Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 464,590 Views
  • 6,782 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Reaper93
Reaper93
  • Member since: Sep. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-19 19:51:10 Reply

Yeah, before FL Studio 9.6 came up with the ability to copy values in automation clips I used to automate volume using the step sequencer's volume controls instead of automating the mixer's volume sliders just because I knew that the value of 100% was always where it started (my habit when it comes to that is to assign each thing to a mixer channel and adjust the mix volume using the mixer and leaving the channel volume at 100%... except if I need to automate volume. But when FL Studio 10 comes out and I bother to use it that habit won't be as relevant anymore because of value-copying in automation clips).

vanguard182
vanguard182
  • Member since: Mar. 2, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-20 01:05:51 Reply

hey all, been a while. while not an FL specific question, i thought it'd be best to ask it here.

is there a way to trim stereo noises in a signal? for example, if i have a WAV file which has a sound panned center that I would really like to bring out, can i somehow decrease the volume of the sounds that are panned left and right?

thanks in advance, and forgive me if this is a stupid question, i am no audio engineer

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-20 23:30:19 Reply

when using the vocodex, and you use when of the add on synth effects(robot, supersaw, elderly, etc) there appears a piano keys deal on the bottom, is there a way to automate those keys so i can change the note of the instrument i have it attached to.
(you can actually get some REALLY cool effects out of it when using it on non-vocal instruments)

thanks if anyone knows

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-21 00:08:00 Reply

At 10/20/10 01:05 AM, vanguard182 wrote: Can i somehow decrease the volume of the sounds that are panned left and right?

Yup, add a Fruity Stereo Shaper effect and pull up the "right into left" and "left into right" knobs.

UnknownOne
UnknownOne
  • Member since: Jan. 4, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-21 16:50:04 Reply

Okay, so I'm kinda new to FL Studio, and I'm looking for FREE sounds. Those sounds that come with FL aren't really many, so I suppose there are a lot of downloadable sounds from teh internetz. Anyone care to give me good links (both to such websites and specific sounds)? I'd really like some good recommendations ^_^ b


Words of evil once tore me apart, what remains is not even a heart.
And if you look deeper into my soul, you will realize there is nothing but a hole.

Step
Step
  • Member since: Nov. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 25
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-21 17:22:01 Reply

At 10/21/10 04:50 PM, UnknownOne wrote: Okay, so I'm kinda new to FL Studio, and I'm looking for FREE sounds. Those sounds that come with FL aren't really many, so I suppose there are a lot of downloadable sounds from teh internetz. Anyone care to give me good links (both to such websites and specific sounds)? I'd really like some good recommendations ^_^ b

I'll start by giving you a link to this, this, and this.


Review Request Club | CHECK THIS OUT | Formerly Supersteph54 | I'm an Audio Moderator. PM me for Audio Portal help.

BBS Signature
Mich
Mich
  • Member since: Jan. 12, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 47
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 10:56:01 Reply

At 10/22/10 10:46 AM, Skeepsis wrote: Can I organise the channels into folders to neaten things up a bit? For example, I want to put all the instruments that make the drum beat into one folder.

Yes, you can do this. Right click on the drop down box on the bottom left of the pattern sequencer, and click 'Add filter group'.

I'm not sure how you actually move channels to other groups though. To add new channels to a certain group, just select that group from the drop-down, then add the channel.

TristanLuigi
TristanLuigi
  • Member since: Dec. 21, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 19:51:02 Reply

Is it possible to use a keyboard for typing (the one you and I are using right now to browse and type on the internet) to make midi input? I've tried using external programs that are supposed to detect your keystrokes and convert them to midi input for programs like FL Studio, but no luck.


JUST CLICK IT!!!

BBS Signature
Back-From-Purgatory
Back-From-Purgatory
  • Member since: Dec. 11, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 33
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 19:58:49 Reply

At 10/22/10 07:51 PM, TristanLuigi wrote: Is it possible to use a keyboard for typing (the one you and I are using right now to browse and type on the internet) to make midi input? I've tried using external programs that are supposed to detect your keystrokes and convert them to midi input for programs like FL Studio, but no luck.

Yes, it's built right into FL Studio, no need for external programs, there should be a toggle on the top on the tool bar next to the tempo and pattern (On the right of these 2), is a little toggle showing a picture of what looks like a half keyboard, half piano. Make sure the light beside that is on. And you should now be able to use your keyboard as a ghetto MIDI keyboard.

I'd provide a pic, but I recently reformatted and haven't reinstalled FL Studio again yet.


Audio/BBS Mod
News: Bye bye Skype - Music: Tonight Will Be The Night- Art: Kira
\/\/\/ Click the sig for fun times! \/\/\/

BBS Signature
TristanLuigi
TristanLuigi
  • Member since: Dec. 21, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 20:05:26 Reply

At 10/22/10 07:58 PM, Back-From-Purgatory wrote: Yes, it's built right into FL Studio, no need for external programs, there should be a toggle on the top on the tool bar next to the tempo and pattern (On the right of these 2), is a little toggle showing a picture of what looks like a half keyboard, half piano. Make sure the light beside that is on. And you should now be able to use your keyboard as a ghetto MIDI keyboard.

I'd provide a pic, but I recently reformatted and haven't reinstalled FL Studio again yet.

I see, it's on, and I can press keys to make sounds, but it does not show up as actual notes that arre saved and played back in the Piano Roll, nor anywhere else.


JUST CLICK IT!!!

BBS Signature
Back-From-Purgatory
Back-From-Purgatory
  • Member since: Dec. 11, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 33
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 20:11:49 Reply

At 10/22/10 08:05 PM, TristanLuigi wrote:
At 10/22/10 07:58 PM, Back-From-Purgatory wrote: Yes, it's built right into FL Studio, no need for external programs, there should be a toggle on the top on the tool bar next to the tempo and pattern (On the right of these 2), is a little toggle showing a picture of what looks like a half keyboard, half piano. Make sure the light beside that is on. And you should now be able to use your keyboard as a ghetto MIDI keyboard.

I'd provide a pic, but I recently reformatted and haven't reinstalled FL Studio again yet.
I see, it's on, and I can press keys to make sounds, but it does not show up as actual notes that arre saved and played back in the Piano Roll, nor anywhere else.

I'm just going to assume you know little to nothing about FL Studio just for the sake of making the elimination process easier, as I really don't know how good you are with FL, so don't be offended if this question should seem like a no brainer...

Is the Recording button fully lit? Does the tracker move through the piano roll when you hit play? Keep in mind the notes do not show up until you stop recording.


Audio/BBS Mod
News: Bye bye Skype - Music: Tonight Will Be The Night- Art: Kira
\/\/\/ Click the sig for fun times! \/\/\/

BBS Signature
TristanLuigi
TristanLuigi
  • Member since: Dec. 21, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 20:16:35 Reply

At 10/22/10 08:11 PM, Back-From-Purgatory wrote: I'm just going to assume you know little to nothing about FL Studio just for the sake of making the elimination process easier, as I really don't know how good you are with FL, so don't be offended if this question should seem like a no brainer...

Is the Recording button fully lit? Does the tracker move through the piano roll when you hit play? Keep in mind the notes do not show up until you stop recording.

It's fully lit, and yes I suck and FL Studio XD because I don't know what exactly the tracker is, but I'm guessing it's that little column of lighter color that says the position of the song. And it worked. I think I was fooled into thinking it was not working because the notes don't appear until you hit stop. Oops, lol.


JUST CLICK IT!!!

BBS Signature
Back-From-Purgatory
Back-From-Purgatory
  • Member since: Dec. 11, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 33
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-22 20:19:47 Reply

At 10/22/10 08:16 PM, TristanLuigi wrote:
At 10/22/10 08:11 PM, Back-From-Purgatory wrote: I'm just going to assume you know little to nothing about FL Studio just for the sake of making the elimination process easier, as I really don't know how good you are with FL, so don't be offended if this question should seem like a no brainer...

Is the Recording button fully lit? Does the tracker move through the piano roll when you hit play? Keep in mind the notes do not show up until you stop recording.
It's fully lit, and yes I suck and FL Studio XD because I don't know what exactly the tracker is, but I'm guessing it's that little column of lighter color that says the position of the song. And it worked. I think I was fooled into thinking it was not working because the notes don't appear until you hit stop. Oops, lol.

Yeah, I made the same mistake when I first started using FL Studio, most DAWs the notes show up as their played, not sure if FL waits to lower CPU load or something, but whatever the reason... If that was the problem, awesome. Have fun.


Audio/BBS Mod
News: Bye bye Skype - Music: Tonight Will Be The Night- Art: Kira
\/\/\/ Click the sig for fun times! \/\/\/

BBS Signature
defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-24 12:50:12 Reply

At 10/27/10 07:30 AM, Skeepsis wrote: I used the Master Pitch slider (Just next to the timer in FL Studio 9) to change the overall pitch of one of my songs, but some sections suddenly sounded out of tune and inharmonious, whereas before they sounded perfectly harmonious at the original pitch.
What's going on? Isn't it supposed to change the pitch of everything, so every sounds pitch should be the same relative to the other instruments?

Most likely, you have "enable main pitch" turned off in some of your instruments' channel settings (under the misc tab).

Honestly though, you shouldn't ever change the main pitch. If you want to change key, it's much cleaner if you transpose the notes in the piano roll. If you want to set your song's pitch at a weird tuning "to sound artsy", please don't. It really throws people with perfect pitch off, and anyone who wants to play along or around with your song has to go through the trouble of transposing it.

Finally, please use this thread from now on for FL questions. I know you posted your "mellow lead" query in the FL thread first and didn't get an answer until you made your own thread, but that doesn't mean you should stop using this one.

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-25 18:40:33 Reply

1. You need to switch the midi in/midi out connectors.
2. You don't have the proper drivers installed.
3. You didn't enable your keyboard in the midi settings of FL Studio.

BrandenPosts
BrandenPosts
  • Member since: Mar. 7, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-25 22:57:25 Reply

Heyy so this is a pretty stupid question but w.e i really need the answer =P

so i know how to make loops and beats and change the notes with piano roll, but how would i make the actual song (no loop or anything?)

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-25 23:00:39 Reply

At 10/25/10 10:57 PM, BrandenPosts wrote: Heyy so this is a pretty stupid question but w.e i really need the answer =P

so i know how to make loops and beats and change the notes with piano roll, but how would i make the actual song (no loop or anything?)

take the loops you make in the piano roll/step sequencer, and arrange them on the playlist to organize your song.

The playlist is the big thing on the right

At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-26 09:36:47 Reply

At 10/26/10 08:34 AM, Skeepsis wrote: I got a DirectWave program up in one of my channels. When I play around on the keyboard within DirectWave, the notes have plenty of sustain, which I want. But when I play the instrument with the piano roll, the notes have almost no sustain. Any help?

you dragged the notes as long as you want them to sustain right?


At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-28 00:03:02 Reply

At 10/26/10 04:21 PM, Skeepsis wrote:
At 10/26/10 09:36 AM, Envy wrote:
At 10/26/10 08:34 AM, Skeepsis wrote: I got a DirectWave programBut when I play the instrument with the piano roll, the notes have almost no sustain. Any help?
you dragged the notes as long as you want them to sustain right?
Yeah I did. I don't know what's going on.

Go to the "Zone" tab on the left and change the ADSR to fit your needs.

FEAST
FEAST
  • Member since: Sep. 25, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Programmer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-30 16:03:53 Reply

I have been trying to figure this out for a while now. Typically I export my audio into adobe audition and I am easily able to use dynamics processing to maximize song volume without sacrificing much in the way of dynamics.

However, in FL studio, I cannot seem to work the Fruity limiter (on mixer - master) successfully. It either clips, kills my dynamics and makes the song "swoop" with the beat, or it doesn't get near as loud as other submissions.

So what is the trick? Is the limiter not the tool? Should I be using maximus or multi-band compression?

Here is a link to the song I am trying to make louder:

http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/3 72675

TheHeartgrinder
TheHeartgrinder
  • Member since: Oct. 23, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Artist
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-30 16:32:19 Reply

  • Scars Never Heal
    Scars Never Heal by TheHeartgrinder

    Click to listen.

    Score
    3.40 / 5.00
    Type
    Song
    Genre
    Industrial
    Popularity
    15 Views

This isn't a question or a response to one. I just thought that I would share something that I pumped out on flstudio. I'm working with the free demo version of fruity loops 8 and have to do things all in one whack so keep that in mind. Please rate and comment and I will do my best to return the favor. I am the Heartgrinder.


BBS Signature
Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-10-30 20:09:13 Reply

At 10/30/10 04:32 PM, TheHeartgrinder wrote: http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/3 71186
This isn't a question or a response to one. I just thought that I would share something that I pumped out on flstudio.

This is not the right place for this. Try posting in the audio advertisements thread.

Jnr1114
Jnr1114
  • Member since: Jun. 25, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-01 21:11:50 Reply

How do I merge samples into one piano roll in FL Studio 9?

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-02 11:34:47 Reply

I think what you're looking for is layering, which lets you play multiple channels/samples at the same time using a single piano roll. Add a layer channel to FL Studio. Select in the step sequencer all the channels you want played (ie highlight the green dots next to the channel names.) Then hit set children in the layer's channel settings.

Inacio
Inacio
  • Member since: Sep. 14, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-04 16:11:05 Reply

So, I started FL Studio this September, and I've never touched anything like it before.
The thing is, I just got it, messed around with it and all that. I've never read anything, and I think that might be a big problem.
This is some of the stuff I've made - don't expect good music:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4861882/musikbha wt/diksinuras2.mp3
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4861882/musikbha wt/industrialbeets.mp3
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4861882/musikbha wt/moarbitspls.mp3
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4861882/autismcr aft/rapecraftsong.mp3 - This one was made with Minecraft sounds, someone asked if it was possible.

So, guys, please give me tips, reading material, and all that. As you can see, I really need help.

dietsnapple135
dietsnapple135
  • Member since: Jul. 24, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-04 17:22:31 Reply

At 11/1/10 09:11 PM, Jnr1114 wrote: How do I merge samples into one piano roll in FL Studio 9?

Do you mean, having different instruments play on different keys of the piano roll? Like to put a drum-kit in it? If you do, you want to create a layer, and set all the instruments you want as the layer's children.

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-05 15:45:55 Reply

At 11/4/10 04:11 PM, Inacio wrote: So, I started FL Studio this September, and I've never touched anything like it before.
The thing is, I just got it, messed around with it and all that. I've never read anything, and I think that might be a big problem.
This is some of the stuff I've made - don't expect good music:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4861882/musikbha wt/diksinuras2.mp3
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4861882/musikbha wt/industrialbeets.mp3
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4861882/musikbha wt/moarbitspls.mp3
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4861882/autismcr aft/rapecraftsong.mp3 - This one was made with Minecraft sounds, someone asked if it was possible.

So, guys, please give me tips, reading material, and all that. As you can see, I really need help.

That's not really the point of this thread. The point of this thread is to ask specific or even general questions about the use of FL studio, not ask for tips on your music.


At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

SeeD419
SeeD419
  • Member since: Mar. 24, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 27
Programmer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-06 05:36:12 Reply

I have a rather strange question and I hope I'm just a noob and get an easy fix for this...

I use my computer's keyboard in FL and the keys always stick in FL and it's really irritating. I've googled with no results to various searches...strange I would have thought that would have happened to someone else...

Is that a basic function in FL? Or is this just an issue on my PC?

Oh, and there's a plug-in in FL called the "Fruity keyboard controller" with a button that says "auto release when no key is pressed." Doesn't solve the issue though.


Minecraft server: proxa.co
PortalWatch 0.1 Alpha - Download
Sig by illicit

BBS Signature
KrisSumara
KrisSumara
  • Member since: Jan. 24, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 20
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-06 06:57:14 Reply

At 11/6/10 05:36 AM, SeeD419 wrote: I have a rather strange question and I hope I'm just a noob and get an easy fix for this...

I use my computer's keyboard in FL and the keys always stick in FL and it's really irritating. I've googled with no results to various searches...strange I would have thought that would have happened to someone else...

Is that a basic function in FL? Or is this just an issue on my PC?

Oh, and there's a plug-in in FL called the "Fruity keyboard controller" with a button that says "auto release when no key is pressed." Doesn't solve the issue though.

So when ever you play something on your PC keyboard the notes don't fade away but keep on playing?

Well check you vst that you are using and check if you have some kind of "hold" feature and click it off. I'm not sure how to fix this but I would check out the vst that you are using or check the settings on your MIDI control in the settings pages in FL.


BBS Signature
defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-06 10:37:16 Reply

At 11/6/10 05:36 AM, SeeD419 wrote:
I use my computer's keyboard in FL and the keys always stick in FL and it's really irritating. I've googled with no results to various searches...strange I would have thought that would have happened to someone else...

This happens to me too, but only when I switch focus (e.g. when I open a menu in FL Studio) while holding down a note. What happens is FL Studio remembers you are holding down a note, but doesn't receive the note release signal since you switched focus.

Oh, and there's a plug-in in FL called the "Fruity keyboard controller" with a button that says "auto release when no key is pressed." Doesn't solve the issue though.

I've never really played with this, but I always assumed it was useless.

At 11/6/10 01:53 AM, SeeD419 wrote: I was trying to match a piano I heard in another song for a lark mostly and I realized earlier that I had messed with like 25 different settings and it was super close but still not exact. My question is, does FL studio have the potential to match this sound? How much potential lies in this program really?

Oh god, infinite. First of all, there are probably hundreds of piano sounds available for free. Once you find one you like, you can change: EQ, compression, reverb, delay, chorus/unison, etc, etc, etc.

You can get a ton of piano sounds just using FL Keys and effects. There are knobs to fiddle with inside the plugin, and some good effects to add (which can dramatically improve the sound) are Fruity Reeverb 2, Fruity Parametric Eq 2, and Fruity Compressor.