Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 417,549 Views
  • 6,696 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Penthos
Penthos
  • Member since: Aug. 20, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-17 23:54:31 Reply

Well everybody, this isn't about mechanics so much as it's about parameters and capabilities of the program itself. I've had FL Studio 9 for a little bit now, but I've never taken the time to sit down and learn to use it properly. Ive had my little bouts of fun with the riff maker, but as far as truly inspired work, I don't know HOW to make it. That part is easy, though. I can find videos for that, or post here if absolutely necessary. However, I need to know if this program can do what I want, in your opinions. I have great respect for the composers of Newgrounds and would greatly value your feedback on this.

I have music in my head I need to get out. It's almost exclusively classic orchestra pieces lately, though, with piano thrown in. Crisp, clean, and very quick. I need to know if Fruity Loops is a program that can produce a deep, clean, quality orchestra sound. Not only if it is capable of handling such a sound (because it was made to, not simply because its powerful), but if the samples I'd need for an orchestra are even out there in a capable format. Thanks in advance to whoever takes the time to help me out with this. I hope to contribute to this community soon. I want to do well from the start, though. So here I am, inquiring. :P


I think my imagination just murdered my conscience.

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-18 00:55:39 Reply

At 10/17/10 11:54 PM, Penthos wrote: I need to know if Fruity Loops is a program that can produce a deep, clean, quality orchestra sound. Not only if it is capable of handling such a sound (because it was made to, not simply because its powerful), but if the samples I'd need for an orchestra are even out there in a capable format.

Oh god yes it is. The ONLY restraints to FL studio are in regards to movie cues in scores and external devices, but even then its still capable. The really high quality sound you are looking for is a combination of great samplers and great mixers (mixing engineers/producers/arrangers). You'll find that MANY people use FL studio for orchestral arranging. I dont want to advertise newgrounds artists that do, but there are many. Only a very trained ear could even tell the difference between live orchestrated classical music and the quality you CAN pump out of FL, but not FL studio alone, or any workstation for that matter. The real good quality comes in soundfounts, and plug-ins. I personally use East West Symphonics but there are TONS.

Search Ochestral sounds or plugins in the forum search bar on the bottom and you will find loads of discussions over which are the best. Recently posted was a bunch of FREE soundfonts too(get em before the links die).

This day and age its not so much about the program, its about YOU. What YOU know about effects, about program features, and about music in general. FL studio is definitely one of the quickest mind to music DAWs out there too, and there really isnt anything you cant pull off with it. ANYTHING I SAY.

That is all.

Cheers!

Reaper93
Reaper93
  • Member since: Sep. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-18 01:44:21 Reply

Not only that, it gets crazier by the update. Now it's got its own pitch correction and harmonization software in the pipe and an increasingly-efficient interface (plus memory bridging!)

And free updates for life! It's crazy, crazy I tell you!

Penthos
Penthos
  • Member since: Aug. 20, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-18 02:49:02 Reply

So what you're both saying is that I have in my hands such a powerful tool that, if I were to train my mind to use it, I could accomplish endless wonders? Because that sounds awesome. I plan to make wonders. I'm currently downloading the soundfonts you linked your post to, and I am deeply grateful. While I believe my level of noobness is unprecedented when it comes to this program, I trust that these fonts will prove incredibly useful down the road. Thanks to both of you! I'm sure I'll be back with the most basic and moronic questions you can imagine in no time! :D


I think my imagination just murdered my conscience.

InvisibleObserver
InvisibleObserver
  • Member since: Feb. 9, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-18 12:01:18 Reply

At 10/18/10 02:49 AM, Penthos wrote: I were to train my mind to use it, I could accomplish endless wonders? Because that sounds awesome. I plan to make wonders.

It will be a long time to 'train your mind' to use it properly, like any DAW. FL isn't going to necessarily make that more stream lined for you. Its a long term time investment to get any good at it song writing.


BBS Signature
Or4nges
Or4nges
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-18 18:20:42 Reply

Hey guys. I just.. Obtained FL 9, and I'm doing pretty good with youtube tutorials so far, but i've got some unanswered questions.

The first of which being: How can I make a Snare. A really.. Snarey snare. Like really loud, really beefy, and has loads of decay. I plan on using if for a sort of climax transition.

If anything else comes up, you can bet i'll be back here lol.

Reaper93
Reaper93
  • Member since: Sep. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-18 21:28:02 Reply

At 10/18/10 06:20 PM, Or4nges wrote: Hey guys. I just.. Obtained FL 9, and I'm doing pretty good with youtube tutorials so far, but i've got some unanswered questions.

The first of which being: How can I make a Snare. A really.. Snarey snare. Like really loud, really beefy, and has loads of decay. I plan on using if for a sort of climax transition.

If anything else comes up, you can bet i'll be back here lol.

That's a bit vague, but there's a few ways to go about creating a "big snare sound".

If you want to adjust the sound itself (more beater for a sound that cuts more easily through the mix, for instance, or more fundamental freqs for a slightly boxier sound) you should utilize some EQ (Fruit Parametric EQ2 is a good example of this plugin).

If you want to really really beef the snare up (make it "big") layering several different snare sounds (playing multiple snare samples at the same time, or even layering in samples that AREN'T a snare with samples of a snare, experiment!) can have really good results. Making sounds from more than one original sound is big in electronic music, for instance.

Other ways to increase the 'size' of your snare are to add reverb and delay (using the aptly named fruity reeverb/fruity reeverb 2 and/or delay bank/fruity delay 2 plugins). At least a little bit on many instruments is a good idea, and maybe you want your snare really effected (affected? I guess effected is what results from adding effects, though the effects affect the snare! I'll stop now before I hurt someone :p), but be careful not to go TOO overboard. Again experimentation (and comparison with what sound you want to get) are keys.

One final way to get size on instruments, like a snare, is to experiment with stereo widening. There are many ways to go about this, but the easiest (if not the most detailed) way is to simply crank that 'stereo widen' knob on the FL Studio mixer track all the way to 100% (or as wide as you want). Keep in mind that the middle begins to disappear the wider you make the sound, so 100% wide 100% of the time may not be what you want if you need it to both cut through the mix (which centered does well) and be very beefy at the same time.

That's it for now, but there's tons of other effects you can try, even ones like Fruity Blood Overdrive (a distortion plugin) or messing with compressors (compressing the attack to make the sound really LOUD is what compressors on drums are often used for, but of course you can do many other tricks with them as well, like sidechain the rest of your song, so it becomes quiet when the snare plays, thereby making the snare SEEM loud).

Or our old standby SoundGoodizer. Just please don't overdo the SoundGoodizer :p

RetromanOMG
RetromanOMG
  • Member since: Oct. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-18 22:12:57 Reply

In hindsight, I'm probably overdue for understanding what this means (and I've probably been doing it without my knowing), but....

Can someone explain to me what sidechaining means? Furthermore, how does one do it in FLStudio8?

Or4nges
Or4nges
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-18 22:37:39 Reply

At 10/18/10 09:28 PM, Reaper93 wrote: Or our old standby SoundGoodizer. Just please don't overdo the SoundGoodizer :p

This was more helpful than I could have hoped! I just discovered a great many things in a few short paragraphs.

Thanks for theFL Studio, AND the grammar lesson :p

P.S. This applies to the whole response, although the Soundgoodizer was one of my favorite bits :D

S3C
S3C
  • Member since: Mar. 25, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-18 22:41:49 Reply

At 10/18/10 10:12 PM, RetromanOMG wrote: In hindsight, I'm probably overdue for understanding what this means (and I've probably been doing it without my knowing), but....

Can someone explain to me what sidechaining means? Furthermore, how does one do it in FLStudio8?

When "X" sound is playing, the "Y" sound that is sidechained to "X" 'ducks' out when "X" is playing. That's the gist of it. An example of this would be an offbeat bassline sidechained to a 4/4 kick drum in dance/trance music.

and Nav made a flash tutorial on how to do it in FL years ago

Or4nges
Or4nges
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-19 00:15:51 Reply

Told you I'd be back :p

I'm having a dilemma: How do I fade in a single pattern? I know how to get the Master Automation up there on the grid, but I can't figure out how to do single patterns.

Help please :D

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-19 00:35:27 Reply

right click on the volume of the single channel and create an automation from there. The automation doesn't have to be made from the mixer.


At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

Or4nges
Or4nges
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-19 00:40:37 Reply

At 10/19/10 12:35 AM, Envy wrote: right click on the volume of the single channel and create an automation from there. The automation doesn't have to be made from the mixer.

... I love you.

Reaper93
Reaper93
  • Member since: Sep. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-19 19:51:10 Reply

Yeah, before FL Studio 9.6 came up with the ability to copy values in automation clips I used to automate volume using the step sequencer's volume controls instead of automating the mixer's volume sliders just because I knew that the value of 100% was always where it started (my habit when it comes to that is to assign each thing to a mixer channel and adjust the mix volume using the mixer and leaving the channel volume at 100%... except if I need to automate volume. But when FL Studio 10 comes out and I bother to use it that habit won't be as relevant anymore because of value-copying in automation clips).

vanguard182
vanguard182
  • Member since: Mar. 2, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-20 01:05:51 Reply

hey all, been a while. while not an FL specific question, i thought it'd be best to ask it here.

is there a way to trim stereo noises in a signal? for example, if i have a WAV file which has a sound panned center that I would really like to bring out, can i somehow decrease the volume of the sounds that are panned left and right?

thanks in advance, and forgive me if this is a stupid question, i am no audio engineer

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-20 23:30:19 Reply

when using the vocodex, and you use when of the add on synth effects(robot, supersaw, elderly, etc) there appears a piano keys deal on the bottom, is there a way to automate those keys so i can change the note of the instrument i have it attached to.
(you can actually get some REALLY cool effects out of it when using it on non-vocal instruments)

thanks if anyone knows

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-21 00:08:00 Reply

At 10/20/10 01:05 AM, vanguard182 wrote: Can i somehow decrease the volume of the sounds that are panned left and right?

Yup, add a Fruity Stereo Shaper effect and pull up the "right into left" and "left into right" knobs.

UnknownOne
UnknownOne
  • Member since: Jan. 4, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-21 16:50:04 Reply

Okay, so I'm kinda new to FL Studio, and I'm looking for FREE sounds. Those sounds that come with FL aren't really many, so I suppose there are a lot of downloadable sounds from teh internetz. Anyone care to give me good links (both to such websites and specific sounds)? I'd really like some good recommendations ^_^ b


Words of evil once tore me apart, what remains is not even a heart.
And if you look deeper into my soul, you will realize there is nothing but a hole.

Step
Step
  • Member since: Nov. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 25
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-21 17:22:01 Reply

At 10/21/10 04:50 PM, UnknownOne wrote: Okay, so I'm kinda new to FL Studio, and I'm looking for FREE sounds. Those sounds that come with FL aren't really many, so I suppose there are a lot of downloadable sounds from teh internetz. Anyone care to give me good links (both to such websites and specific sounds)? I'd really like some good recommendations ^_^ b

I'll start by giving you a link to this, this, and this.


Review Request Club | CHECK THIS OUT | Formerly Supersteph54 | I'm an Audio Moderator. PM me for Audio Portal help.

BBS Signature
Mich
Mich
  • Member since: Jan. 12, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 45
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 10:56:01 Reply

At 10/22/10 10:46 AM, Skeepsis wrote: Can I organise the channels into folders to neaten things up a bit? For example, I want to put all the instruments that make the drum beat into one folder.

Yes, you can do this. Right click on the drop down box on the bottom left of the pattern sequencer, and click 'Add filter group'.

I'm not sure how you actually move channels to other groups though. To add new channels to a certain group, just select that group from the drop-down, then add the channel.

TristanLuigi
TristanLuigi
  • Member since: Dec. 21, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 19:51:02 Reply

Is it possible to use a keyboard for typing (the one you and I are using right now to browse and type on the internet) to make midi input? I've tried using external programs that are supposed to detect your keystrokes and convert them to midi input for programs like FL Studio, but no luck.


JUST CLICK IT!!!

BBS Signature
Back-From-Purgatory
Back-From-Purgatory
  • Member since: Dec. 11, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 33
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 19:58:49 Reply

At 10/22/10 07:51 PM, TristanLuigi wrote: Is it possible to use a keyboard for typing (the one you and I are using right now to browse and type on the internet) to make midi input? I've tried using external programs that are supposed to detect your keystrokes and convert them to midi input for programs like FL Studio, but no luck.

Yes, it's built right into FL Studio, no need for external programs, there should be a toggle on the top on the tool bar next to the tempo and pattern (On the right of these 2), is a little toggle showing a picture of what looks like a half keyboard, half piano. Make sure the light beside that is on. And you should now be able to use your keyboard as a ghetto MIDI keyboard.

I'd provide a pic, but I recently reformatted and haven't reinstalled FL Studio again yet.


Audio/BBS Mod
News: Bye bye Skype - Music: Tonight Will Be The Night- Art: Kira
\/\/\/ Click the sig for fun times! \/\/\/

BBS Signature
TristanLuigi
TristanLuigi
  • Member since: Dec. 21, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 20:05:26 Reply

At 10/22/10 07:58 PM, Back-From-Purgatory wrote: Yes, it's built right into FL Studio, no need for external programs, there should be a toggle on the top on the tool bar next to the tempo and pattern (On the right of these 2), is a little toggle showing a picture of what looks like a half keyboard, half piano. Make sure the light beside that is on. And you should now be able to use your keyboard as a ghetto MIDI keyboard.

I'd provide a pic, but I recently reformatted and haven't reinstalled FL Studio again yet.

I see, it's on, and I can press keys to make sounds, but it does not show up as actual notes that arre saved and played back in the Piano Roll, nor anywhere else.


JUST CLICK IT!!!

BBS Signature
Back-From-Purgatory
Back-From-Purgatory
  • Member since: Dec. 11, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 33
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 20:11:49 Reply

At 10/22/10 08:05 PM, TristanLuigi wrote:
At 10/22/10 07:58 PM, Back-From-Purgatory wrote: Yes, it's built right into FL Studio, no need for external programs, there should be a toggle on the top on the tool bar next to the tempo and pattern (On the right of these 2), is a little toggle showing a picture of what looks like a half keyboard, half piano. Make sure the light beside that is on. And you should now be able to use your keyboard as a ghetto MIDI keyboard.

I'd provide a pic, but I recently reformatted and haven't reinstalled FL Studio again yet.
I see, it's on, and I can press keys to make sounds, but it does not show up as actual notes that arre saved and played back in the Piano Roll, nor anywhere else.

I'm just going to assume you know little to nothing about FL Studio just for the sake of making the elimination process easier, as I really don't know how good you are with FL, so don't be offended if this question should seem like a no brainer...

Is the Recording button fully lit? Does the tracker move through the piano roll when you hit play? Keep in mind the notes do not show up until you stop recording.


Audio/BBS Mod
News: Bye bye Skype - Music: Tonight Will Be The Night- Art: Kira
\/\/\/ Click the sig for fun times! \/\/\/

BBS Signature
TristanLuigi
TristanLuigi
  • Member since: Dec. 21, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 20:16:35 Reply

At 10/22/10 08:11 PM, Back-From-Purgatory wrote: I'm just going to assume you know little to nothing about FL Studio just for the sake of making the elimination process easier, as I really don't know how good you are with FL, so don't be offended if this question should seem like a no brainer...

Is the Recording button fully lit? Does the tracker move through the piano roll when you hit play? Keep in mind the notes do not show up until you stop recording.

It's fully lit, and yes I suck and FL Studio XD because I don't know what exactly the tracker is, but I'm guessing it's that little column of lighter color that says the position of the song. And it worked. I think I was fooled into thinking it was not working because the notes don't appear until you hit stop. Oops, lol.


JUST CLICK IT!!!

BBS Signature
Back-From-Purgatory
Back-From-Purgatory
  • Member since: Dec. 11, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 33
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 20:19:47 Reply

At 10/22/10 08:16 PM, TristanLuigi wrote:
At 10/22/10 08:11 PM, Back-From-Purgatory wrote: I'm just going to assume you know little to nothing about FL Studio just for the sake of making the elimination process easier, as I really don't know how good you are with FL, so don't be offended if this question should seem like a no brainer...

Is the Recording button fully lit? Does the tracker move through the piano roll when you hit play? Keep in mind the notes do not show up until you stop recording.
It's fully lit, and yes I suck and FL Studio XD because I don't know what exactly the tracker is, but I'm guessing it's that little column of lighter color that says the position of the song. And it worked. I think I was fooled into thinking it was not working because the notes don't appear until you hit stop. Oops, lol.

Yeah, I made the same mistake when I first started using FL Studio, most DAWs the notes show up as their played, not sure if FL waits to lower CPU load or something, but whatever the reason... If that was the problem, awesome. Have fun.


Audio/BBS Mod
News: Bye bye Skype - Music: Tonight Will Be The Night- Art: Kira
\/\/\/ Click the sig for fun times! \/\/\/

BBS Signature
defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-24 12:50:12 Reply

At 10/27/10 07:30 AM, Skeepsis wrote: I used the Master Pitch slider (Just next to the timer in FL Studio 9) to change the overall pitch of one of my songs, but some sections suddenly sounded out of tune and inharmonious, whereas before they sounded perfectly harmonious at the original pitch.
What's going on? Isn't it supposed to change the pitch of everything, so every sounds pitch should be the same relative to the other instruments?

Most likely, you have "enable main pitch" turned off in some of your instruments' channel settings (under the misc tab).

Honestly though, you shouldn't ever change the main pitch. If you want to change key, it's much cleaner if you transpose the notes in the piano roll. If you want to set your song's pitch at a weird tuning "to sound artsy", please don't. It really throws people with perfect pitch off, and anyone who wants to play along or around with your song has to go through the trouble of transposing it.

Finally, please use this thread from now on for FL questions. I know you posted your "mellow lead" query in the FL thread first and didn't get an answer until you made your own thread, but that doesn't mean you should stop using this one.

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-25 18:40:33 Reply

1. You need to switch the midi in/midi out connectors.
2. You don't have the proper drivers installed.
3. You didn't enable your keyboard in the midi settings of FL Studio.

BrandenPosts
BrandenPosts
  • Member since: Mar. 7, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-25 22:57:25 Reply

Heyy so this is a pretty stupid question but w.e i really need the answer =P

so i know how to make loops and beats and change the notes with piano roll, but how would i make the actual song (no loop or anything?)

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-25 23:00:39 Reply

At 10/25/10 10:57 PM, BrandenPosts wrote: Heyy so this is a pretty stupid question but w.e i really need the answer =P

so i know how to make loops and beats and change the notes with piano roll, but how would i make the actual song (no loop or anything?)

take the loops you make in the piano roll/step sequencer, and arrange them on the playlist to organize your song.

The playlist is the big thing on the right

At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat