Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 366,744 Views
  • 6,542 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
SmithBA
SmithBA
  • Member since: Jun. 30, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Feb. 27th, 2013 @ 03:23 PM Reply

At 2/27/13 01:23 PM, Step wrote: Hey, I was wondering how to record an electric guitar via direct signal in FL Studio 10. My friend has been trying to do this and hasn't figured it out yet. He's plugging his Stagg guitar via line-in and he's using ASIO4ALL as an audio driver. He tried this method without any luck, but recording via Audacity worked just fine.

What is he missing?

If he is using ASIO4ALL he just needs to make sure ASIO4ALL is selected as his input/output in the audio setting for flstudio. Then make sure his input device is selected in the ASIO4ALL control panel. I accessed this by the icon in the lower right hand corner by my clock. For lack of a better description I'll upload a picof the control panel I was talking about. Those are the only 2 steps I had to use to get ASIO4ALL to work.

I don't usually use ASIO4ALL, because I use a different driver, but those steps worked for me.

Ask your FruityLoops questions here


BBS Signature
Step
Step
  • Member since: Nov. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 25
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Feb. 28th, 2013 @ 10:35 AM Reply

At 2/27/13 03:23 PM, SmithBA wrote: If he is using ASIO4ALL he just needs to make sure ASIO4ALL is selected as his input/output in the audio setting for flstudio. Then make sure his input device is selected in the ASIO4ALL control panel.

This worked wonderfully.

Thanks dude.


Review Request Club | PLEASE GIVE ME FEEDBACK ON THIS I BEG YOU | Formerly Supersteph54
I'm an Audio Moderator. PM me for any Audio Portal-related help.

BBS Signature
Sinnesraub
Sinnesraub
  • Member since: Jun. 30, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 9th, 2013 @ 12:00 AM Reply

I'm experiencing an odd issue upon saving projects, lately. The projects sound fine when played in the program, but in the MP3 or WAV version, there's a very noticeable change in pitch after the first few seconds. I can't figure out why it's doing this. Googling doesn't turn up any answers...

Any ideas?

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 9th, 2013 @ 04:19 AM Reply

At 3/9/13 12:00 AM, Sinnesraub wrote: I'm experiencing an odd issue upon saving projects, lately. The projects sound fine when played in the program, but in the MP3 or WAV version, there's a very noticeable change in pitch after the first few seconds. I can't figure out why it's doing this. Googling doesn't turn up any answers...

you've probably recorded master pitch automation by accident. it should be easy enough to fix if you did, plus i made pictures! :>

first, right click the master pitch slider at the top left of your FL window and select the "edit events" option. then you should cycle through all of your patterns until stuff shows up in the event edit window and then select all (ctrl + a ) and delete. if you don't find anything in any of your patterns then right click the master pitch slider again and select "link to controller", then press the reset button in the following dialog box.

now, if this still doesn't fix stuff you can PM me the flp file (just the .flp, no samples or anything) and I can have a better look at it and see exactly what's up.


p.s. i am gay

Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 9th, 2013 @ 07:40 AM Reply

Okay, I just noticed that when play patterns, they won't loop.
They'd only play once, and the song position thingy stays at the end.
Did I accidentally turned something off?

Sinnesraub
Sinnesraub
  • Member since: Jun. 30, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 9th, 2013 @ 08:37 AM Reply

At 3/9/13 04:19 AM, midimachine wrote: you've probably recorded master pitch automation by accident. it should be easy enough to fix if you did, plus i made pictures! :>

first, right click the master pitch slider at the top left of your FL window and select the "edit events" option. then you should cycle through all of your patterns until stuff shows up in the event edit window and then select all (ctrl + a ) and delete. if you don't find anything in any of your patterns then right click the master pitch slider again and select "link to controller", then press the reset button in the following dialog box.

now, if this still doesn't fix stuff you can PM me the flp file (just the .flp, no samples or anything) and I can have a better look at it and see exactly what's up.

Odd how I followed those steps, and really, nothing changed within the program. But it did somehow fix the pitch problem.

Confused as I am about that, I thank you!

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 9th, 2013 @ 09:51 AM Reply

At 3/9/13 07:40 AM, Yoshiii343 wrote: Okay, I just noticed that when play patterns, they won't loop.
They'd only play once, and the song position thingy stays at the end.
Did I accidentally turned something off?

you might have accidentally made a selection way off to the right in the piano roll
unless this is happening all the time in every project. then i dunno!


p.s. i am gay

Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 9th, 2013 @ 07:40 PM Reply

At 3/9/13 09:51 AM, midimachine wrote: you might have accidentally made a selection way off to the right in the piano roll
unless this is happening all the time in every project. then i dunno!

Turns out it only happened on that one session.
I still don't know what caused it. Still, problem solved!

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 10th, 2013 @ 08:24 AM Reply

At 3/9/13 07:40 PM, Yoshiii343 wrote:
At 3/9/13 09:51 AM, midimachine wrote: you might have accidentally made a selection way off to the right in the piano roll
unless this is happening all the time in every project. then i dunno!
Turns out it only happened on that one session.
I still don't know what caused it. Still, problem solved!

piano roll selections get reset when you reload a project, so that would make sense :P


p.s. i am gay

ramytharwat
ramytharwat
  • Member since: Mar. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 14th, 2013 @ 01:12 PM Reply

good day guys ,

I am having a problem while using fl 9
i have receently installed latigo plugin .
When i put a pattern from lattigo in the play list it keeps playing all the song time . i need to stop it in order to play in only some parts.
Any one can help please

Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 16th, 2013 @ 07:05 AM Reply

alright i've got a problem that's pissing me off right now
after I open up FL and do stuff for a while, it would freeze and crash.
I literally do not know what the hell caused it because it seems to happen after a certain period of time, regardless of what I did (putting down notes in the piano roll, playing back the project)

halp

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 16th, 2013 @ 08:41 AM Reply

At 3/16/13 07:05 AM, Yoshiii343 wrote: halp

are you running a laptop?
and have you installed anything recently?


p.s. i am gay

Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 16th, 2013 @ 08:48 AM Reply

At 3/16/13 08:41 AM, midimachine wrote:
At 3/16/13 07:05 AM, Yoshiii343 wrote: halp
are you running a laptop?
and have you installed anything recently?

Yep, it's a laptop.
As for recent installs, a pretty stupid instrument VST (MeowSynth).

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 16th, 2013 @ 09:35 AM Reply

At 3/16/13 08:48 AM, Yoshiii343 wrote: Yep, it's a laptop.
As for recent installs, a pretty stupid instrument VST (MeowSynth).

if your laptop has power settings try changing them to "performance" or "entertainment" settings, or whatever the complete opposite of the maximum battery life option is. if i have my laptop on power saving mode i get the same kind of freezing and crashing in FL


p.s. i am gay

Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 16th, 2013 @ 09:39 AM Reply

At 3/16/13 09:35 AM, midimachine wrote:
At 3/16/13 08:48 AM, Yoshiii343 wrote: Yep, it's a laptop.
As for recent installs, a pretty stupid instrument VST (MeowSynth).
if your laptop has power settings try changing them to "performance" or "entertainment" settings, or whatever the complete opposite of the maximum battery life option is. if i have my laptop on power saving mode i get the same kind of freezing and crashing in FL

I went ahead and changed that and also fixed the problem.
Apparently running 5 different instances of unknown 64 CM isn't very efficient.

DustRoutine
DustRoutine
  • Member since: May. 2, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 20th, 2013 @ 11:25 AM Reply

Hey I have a question about rendering,

Why does turning the interpolation and sample rate in the input/output to 192000 and 512-point sync make everything sound infinitely better, and change specific sounds completely, even after rendering?

And why would I ever want to use anything lower? Does it just take too much memory for a huge project?

Also, would dragging samples into the file have any reaction to the sample rate? What about recordings?

Do underruns effect the rendering process of sounds?

Does any other property in the audio settings effect the overall rendering of sounds?(polling, hardware buffer, multigenerator\mixer processing, tick lengths, things meant to increase performance of CPU) or do they just effect real-time playback?

what's the difference between driver, hybrid, mixer playback? Does it effect rendering?

Can I render FL-Chan?

Please respond.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 20th, 2013 @ 07:09 PM Reply

At 3/20/13 11:25 AM, DustRoutine wrote: Hey I have a question about rendering,

lol gud 1 m8


p.s. i am gay

LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 21st, 2013 @ 03:58 PM Reply

At 3/20/13 11:25 AM, DustRoutine wrote: Please respond.

This is how I responded.

Ask your FruityLoops questions here


SoundCloud || Youtube || Bandcamp || Facebook || Click below to listen to my newest track!

BBS Signature
Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 21st, 2013 @ 04:10 PM Reply

At 3/21/13 03:58 PM, LiquidOoze wrote:
At 3/20/13 11:25 AM, DustRoutine wrote: Please respond.
This is how I responded.

I rendered FL-Chan once...

never again


At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 21st, 2013 @ 04:11 PM Reply

At 3/21/13 04:10 PM, Envy wrote:
At 3/21/13 03:58 PM, LiquidOoze wrote:
At 3/20/13 11:25 AM, DustRoutine wrote: Please respond.
This is how I responded.
I rendered FL-Chan once...

never again

What happens when you do it? Does it sync your track to an mp4 of hot FL-Chan hentai?


SoundCloud || Youtube || Bandcamp || Facebook || Click below to listen to my newest track!

BBS Signature
SkyeWint
SkyeWint
  • Member since: Feb. 2, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 21st, 2013 @ 07:43 PM Reply

At 3/21/13 04:11 PM, LiquidOoze wrote:
At 3/21/13 04:10 PM, Envy wrote: I rendered FL-Chan once...

never again
What happens when you do it? Does it sync your track to an mp4 of hot FL-Chan hentai?

Maybe

I haven't tried it, so I wouldn't know

or would I?

Stuff.

My AIM piece is found if you clicky the image.

BBS Signature
CzeryWassierSwizier
CzeryWassierSwizier
  • Member since: May. 15, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 28th, 2013 @ 08:28 PM Reply

How would you generate a rain stick sound/effect?
Similar to this sound except smoother:

http://freesound.org/people/sandyrb/sounds/86354/


I'm a nub.

SkyeWint
SkyeWint
  • Member since: Feb. 2, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 28th, 2013 @ 08:55 PM Reply

At 3/28/13 08:28 PM, CzeryWassierSwizier wrote: How would you generate a rain stick sound/effect?
Similar to this sound except smoother:

http://freesound.org/people/sandyrb/sounds/86354/

Not a white noise sweep, I'd assume...

From what little I know of synthesis, it seems like you could potentially make a decent similar sound effect using white noise and granular synthesis.

You could also do some editing of a real rain stick sound - reverb is super-helpful in smoothing things out, as is a quiet delay.


Stuff.

My AIM piece is found if you clicky the image.

BBS Signature
CzeryWassierSwizier
CzeryWassierSwizier
  • Member since: May. 15, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 29th, 2013 @ 03:04 PM Reply

Thanks!
This was very helpful.


I'm a nub.

Keaux
Keaux
  • Member since: Mar. 31, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Mar. 31st, 2013 @ 11:27 PM Reply

When I finish the beat it, it ends at the 91 mark but when I export it, the song switches to almost 5 minutes, what's happening? I'm using FL 10

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 1st, 2013 @ 12:54 AM Reply

At 3/31/13 11:27 PM, Keaux wrote: When I finish the beat it, it ends at the 91 mark but when I export it, the song switches to almost 5 minutes, what's happening? I'm using FL 10

91 bars of 4/4 at 75BPM is about 5 minutes. maybe the song is just longer than you thought it was?


p.s. i am gay

Keaux
Keaux
  • Member since: Mar. 31, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 1st, 2013 @ 11:27 AM Reply

At 4/1/13 12:54 AM, midimachine wrote:
At 3/31/13 11:27 PM, Keaux wrote: When I finish the beat it, it ends at the 91 mark but when I export it, the song switches to almost 5 minutes, what's happening? I'm using FL 10
91 bars of 4/4 at 75BPM is about 5 minutes. maybe the song is just longer than you thought it was?

That's probably it lol. I was just making sure, thanks so much.

SkyeWint
SkyeWint
  • Member since: Feb. 2, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 4th, 2013 @ 12:13 PM Reply

At 4/4/13 10:07 AM, Corbetto wrote: I have 2 songs that i am very close to finishing and while i was making slight changes to one of them i decided to play it from the start and i noticed how crackly/crunchy/distorted/low quality the whole song sounded. It just happened out of nowhere, it makes no sense to me as to how my song can sound fine one minute and then just sound like it's sound quality drastically has been lowered the next.

i soon noticed that all my flps sounded very distorted when multiple sounds came together and the the overall sound quality of the tracks sounded worse.

I use a very crappy computer at the moment to make music which regularly laggs videos and audio if that info helps.

I've spent a lot of time on these 2 songs and to have fl studio or my computer (I really don't know what caused the problem) to mess up and destroy the sound quality when i'm so close to finishing it is very annoying and i would greatly appreciate someone helping to solve this problem.

From what you've said, it seems very likely that your problems are being caused simply by a lack of RAM or processing power. Unfortunately, there's not a whole lot you can do about this other than keeping your computer plugged in whenever you open FL, setting it to the highest performance possible, and making sure nothing else is open while using FL.

Don't worry though, the sound quality won't be destroyed while you export it.


Stuff.

My AIM piece is found if you clicky the image.

BBS Signature
LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 4th, 2013 @ 01:42 PM Reply

At 4/4/13 10:07 AM, Corbetto wrote: I've spent a lot of time on these 2 songs and to have fl studio or my computer (I really don't know what caused the problem) to mess up and destroy the sound quality when i'm so close to finishing it is very annoying and i would greatly appreciate someone helping to solve this problem.

As SkyeWintrest said, the clicking and crackling will not affect your exported product.
Have you tried increasing your buffer size in the Audio Settings? This will reduce the crackling a lot. However if your buffer gets really big FL Studio might starting lagging.


SoundCloud || Youtube || Bandcamp || Facebook || Click below to listen to my newest track!

BBS Signature
DjAbbic
DjAbbic
  • Member since: Oct. 24, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 4th, 2013 @ 04:48 PM Reply

At 4/4/13 10:07 AM, Corbetto wrote: I have 2 songs that i am very close to finishing and while i was making slight changes to one of them i decided to play it from the start and i noticed how crackly/crunchy/distorted/low quality the whole song sounded. It just happened out of nowhere, it makes no sense to me as to how my song can sound fine one minute and then just sound like it's sound quality drastically has been lowered the next.

i soon noticed that all my flps sounded very distorted when multiple sounds came together and the the overall sound quality of the tracks sounded worse.

I use a very crappy computer at the moment to make music which regularly laggs videos and audio if that info helps.

I've spent a lot of time on these 2 songs and to have fl studio or my computer (I really don't know what caused the problem) to mess up and destroy the sound quality when i'm so close to finishing it is very annoying and i would greatly appreciate someone helping to solve this problem.

A possible solution is going into "Options" in the top left corner of the screen, then "Audio settings". You should see a bar that is titled "Buffer length". Move this bar to the right until the crackling disappears.

Hope this helps.


New electro house/complextro song

I do not swear, smoke or drink alcohol. Oh sh*t! My cigarette just fell in my can of beer!

BBS Signature