Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 392,641 Views
  • 6,658 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-08-23 09:41:11 Reply

At 8/23/12 08:59 AM, midimachine wrote: Press stop or Ctrl+H - does the count go back to 0 momentarily? If the other thing I suggested doesn't work you can try muting each channel at the step sequencer one by one to try and pinpoint the culprit (it's almost definitely an instrument channel doing this). You don't happen to use the built-in channel delays much, do you?

The only other thing is maybe disable all of your midi inputs (File>Options>MIDI Settings), if there are any available.

Okay...

Stopping would make it go back to 0, as expected. Ctrl+H does stop the count at 1-5 before going back up. I've got no MIDI inputs, so that's not causing it.

As for the problem in the step sequencer, as far as I've seen in most of my projects it's the hi hat (both open and closed, goes above 10 voices). I'm assuming you're referring to delay that came with FL Studio. I don't use delay at all on my drums. Only on vocals and pads. I don't even use those two very often.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-08-23 11:28:17 Reply

So is it like... a particular hi-hat sample? Or will any old thing do the trick? If you can recreate the problem using stock samples you can PM me the .flp and I can probably diagnose the problem better.


p.s. i am gay

Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-08-23 12:12:45 Reply

At 8/23/12 11:28 AM, midimachine wrote: So is it like... a particular hi-hat sample? Or will any old thing do the trick? If you can recreate the problem using stock samples you can PM me the .flp and I can probably diagnose the problem better.

Alright, now that you've mentioned it, it IS a problem with a particular hi hat sample. More specifically, a set of samples. One from MusicRadar. The problem occurs when you play a certain sample on every beat, like hi hats in a typical 4/4 DnB beat, or a drum roll, or having really fast kicks. This problem never occurred before until last weekend, which means I could have done goof'd.

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-08-26 04:49:56 Reply

all my complexer projects flat out crash if i accidentally press ctrl-x (the cut hotkey)

i press it by accident when trying to copy,

ive lost so many hours of work this week due to thissss 23ughgr3yg3

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-08-26 08:28:21 Reply

At 8/23/12 12:12 PM, Yoshiii343 wrote: Alright, now that you've mentioned it, it IS a problem with a particular hi hat sample...The problem occurs when you play a certain sample on every beat, like hi hats in a typical 4/4 DnB beat, or a drum roll, or having really fast kicks.

Make sure the samples aren't looping, I guess?


p.s. i am gay

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-08-26 08:32:03 Reply

At 8/26/12 04:49 AM, jpbear wrote: all my complexer projects flat out crash if i accidentally press ctrl-x (the cut hotkey)

what's your maximum undo levels set to (options > settings > general settings)?

might also be worth double-checking how often FL is doing backups (options > settings > file settings).


p.s. i am gay

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-08-26 14:47:43 Reply

At 8/26/12 08:32 AM, midimachine wrote:
At 8/26/12 04:49 AM, jpbear wrote: all my complexer projects flat out crash if i accidentally press ctrl-x (the cut hotkey)
what's your maximum undo levels set to (options > settings > general settings)?

might also be worth double-checking how often FL is doing backups (options > settings > file settings).

i have auto backup to about every 20 mins, i guess i should shorten that.

im at like 15 undo levels.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-08-26 19:57:10 Reply

can't be the undo levels, then. that really sucks man!


p.s. i am gay

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-09 09:57:02 Reply

Bumping to remind people to use this thread for FL Studio related questions - keeps the forum tidy and people with the best answers* are more likely to read it.

*i.e. ME :v

p.s. i am gay

acepivoter
acepivoter
  • Member since: Dec. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-09 10:59:30 Reply

HOW DO I DELETE MY ACCOUNT?

LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 26
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-09 16:18:02 Reply

At 9/9/12 10:59 AM, acepivoter wrote: HOW DO I DELETE MY ACCOUNT?

You can't delete your account with FL Studio. Try Cubase or Ableton.


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SC || YT || FB
Shoot me a PM for constructive reviews, collaborations, commissions or anything else!

BBS Signature
NinjaGuy
NinjaGuy
  • Member since: Jul. 3, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 20
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-16 21:11:41 Reply

What are the biggest reasons to buy this software, as opposed to just using the demo version?


BBS Signature
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-17 03:03:54 Reply

At 9/16/12 09:11 PM, NinjaGuy wrote: What are the biggest reasons to buy this software, as opposed to just using the demo version?

being able to save is pretty crucial! ;)

also free updates forever, access to a really fantastic support forum and access to beta versions. pretty solid deal.


p.s. i am gay

GershBeats
GershBeats
  • Member since: Sep. 14, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-17 21:21:58 Reply

Lead Synth Voices

What do you guys use for lead electro instruments? I mean lead synths, not like guitars or pianos, etc.

For VSTs I use a lot of Nexus and a fair bit of Sytrus, and I do manage to get a good lead synth voice now and then, but sometimes I find myself at a loss when deciding what effects to put on!

Any inspiration?

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-18 03:35:31 Reply

At 9/17/12 09:21 PM, GershBeats wrote: Lead Synth Voices

What do you guys use for lead electro instruments? I mean lead synths, not like guitars or pianos, etc.

For VSTs I use a lot of Nexus and a fair bit of Sytrus, and I do manage to get a good lead synth voice now and then, but sometimes I find myself at a loss when deciding what effects to put on!

Any inspiration?

how much do you know about synthesis, for starters? you shouldn't need to place too many external effects on your synth leads to make them sound good most of the time. sytrus is pretty versatile, but you might like more specialised synths for certain sounds. threre's a lot of good freeware synths by tweakbench, smartelectronix, xoxos & others that are good for getting creativity flowing but just try something other than sytrus or nexus just for a change. actually wasp xt, a free synth with FL, is REALLY good and simple to use.


p.s. i am gay

NinjaGuy
NinjaGuy
  • Member since: Jul. 3, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 20
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-19 00:18:23 Reply

Thanks, I will definitely look into the purchase, though first I would like to familiarize myself with the program. Does anyone know a way I can learn FL10 in demo mode, with maybe a video series, or written tutorials online? I've looked around, and it can be troublesome trying to find accurate models of any use to me.


BBS Signature
Oney
Oney
  • Member since: Apr. 28, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-20 14:40:33 Reply

Hey, I'm exporting a song in FL studio as an mp3, and totally at random sometimes the exported mp3 has clicks and cracks as if its clipping, but its no where near clipping whatsoever. I can re-export the song and it will be randomly clipping in other points in the song, any help?


Those who are fussy don't get no pussy.

BBS Signature
jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-20 15:11:16 Reply

At 9/20/12 02:40 PM, Oney wrote: Hey, I'm exporting a song in FL studio as an mp3, and totally at random sometimes the exported mp3 has clicks and cracks as if its clipping, but its no where near clipping whatsoever. I can re-export the song and it will be randomly clipping in other points in the song, any help?

ive had badly built vsts do this to on occasion,
some soundfont players, some glitch machines

Low end can cause mp3 clipping as well, usually its sub bass being way too loud and you not noticing, but the random part leads me away from this conclusion.

AetherX
AetherX
  • Member since: Nov. 5, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-20 15:45:53 Reply

At 9/19/12 12:18 AM, NinjaGuy wrote: Thanks, I will definitely look into the purchase, though first I would like to familiarize myself with the program. Does anyone know a way I can learn FL10 in demo mode, with maybe a video series, or written tutorials online? I've looked around, and it can be troublesome trying to find accurate models of any use to me.

Look up FL Studio Tutorials Beginner to Pro on youtube. They're an excellent starting place. I think he's using FL9 in most of the videos, but everything carries over if I remember correctly.

That's how I got started.


--NG Music -- Soundcloud--
Most Recent Song: Explore Infinity <-Failed audition to NGADM!

Conal
Conal
  • Member since: Jul. 25, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 31
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-21 14:04:12 Reply

Hey, I am just starting out on FL. I am looking to make some liquid DNB. I like the Vocodex, but how can I make it operate automatically; like a piano-roll sort of map?
Here's a demonstration of where I'm going with this:
http://youtu.be/q5kxPoZi1dU?hd=1

I am using FL Studio 10.0.0 Producer Edition

​   ▲      ▲      ▲
▲ ▲▲ ▲▲ ▲
                                                                      ಠ_ಠ

BBS Signature
AetherX
AetherX
  • Member since: Nov. 5, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-21 16:40:50 Reply

At 9/21/12 02:04 PM, Conal wrote: Hey, I am just starting out on FL. I am looking to make some liquid DNB. I like the Vocodex, but how can I make it operate automatically; like a piano-roll sort of map?
Here's a demonstration of where I'm going with this:
http://youtu.be/q5kxPoZi1dU?hd=1
I am using FL Studio 10.0.0 Producer Edition

You're going to have to set up the whole carrier-modulator dealio. I have very little experience with vocoders, so bear with me here. Right now what you're doing is putting Vocodex on the modulator and using the built in carrier. What you want to be doing is using an external carrier that lets you use the piano roll. There are a couple ways to do this, but here's what I do:

First off, load up Vocodex in its own mixer insert. Then put the sound you want to have the effect (this is called the modulator) in a different mixer insert. Then you're going to have to pick an instrument that you want to use as the carrier (pro tip-all the built in Vocodex carriers are Sytrus presets as well). Don't ask me what exactly the carrier does or how it works, I don't know. Put the carrier in a third mixer insert.

Once that's all done, route both the modulator and carrier to the insert with Vocodex in it. If you don't know how to route/sidechain, watch this: FLStudio Guru - Sidechaining (you're going to want to choose "Route to this track only").

Now we can go into Vocodex. In the top right-middle are the sliders for "MOD" and "CAR" I can bet you've already guessed what these mean. Above the labels are a pair of boxes with numbers. Right-click the one above"MOD" and choose the insert that has your modulator in it. Do the same with the box above "CAR" and the insert with your carrier.

That's it! Now you can use the regular piano roll for your carrier instrument instead of the keyboard in Vocodex. If this didn't make sense, try watching this video: FL Studio Tutorial Basics - Vocoder Explained. It uses the basic Fruity Vocoder rather than Vocodex, but it's the same in principle.

Hope this helped!


--NG Music -- Soundcloud--
Most Recent Song: Explore Infinity <-Failed audition to NGADM!

LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 26
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-27 07:25:38 Reply

For some reason I can no longer use the 'drag/copy sample/selection' button in Edison (the button on the far right). I always used this to bring samples I sliced directly into the sequencer, but know I gotta save them on my PC first and open them in a sampler which is a pain in the ass to do. Does anybody know why I can't use the button?
Btw with 'can't use' I mean that whenever I click and drag using the button the cursor turns into this stop sign icon and won't let me drop the sample.


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SC || YT || FB
Shoot me a PM for constructive reviews, collaborations, commissions or anything else!

BBS Signature
LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 26
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-09-27 07:52:03 Reply

Um, the problem just fixed itself, although I have no idea how. Maybe somebody can still say what the cause was in case this happens again?


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SC || YT || FB
Shoot me a PM for constructive reviews, collaborations, commissions or anything else!

BBS Signature
GershBeats
GershBeats
  • Member since: Sep. 14, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-10-01 00:42:45 Reply

At 9/18/12 03:35 AM, midimachine wrote:
At 9/17/12 09:21 PM, GershBeats wrote: Lead Synth Voices

What do you guys use for lead electro instruments? I mean lead synths, not like guitars or pianos, etc.

For VSTs I use a lot of Nexus and a fair bit of Sytrus, and I do manage to get a good lead synth voice now and then, but sometimes I find myself at a loss when deciding what effects to put on!

Any inspiration?
how much do you know about synthesis, for starters? you shouldn't need to place too many external effects on your synth leads to make them sound good most of the time. sytrus is pretty versatile, but you might like more specialised synths for certain sounds. threre's a lot of good freeware synths by tweakbench, smartelectronix, xoxos & others that are good for getting creativity flowing but just try something other than sytrus or nexus just for a change. actually wasp xt, a free synth with FL, is REALLY good and simple to use.

Aw dang y'know how you hate yourself a little when you respond really late?? But ye thanks a lot, I actually took a music course that covered synthesis and I've messed around with it using various VSTs, but I've never made a concerted enough effort to get something sounding really good. So I guess that's what I'll do, and thanks to your advice I know to start with wasp!! :)

BB-7
BB-7
  • Member since: Nov. 11, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-10-03 00:25:45 Reply

So I'm using this VST that allows me to load in soundfronts right? Only when I load in two and start to play a pattern everything screws up.

DJsNeverEndingStory
DJsNeverEndingStory
  • Member since: Jan. 20, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-10-03 00:31:26 Reply

At 10/3/12 12:25 AM, BB-7 wrote: So I'm using this VST that allows me to load in soundfronts right? Only when I load in two and start to play a pattern everything screws up.

Hmm does FL Studio freeze or does the audio seem to skip? Could be an issue with the buffer setting for your Fl Studio.

LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 26
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-10-03 08:26:30 Reply

At 10/3/12 12:25 AM, BB-7 wrote: So I'm using this VST that allows me to load in soundfronts right? Only when I load in two and start to play a pattern everything screws up.

What VST are you using? Have you tried Fruity Soundfont Player?


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SC || YT || FB
Shoot me a PM for constructive reviews, collaborations, commissions or anything else!

BBS Signature
HyperTrough
HyperTrough
  • Member since: Jun. 29, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-10-03 13:52:44 Reply

DISCLAIMER: This is not a fucking question. (Also, don't read this if you're offended by swear words on the internet or don't have time to read bitchy, whiny, rants)

Caution all FL Studio customers. DO NOT download the 10.8 Beta. It doesn't load VSTs from your VSTPlugins folder for some idiotic reason. It fucks up your midi, audio and general settings and you have to change them EVERY SINGLE TIME you open up the fucking program, regardless of whether you save a project or not. If you chose not to heed this warning, try not to open up old projects that you are/were working on in 10.0.9, because when you decide that the Beta is rubbish and uninstall it, the projects you saved while using 10.8 will fuck up in 10.0.9 and you will lose your shit.

TL;DR: Don't even think about downloading the 10.8 Beta


lol fuk u

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-10-03 19:06:43 Reply

At 10/3/12 12:25 AM, BB-7 wrote: So I'm using this VST that allows me to load in soundfronts right? Only when I load in two and start to play a pattern everything screws up.

do you happen to be using a free plugin called sfz? i started having trouble running multiple instances of it back when i upgraded from FL 8 to FL 9.


p.s. i am gay

k3ph3r
k3ph3r
  • Member since: Sep. 7, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-10-06 04:07:39 Reply

So I finally got my plugin to work with FLS only beef I have now, is there a way to add a fade in/fade out during a step sequence? Since I got my plugin to work I'm overhauling one of my submissions to sound better and I need to tweak some steps with a bit of fading...

thanks in advance.


If you don't evolve, you'll be devoured by those that do.
Feel free to leave feedback, I shall return the favor.
K3