips, info, or link tutorials?

Tripleton
Tripleton
  • Member since: Dec. 29, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-09 01:14:56 Reply

At 1/9/14 12:50 AM, icyflamez96 wrote: Ok, I didn't figure out why it wasn't working before, but I got on today with none of those issues coming up.

So I watched a few tutorials on FL and (since i've tinkered with it before) now I pretty much remember how set notes and patterns semi fluently to make a song.... My main problem now is finding instruments that sound good. All of the sound editing stuff is foreign to me, so I guess that's the main thing people use to take "meh" sounding instruments and turn them into good sounding ones? Can anyone help me with this stuff, or give me some general tips, info, or link tutorials?

If you're using FL Studio 11, they've loaded the program with more instruments than in FL Studio 10, so you have a cool variety of soundfonts for actual instruments. If you're looking to make really cool electro synths, be sure to check out ALL of the VSTs and their presets. You can view those by opening up your VST - for example, open Sytrus - and up in the top, right corner near the X button is two arrows. Right-clicking that will bring up all of the VST's pre-loaded presets. If you don't wanna go through every VST, then Sytrus, Harmor, Harmless (and GMS, if you're running FL11) are your best.

If you're not entirely satisfied with how the synth sounds, you can make your own, or edit it.

Also, a big part of getting the sound you want comes from doing stuff with the Mixer. If you press open and go into the "Cool Stuff" folder, you can look at some really cool sample tracks and how the artists mixed and blended their songs. I won't lie to you, I've actually saved some presets from the project files and used them for myself.

Your best bet would be to play with everything in the Mixer, because everything does something different, whether it be adding reverb, equalizing, compressing, adding cool sounds effects, etc.

Hope I was able to help at all. :)

Sleepycoaster
Sleepycoaster
  • Member since: Oct. 19, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-09 01:36:00 Reply

At 1/9/14 12:50 AM, icyflamez96 wrote: Ok, I didn't figure out why it wasn't working before, but I got on today with none of those issues coming up.

So I watched a few tutorials on FL and (since i've tinkered with it before) now I pretty much remember how set notes and patterns semi fluently to make a song.... My main problem now is finding instruments that sound good. All of the sound editing stuff is foreign to me, so I guess that's the main thing people use to take "meh" sounding instruments and turn them into good sounding ones? Can anyone help me with this stuff, or give me some general tips, info, or link tutorials?

It depends on the genre, really.
There's a mixer preset that I've been using for a while to do make some instruments sound less "meh". Fruity Reeverb has a Decay knob that I often set at 3.0 for any short synths and real, classical instruments. Decay does wonders for making a song sound good, imho. Again, it depends on the genre.

Lethal-Input
Lethal-Input
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-09 23:39:47 Reply

Well I got the basic gist of the mixer now. That decay thing really does give a good sound, but it doesn't work for everythings. I'll mess around with the other mixers. If you have any specific comments about any other mixers on your mind then please share =]

So is the mixer the main thing people use for editing sounds into what they want, or is there another method?

thanks for all the help btw

Lethal-Input
Lethal-Input
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-11 00:13:46 Reply

Ok new question. I keep trying to export my MP3, and it always ends up in super bad quality. Like, It'll sound perfect when I play it in FL Studio, but when I export it, it sounds terrible. I don't know how to explain it. There's a bunch or crackling and whiteish noise. Well I have it uploaded so you guys know exactly the kind of quality i'm talking about. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQxPhHJtpUM

I've followed a few different videos/tutorials on what setting to use to uplaod an MP3/WAV at the best quality, but they all come out the same.

Stealth-Emergence
Stealth-Emergence
  • Member since: Dec. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-11 05:46:44 Reply

At 1/11/14 12:13 AM, icyflamez96 wrote: Ok new question. I keep trying to export my MP3, and it always ends up in super bad quality. Like, It'll sound perfect when I play it in FL Studio, but when I export it, it sounds terrible. I don't know how to explain it. There's a bunch or crackling and whiteish noise. Well I have it uploaded so you guys know exactly the kind of quality i'm talking about. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQxPhHJtpUM

I've followed a few different videos/tutorials on what setting to use to uplaod an MP3/WAV at the best quality, but they all come out the same.

Wow that is bad quality. and pretty odd

Firstly I would double check the bit-rate on your export settings, try to aim for maximum bit-rate (only go lower if absolutely necessary)

Save a new version and make these changes:

Disable audio effects used on your mixer and export that file!

Does that solve the problem?


Audio Artists required for Charity Album: Read further information here The charity is Jambange

BBS Signature
Daru925
Daru925
  • Member since: Jan. 18, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Artist
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-11 05:55:46 Reply

Is the volume bar colored like lava when you play the song in FL?


Salut!
I create 3D art here, and you can listen to my album there! Comments/Feedback appreciated.
Merci! :)

BBS Signature
Lethal-Input
Lethal-Input
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-11 11:29:48 Reply

@Stealth-Emergence
I already tried all those different settings.

At 1/11/14 05:55 AM, Daru925 wrote: Is the volume bar colored like lava when you play the song in FL?

Yup

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-11 12:21:08 Reply

your song is clipping. in a pinch you can turn the volume down or use a limiter on the master channel to fix it, but the real solution is to get better at mixing :P


p.s. i am gay

Lethal-Input
Lethal-Input
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-11 12:56:16 Reply

At 1/11/14 12:21 PM, midimachine wrote: your song is clipping. in a pinch you can turn the volume down or use a limiter on the master channel to fix it, but the real solution is to get better at mixing :P

Oh snap. I wasn't aware of any of that stuff you said. Easy to fix now that I know what the issue was. Thanks!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aL3d6rlQe6E

Yayy now it sounds perfect.. Quality wise. Now I just need to make some better songs lololol

Daru925
Daru925
  • Member since: Jan. 18, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Artist
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-11 22:40:19 Reply

Yeah, avoid the lava bar^^


Salut!
I create 3D art here, and you can listen to my album there! Comments/Feedback appreciated.
Merci! :)

BBS Signature
Sleepycoaster
Sleepycoaster
  • Member since: Oct. 19, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-13 21:40:21 Reply

I want to use sound editing to get a snare that sounds like the bzzt of a walkie-talkie turning on. It sounds exactly like the snare in the first few seconds of Linkin Park's "In The End".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AWbgkRpYwc

I managed to sample it from the first second of that song, but I don't know what my white noise generator hasn't been able to replicate it. I tried EQing off the high and low extremities and using the cutoff filter, but it doesn't sound as lush and breathy as Linkin Park's. Any ideas as to what to try next?

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-13 21:51:25 Reply

At 1/13/14 09:40 PM, Sleepycoaster wrote: I want to use sound editing to get a snare that sounds like the bzzt of a walkie-talkie turning on. It sounds exactly like the snare in the first few seconds of Linkin Park's "In The End".

i think it'd be easier to get a drum loop, distort the fuck out of it and then get your filter/compression on :)


p.s. i am gay

dlong492
dlong492
  • Member since: Jan. 15, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-15 19:01:55 Reply

When i go to channel settings and try to pitch up a sample it automatically goes from "resample" mode to "auto." Can anyone tell me why this is happening and what i can do to change it? I want to pitch the samples up individually.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-15 21:25:16 Reply

At 1/15/14 07:01 PM, dlong492 wrote: When i go to channel settings and try to pitch up a sample it automatically goes from "resample" mode to "auto." Can anyone tell me why this is happening and what i can do to change it? I want to pitch the samples up individually.

the switch to "auto" happens cause it's stretching the sample to keep the sample at the same length. switching back to "resample" will make sample length relative to pitch. if that makes sense. :v

so yeah, "resample" is just the same thing as playing the sample on a different note anyway, so if you want to do it like that then just use the piano roll or change the root note of the sample


p.s. i am gay

Lethal-Input
Lethal-Input
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-18 13:56:11 Reply

So I was following tutorials on how to make certain sounds, and after like 6 tutorials, I realized that the mixers that you set to them don't save... Can you get them to save along with the base sound or what?

Stealth-Emergence
Stealth-Emergence
  • Member since: Dec. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-18 14:09:17 Reply

At 1/18/14 01:56 PM, icyflamez96 wrote: So I was following tutorials on how to make certain sounds, and after like 6 tutorials, I realized that the mixers that you set to them don't save... Can you get them to save along with the base sound or what?

Not sure what you mean here! any chance you could elaborate a bit more?

Do you mean the mixer volumes?

The effects you assign to each mixer channel?

Or ???


Audio Artists required for Charity Album: Read further information here The charity is Jambange

BBS Signature
Lethal-Input
Lethal-Input
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-18 14:20:38 Reply

The mixer channels I assign to the sound doesn't save.

Stealth-Emergence
Stealth-Emergence
  • Member since: Dec. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-18 14:24:33 Reply

At 1/18/14 02:20 PM, icyflamez96 wrote: The mixer channels I assign to the sound doesn't save.

That's really odd, as soon as you assign them, there set until you change them.

you're using an old version of FL aren't you?


Audio Artists required for Charity Album: Read further information here The charity is Jambange

BBS Signature
Lethal-Input
Lethal-Input
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2014
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2014-01-18 14:25:03 Reply

I'm using 11.