Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 410,293 Views
  • 6,695 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
SkyeWint
SkyeWint
  • Member since: Feb. 2, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-07 14:58:49 Reply

At 5/7/13 02:03 PM, Envy wrote:
There's something called "layer" where you can select multiple sounds and make them play at the same time.

I'm aware of what layering is, Envy, thanks though.

Checking Patcher a bit, I don't see an option to load a sampler - why doesn't Wave Traveler work?

Unless you're trying to make a pitched instrument, I don't see why you can't use it for a drum. Just set the speed of the "travelling" to what it normally is in the sample. I'm not sure what exactly that is, because I'm pretty sure that it varies with the instrument, but I think you could probably do it. ^_^ Might take awhile though.


Stuff.

My AIM piece is found if you clicky the image.

BBS Signature
Sydonai
Sydonai
  • Member since: May. 5, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-07 15:02:49 Reply

Have you tried Wave Traveller in the Patcher?
It crashes everytime I try to load a sample, and it happened on the other PC too.

My only solution for this thing is just reinstalling, but I was hoping for another fast way.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-07 19:47:00 Reply

At 5/7/13 03:02 PM, Sydonai wrote: Have you tried Wave Traveller in the Patcher?
It crashes everytime I try to load a sample, and it happened on the other PC too.

My only solution for this thing is just reinstalling, but I was hoping for another fast way.

why do you even need to use patcher? like, what's wrong with using a layer?
just asking in case there's a workaround without using patcher (there probably is), cause that shit is super buggy for everyone and reinstalling won't guarantee a fix.


p.s. i am gay

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-07 23:42:30 Reply

At 5/7/13 02:58 PM, SkyeWintrest wrote:
At 5/7/13 02:03 PM, Envy wrote:
There's something called "layer" where you can select multiple sounds and make them play at the same time.
I'm aware of what layering is, Envy, thanks though.

Oops sorry, meant to respond to the guy before you, not you about layering :3

I just briefly read his question.


At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

Sydonai
Sydonai
  • Member since: May. 5, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-08 10:13:02 Reply

At 5/7/13 07:47 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 5/7/13 03:02 PM, Sydonai wrote: Have you tried Wave Traveller in the Patcher?
It crashes everytime I try to load a sample, and it happened on the other PC too.

My only solution for this thing is just reinstalling, but I was hoping for another fast way.
why do you even need to use patcher? like, what's wrong with using a layer?
just asking in case there's a workaround without using patcher (there probably is), cause that shit is super buggy for everyone and reinstalling won't guarantee a fix.

With the Patcher it will count as a single instrument, using only one mixer track and plus I have more options in Patcher (routing audios, applying effects, etc). Let's say I want to layer two kick and a hat, and want to make it a preset, I just can't; in Patcher I can do it. It's strange there is no possibility of using samples in it, tbh

Thanks for answers

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-08 10:57:36 Reply

At 5/8/13 10:13 AM, Sydonai wrote:
At 5/7/13 07:47 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 5/7/13 03:02 PM, Sydonai wrote: Have you tried Wave Traveller in the Patcher?
It crashes everytime I try to load a sample, and it happened on the other PC too.

My only solution for this thing is just reinstalling, but I was hoping for another fast way.
why do you even need to use patcher? like, what's wrong with using a layer?
just asking in case there's a workaround without using patcher (there probably is), cause that shit is super buggy for everyone and reinstalling won't guarantee a fix.
With the Patcher it will count as a single instrument, using only one mixer track and plus I have more options in Patcher (routing audios, applying effects, etc). Let's say I want to layer two kick and a hat, and want to make it a preset, I just can't; in Patcher I can do it. It's strange there is no possibility of using samples in it, tbh

Thanks for answers

you can merge mixer tracks or just send all the sounds to one mixer track
as far as making presets goes you can make wav files of your kicks or save the flp file for all the routin and stuff i guess.

but you make layer presets! it's the same process as making any other type of preset, and when you load the layer preset all the child channels are loaded into it with your settings automatically.


p.s. i am gay

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-08 10:59:48 Reply

*you can make layer presets

phone posts are error prone haha


p.s. i am gay

alternativesolution
alternativesolution
  • Member since: Dec. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-11 09:35:08 Reply

What could explain a complete loss of sound during playback?

I have FL 10, and in the middle of playing back a pattern, one channel, while on solo, just decides to stop playing sound. So I tried un-muting all the other channels, and the little bars beside the channel name light up during playback, yet there is no sound. I checked the mixer and nothing is muted, either, but according to the mixer nothing is actually being played.

My sound is on, volume is up, and I tried opening up a new window of FL and sound works just fine, as well as in other audio programs, internet, etc. Is there something in particular that just caused my project to stop producing sound? How do I fix this, or prevent this from happening again?


------->>> Post a random word

BBS Signature
Centriptic
Centriptic
  • Member since: Dec. 9, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-11 12:34:40 Reply

At 5/11/13 09:35 AM, alternativesolution wrote: What could explain a complete loss of sound during playback?

I have FL 10, and in the middle of playing back a pattern, one channel, while on solo, just decides to stop playing sound. So I tried un-muting all the other channels, and the little bars beside the channel name light up during playback, yet there is no sound. I checked the mixer and nothing is muted, either, but according to the mixer nothing is actually being played.

My sound is on, volume is up, and I tried opening up a new window of FL and sound works just fine, as well as in other audio programs, internet, etc. Is there something in particular that just caused my project to stop producing sound? How do I fix this, or prevent this from happening again?

Just a guess, but check your piano roll for those patterns and make sure you don't have a large space of nothing selected. Thats gotten me a few times where it'll play the pattern, then play 30 seconds of silence.

alternativesolution
alternativesolution
  • Member since: Dec. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-11 18:21:49 Reply

At 5/11/13 12:34 PM, Centriptic wrote: Just a guess, but check your piano roll for those patterns and make sure you don't have a large space of nothing selected. Thats gotten me a few times where it'll play the pattern, then play 30 seconds of silence.

No, it's none of that. I think it has something to do with one of my vsts...guess it bugged out or something. I ended up closing the project and reopening it and it worked fine, but I wouldn't want it to happen again, especially since I don't have a definite cause.
Thanks for the help


------->>> Post a random word

BBS Signature
Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 05:35:33 Reply

At 5/13/13 03:01 AM, Corbetto wrote: Anyone have some good tips on to how i can avoid my songs clipping while still maintaining a reasonable level of volume on my track in fl studio?

Advice is appreciated :)

try reducing the volume of individual tracks on the mixer
if you're using a compressor/limiter or some other bullshit, i believe midimachine mentioned something along the lines adjusting the attack and release knobs for the compressor/limiter/magical-mastering-vst

Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 06:00:54 Reply

Guys, I have an issue between FL10 and FL11. I just installed FL11 today by the way.

Thing is, when I run FL10 it's registered and on Producer Edition (Signature Bundle).
However when I run FL11, it automatically takes me to Demo Mode. The product key is already in the registry and I have no idea why it's going to Demo when it should go to Producer Edition...

I run FL10 and 11 simultaneously and the same problem still happens: FL10 is on Producer Edition, FL11 is in Demo Mode.

The opening window says this:

You appear to be a registered user, but your registration code is not valid anymore.
The application will now run in demo mode, until you apply for a new registration code.
You will now be taken to the "My FL Studio" web page where you can get your new registration code.

Does anyone else have this problem?

lasse
lasse
  • Member since: Mar. 18, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 06:57:14 Reply

At 5/13/13 06:00 AM, TroisNyxEtienne wrote: f

if you actually read the error message it should be fairly obvious

Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 06:58:20 Reply

At 5/13/13 06:57 AM, lasse wrote:
At 5/13/13 06:00 AM, TroisNyxEtienne wrote: f
if you actually read the error message it should be fairly obvious

Yeah, but the thing is, it shouldn't be happening, because the older copy was BOUGHT. How is it then that the newer copy has to be bought on top of the older version?

lasse
lasse
  • Member since: Mar. 18, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 07:01:38 Reply

At 5/13/13 06:58 AM, TroisNyxEtienne wrote: nO FUKC YOU

google is hard
http://forum.image-line.com/viewtopic.php?t=109052&p=795944

Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 07:08:07 Reply

At 5/13/13 07:01 AM, lasse wrote: google is hard
http://forum.image-line.com/viewtopic.php?t=109052&p=795944

Thanks for the link, but isn't this the whole point of the thread? Why go elsewhere when a lot of people use FL Studio and know the ins and outs of it anyway?

lasse
lasse
  • Member since: Mar. 18, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 07:10:23 Reply

At 5/13/13 07:08 AM, TroisNyxEtienne wrote:
At 5/13/13 07:01 AM, lasse wrote: google is hard
http://forum.image-line.com/viewtopic.php?t=109052&p=795944
Thanks for the link, but isn't this the whole point of the thread? Why go elsewhere when a lot of people use FL Studio and know the ins and outs of it anyway?

yeah sorry for helping out, that was really inappropriate

:get fucked

Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 07:13:17 Reply

At 5/13/13 07:10 AM, lasse wrote:
Thanks for the link, but isn't this the whole point of the thread? Why go elsewhere when a lot of people use FL Studio and know the ins and outs of it anyway?
yeah sorry for helping out, that was really inappropriate

get fucked

Idiot. I thanked you for the link and this is the thanks I get. Son of a motherless goat.

lasse
lasse
  • Member since: Mar. 18, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 07:33:56 Reply

At 5/13/13 07:13 AM, TroisNyxEtienne wrote: Idiot. I thanked you for the link and this is the thanks I get. Son of a motherless goat.

hilarious and witty reply, all brits are truly descendednts of monty python

anyway, judging by your amount of posts and horrid faux anime style avatar one would assume you've been on the internet for a while, and therefore knew to google before asking anything, then again it probably slipped my mind for a second that you, like most people on this forum is a self obsessed baby who can't do anything by yourself and when someone you percieve as lower than yourself due to less won contests (ie pleasing 3 musical illiterates and buoy) you can't just say thanks and be done with it without adding some asshole bit like

but isn't this the whole point of the thread? Why go elsewhere when a lot of people use FL Studio and know the ins and outs of it anyway?
Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 07:41:51 Reply

At 5/13/13 07:33 AM, lasse wrote:
At 5/13/13 07:13 AM, TroisNyxEtienne wrote: Idiot. I thanked you for the link and this is the thanks I get. Son of a motherless goat.
hilarious and witty reply, all brits are truly descendednts of monty python

Ha ha ha :D Glad you said that about me, friend! I'm chuffed!

And I think everyone knows objectively why some people win more contests than others -- shows everywhere, not just on NG.

SkyeWint
SkyeWint
  • Member since: Feb. 2, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 08:10:37 Reply

At 5/13/13 07:33 AM, lasse wrote: less won contests (ie pleasing 3 musical illiterates and buoy)

Having a bit of a temper tantrum at not winning the NGAPTAC, are we?


Stuff.

My AIM piece is found if you clicky the image.

BBS Signature
lasse
lasse
  • Member since: Mar. 18, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 08:41:39 Reply

At 5/13/13 07:41 AM, TroisNyxEtienne wrote: And I think everyone knows objectively why some people win more contests than others -- shows everywhere, not just on NG.

music isn't a sport, it's entertainment, in which stuff gets popular by appealing to the lowest common denominator

At 5/13/13 08:10 AM, SkyeWintrest wrote: Having a bit of a temper tantrum at not winning the NGAPTAC, are we?

nope, just judging her on her post and therefore sig

and for someone who's ripped off my sig i at least thought you'd see some kind of irony in it

SkyeWint
SkyeWint
  • Member since: Feb. 2, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 08:54:56 Reply

At 5/13/13 08:41 AM, lasse wrote:
At 5/13/13 07:41 AM, TroisNyxEtienne wrote: And I think everyone knows objectively why some people win more contests than others -- shows everywhere, not just on NG.
music isn't a sport, it's entertainment, in which stuff gets popular by appealing to the lowest common denominator

Sports are entertainment. Music is an art. Besides which, that doesn't even answer what she said.

At 5/13/13 08:10 AM, SkyeWintrest wrote: Having a bit of a temper tantrum at not winning the NGAPTAC, are we?
nope, just judging her on her post and therefore sig

and for someone who's ripped off my sig i at least thought you'd see some kind of irony in it

Talk to Buoy about my signature picture. Other than that, I guess it's fairly common for people to judge based on flawed assumptions, especially on the internet. Therefore, congratulations. You are one of the common internet-goers.


Stuff.

My AIM piece is found if you clicky the image.

BBS Signature
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 12:09:59 Reply

take the drama somewhere relevant and stop being a bunch of fucking babies


p.s. i am gay

SkyeWint
SkyeWint
  • Member since: Feb. 2, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 15:31:23 Reply

At 5/13/13 12:09 PM, midimachine wrote: take the drama somewhere relevant and stop being a bunch of fucking babies

Insults won't help with that. Also, I plan not to respond to any more inflammatory posts beyond this one, thanks.


Stuff.

My AIM piece is found if you clicky the image.

BBS Signature
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-13 20:52:29 Reply

At 5/13/13 03:31 PM, SkyeWintrest wrote:
At 5/13/13 12:09 PM, midimachine wrote: take the drama somewhere relevant and stop being a bunch of fucking babies
Insults won't help with that. Also, I plan not to respond to any more inflammatory posts beyond this one, thanks.

the way you guys have been acting lately is the real insult


p.s. i am gay

Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-14 07:03:10 Reply

At 5/13/13 08:52 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 5/13/13 03:31 PM, SkyeWintrest wrote:
At 5/13/13 12:09 PM, midimachine wrote: take the drama somewhere relevant and stop being a bunch of fucking babies
Insults won't help with that. Also, I plan not to respond to any more inflammatory posts beyond this one, thanks.
the way you guys have been acting lately is the real insult

I'm sorry, but enough stoking fires, okay? There will be no further name-calling or insults or bickering or raising past hurts in this thread. Same goes for you, midimachine. I've stopped answering those posts since SW came in, I think we can all do the same right about now.

Now, moving on to FL Studio questions.

Ecke
Ecke
  • Member since: Aug. 23, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-14 21:53:26 Reply

Why do people stil use FL?


/ Accomplishments: first 1000 comment news post.
/ عثكغ ʘⒺⒸⓀⒺʘ

BBS Signature
Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-15 04:24:26 Reply

At 5/14/13 09:53 PM, Ecke wrote: Why do people stil use FL?

I think, because that's the one that's recommended the most. For my part, I discovered FL through some friends in the Mario Paint Hangout (yes, there's a forum for Mario Paint users; NintendoCapriSun the LPer is also part of it). I used to be part of this forum until I switched to FL -- and a few Mario Painters had songs written on it.

Never turned back since. : )

SkyeWint
SkyeWint
  • Member since: Feb. 2, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-05-15 08:30:25 Reply

At 5/14/13 09:53 PM, Ecke wrote: Why do people stil use FL?

Because it's a good program with good midi input, good automation, awesome midi parameter editing, and something called a "slide" and "portamento" function which doesn't have to be created in the synth that other programs haven't figured out yet.

Oh, and it's also cheaper and easier than most other "professional" DAWs out there.

Summary: Because it's good, easy, and not overly expensive for what it does.


Stuff.

My AIM piece is found if you clicky the image.

BBS Signature