Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 481,018 Views
  • 6,767 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
bassaaphex
bassaaphex
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-29 04:27:52 Reply

Just a quick question here.

Im thinking about buying fuityloops, i have the trial version and everything but im just wondering which edition i should be buying? Which one of the packages was the trial version released as?

Any help is appreciated ;)

B0UNC3
B0UNC3
  • Member since: Jan. 4, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-29 05:17:03 Reply

I think the trial is producer edition. but aim for XXL, thats definetly the best buy, but cost quite abit.

Fuzzay
Fuzzay
  • Member since: Dec. 3, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-29 19:04:05 Reply

I am having trouble's with FL 6, Everytime a save anything and try to open what i saved it's say's that the file is corrupted. )= please help. (I am not sure if this has been covered before... But i didn't find it sooooooo)

TjA
TjA
  • Member since: Oct. 30, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-29 19:53:15 Reply

At 4/25/06 08:27 PM, AmeerThePrince wrote: ..hm, I don't think thats answering my quesition. I think when I said "keys" you assumed I ment in the appliacation, the Fl studio keyboard. That's not what I ment. I'm talking about the input deviece the physical keyboard. When pressing the physical keyboard it'll play like a actual piano.

i have no idea sorry...


BBS Signature
WastedWizard
WastedWizard
  • Member since: Jan. 8, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-02 11:27:58 Reply

I downloaded it today but I don't get it, I can make a very small tune using the pic below but that is only a secondor two. How do you make a proper song. I know this is a lame question but I have never used this software. Thanks.

TjA
TjA
  • Member since: Oct. 30, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-02 18:08:26 Reply

At 5/2/06 11:27 AM, WastedWizard wrote: I downloaded it today but I don't get it, I can make a very small tune using the pic below but that is only a secondor two. How do you make a proper song. I know this is a lame question but I have never used this software. Thanks.

a small guide on what you need to get started...

i guess

Ask your FruityLoops questions here


BBS Signature
WastedWizard
WastedWizard
  • Member since: Jan. 8, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-03 11:46:30 Reply

At 5/2/06 06:08 PM, TJA wrote: a small guide on what you need to get started...
i guess

That sort of helps thanks but how do I actually create stuff because you can hit the keys but how do you make it record it?

TjA
TjA
  • Member since: Oct. 30, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-03 12:20:55 Reply

At 5/3/06 11:46 AM, WastedWizard wrote:
At 5/2/06 06:08 PM, TJA wrote: a small guide on what you need to get started...
i guess
That sort of helps thanks but how do I actually create stuff because you can hit the keys but how do you make it record it?

by clicking on the little squares in line with the key you want to press...


BBS Signature
Talin-Ronyo
Talin-Ronyo
  • Member since: Apr. 15, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-03 22:01:38 Reply

I have a .fxb file for a sound bank, but I don't know what to do to get it in FL... I'm sure it's not that complicated, but I haven't done it before :P

TjA
TjA
  • Member since: Oct. 30, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-04 11:28:13 Reply

At 5/3/06 10:01 PM, Talin_Ronyo wrote: I have a .fxb file for a sound bank, but I don't know what to do to get it in FL... I'm sure it's not that complicated, but I haven't done it before :P

i think you put it in the folder with all the sounds in...look at the fruity loops folder on C: drive and put it in packs or whatever...
hope this helps


BBS Signature
Talin-Ronyo
Talin-Ronyo
  • Member since: Apr. 15, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-17 01:39:00 Reply

At 5/4/06 11:28 AM, TJA wrote:
At 5/3/06 10:01 PM, Talin_Ronyo wrote: I have a .fxb file for a sound bank, but I don't know what to do to get it in FL... I'm sure it's not that complicated, but I haven't done it before :P
i think you put it in the folder with all the sounds in...look at the fruity loops folder on C: drive and put it in packs or whatever...
hope this helps

it still didn't work. any other ideas?

also, i have another question- someone (i don't remember who) said "gate effects are vital" to make trance... could someone tell me what gate effects are, what they do, and how to use them?

Chef-Jogger
Chef-Jogger
  • Member since: Dec. 18, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-18 17:10:20 Reply

At 5/15/06 08:07 PM, -Ocelot- wrote:
It's cash nubcakes =) .

I know it's cash, but I was just curious of you can either pay cash or credit card for fruity loops. And "nubcakes" is an insult. Please don't rub it in if it is. I appreciate it. I was just curious, that's all.

Curious if you either pay credit card or cash.
ImperfectDisciple
ImperfectDisciple
  • Member since: Apr. 14, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-18 19:12:13 Reply

Cash or credit should work, lol.

-Anyways, I've got my own question. How would one go off and make 32-note fills?


BBS Signature
Chao-Guy
Chao-Guy
  • Member since: Jan. 15, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-19 13:48:54 Reply

I realy need help, im completly new to music (I know tempo means speed, but thats it)
So could someone tell me as simply as possible, how to make remixes on FL 6? (If this kind of post isn't alowed/n00bish, im sorry as i didn't read the whole thing)


"This is where I'd say something witty and wise; for all the world to see.........................damn."
Click my account for music. Sig by shinebrite.

BBS Signature
RyeGuyHead
RyeGuyHead
  • Member since: Sep. 29, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 23
Programmer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-19 16:00:23 Reply

At 5/19/06 01:48 PM, Chao_Guy wrote: I realy need help, im completly new to music (I know tempo means speed, but thats it)
So could someone tell me as simply as possible, how to make remixes on FL 6? (If this kind of post isn't alowed/n00bish, im sorry as i didn't read the whole thing)

Depends on what remixes really...
The easiest way would be to directly import a song file into the playlist, and then tinker...around...

BUT i do have a question as well.

How does one create triplets on a sequencer-piano roll?
Is there a toolbar im just missing?


Developer by day; Deviant by night

PERVOK
PERVOK
  • Member since: Apr. 18, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-19 16:52:17 Reply

At 5/18/06 07:12 PM, SuperDrummer146 wrote: -Anyways, I've got my own question. How would one go off and make 32-note fills?

32 note? Lemme count that out...

Oh, thats simply doing 8 strokes per beat. I think that should be simple enough, yes?


pervokative.bandcamp.com

pervokatively provocative perverted person

PERVOK
PERVOK
  • Member since: Apr. 18, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-19 16:54:54 Reply

At 5/19/06 04:00 PM, RyeGuyHead wrote: How does one create triplets on a sequencer-piano roll?
Is there a toolbar im just missing?

In the place where you can choose 'line', or 'none', or stuff like that in the drop down menu in FL, just change it to '1/3 beat' (I think thats what its called... its 1/3 SOMETHING) and that should be it. When you go in the piano roll, there will only be 12th notes, and not 16th.


pervokative.bandcamp.com

pervokatively provocative perverted person

Chao-Guy
Chao-Guy
  • Member since: Jan. 15, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-20 07:20:49 Reply

At 5/19/06 04:00 PM, RyeGuyHead wrote: Depends on what remixes really...
The easiest way would be to directly import a song file into the playlist, and then tinker...around...

How do you import a song? (I'll be doing video game remixes BTW)


"This is where I'd say something witty and wise; for all the world to see.........................damn."
Click my account for music. Sig by shinebrite.

BBS Signature
Fronze
Fronze
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-20 07:27:23 Reply

Well,i just bought FL but i can only make 3 second loops,how do i make them longer?

RyeGuyHead
RyeGuyHead
  • Member since: Sep. 29, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 23
Programmer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-21 18:22:09 Reply

At 5/20/06 07:20 AM, Chao_Guy wrote:
At 5/19/06 04:00 PM, RyeGuyHead wrote: Depends on what remixes really...
The easiest way would be to directly import a song file into the playlist, and then tinker...around...
How do you import a song? (I'll be doing video game remixes BTW)

I believe you need an mp3 or .wav song file and you just click on the bottom of the playlist where it says something about importing. That ought to bring up a menu where you just click import song.

But .... my problem with triplets remains. I need to do them on a piano roll on reason, sorry Zenon....

I think it has something to do with quantinizing the notes
Am i right?


Developer by day; Deviant by night

MaestroSorrow
MaestroSorrow
  • Member since: Jan. 5, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-23 16:08:54 Reply

At 5/20/06 07:20 AM, Chao_Guy wrote:
How do you import a song? (I'll be doing video game remixes BTW)

For video game remixes you'll probably be able to find the midi file for that song, go to file>import>midi and click on the file.

You'll get a box showing 16 red boxes, say import all, and you'll have a bunch of blue-ish green boxes.

When you click them you'll notice none of them make sound.

Press f9 and put the Fruity LSD effect.

When the effect shows up, on the top right of that box, you'll see [---]

change that to [ 0]

Press stop, and play again, the instruments should change and play.

Importing wav/mp3 doesn't allow you to get any notes or anything, but the same applies. Or you can press f5 to bring up the playlist.

On the bottom will be a little bar, click on that area, and it'll let you import a mp3/wav/wma and other formatted songs.

Hope that helps.

MaestroSorrow
MaestroSorrow
  • Member since: Jan. 5, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-23 16:12:08 Reply

At 5/20/06 07:27 AM, Ev0lJam wrote: Well,i just bought FL but i can only make 3 second loops,how do i make them longer?

You are using pattern mode, and not loop mode.

Below the play button, is two small buttons labeled Pattern/Song, click song.

Now press f5, a playlist will appear.

The box Pattern 1, should be highlighted automatically. If you press along that line, you should create these boxes. These boxes indicate when you want the notes you put in that pattern to play out.

You can make more patterns by dragging up or down the pattern box, located somewhere near the top right, I can't remember where exactly.

Hope that helped.

lolswords
lolswords
  • Member since: Feb. 8, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-24 03:01:05 Reply

on fruity Loops,how do you change the key of a note/sound clip/whatever? it's hard to explain,but i got it today and i have made a metal loop,and i want a choir-ish backround to match the notes being played on the guitar to make it sound epic,but the choir sound in the backround isn't deep enough and it's in the wrong note so it doesn't go with the song.how could i change this to make it deeper and,say,change the note to a different one?

bassaaphex
bassaaphex
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-24 06:57:09 Reply

hey, this has probally been said before, but what do all the diffrent envelopes do in the playlist? if i take one out it dosent sound diffrent?

PERVOK
PERVOK
  • Member since: Apr. 18, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-24 11:36:20 Reply

RyeGuyHead, its good to ask questions, but asking Reason questions in the FL thread? =/

And Bjra, there is no way to do that. If you want to make automation clips do the same thing but slightly differnt without changing the other one, you have to make another automation clip.


pervokative.bandcamp.com

pervokatively provocative perverted person

MaestroSorrow
MaestroSorrow
  • Member since: Jan. 5, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-25 17:19:28 Reply

At 5/24/06 03:01 AM, Rotten_foreskin- wrote: on fruity Loops,how do you change the key of a note/sound clip/whatever? it's hard to explain,but i got it today and i have made a metal loop,and i want a choir-ish backround to match the notes being played on the guitar to make it sound epic,but the choir sound in the backround isn't deep enough and it's in the wrong note so it doesn't go with the song.how could i change this to make it deeper and,say,change the note to a different one?

Well your problem looks like you're not using the piano roll, by simply clicking on the boxes you're going to get a C note (by default) I believe to the fifth Octave (or C5).

Right click on the choir box, and click piano roll, you will see a matrix grid presented before you, clicking on this grid will generate a bar of a certain length, the length of this bar determines how long the note is played, and to the right you'll see the notes, again depending on where you click on that matrix, different notes will be played.

Wrong note? It could also be the sample you are using. Some poorly crafted samples actually mislead you, a D note, in the sample may come out a C#, also if you use .wav files, the more you move away from the original sound (c5 note), the stranger, and worse it's going to sound.

Hope that helps, if not, email me.

MaestroSorrow
MaestroSorrow
  • Member since: Jan. 5, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-25 17:21:50 Reply

At 5/24/06 06:57 AM, bassaaphex wrote: hey, this has probally been said before, but what do all the diffrent envelopes do in the playlist? if i take one out it dosent sound diffrent?

I don't see any envelopes in the playlist, are you sure its the right place? If it is, can you tell me how you got there O_o.

lolswords
lolswords
  • Member since: Feb. 8, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-26 21:49:34 Reply

I import a song right,it's at it's normal volume,then when do anything on the piano roll,it takes the volume of that audio clip permanantly down anout 80%,how do i stop this?

BLACKNOISE
BLACKNOISE
  • Member since: Aug. 23, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-26 21:51:35 Reply

At 5/26/06 09:49 PM, Rotten_foreskin- wrote: I import a song right,it's at it's normal volume,then when do anything on the piano roll,it takes the volume of that audio clip permanantly down anout 80%,how do i stop this?

That has never happened to me before. Check everywhere the volume culd be affected, the piano roll, the sequencer, the FX bus... check all those master volumes.

BTW, why are you posting with an alt account, rotten foreskin? Did you get banned or something?


I'm Zenon. Stop giving me those weird looks when I have a different name :'(
And I'm submitting music on THIS account now! Check it out instead of on "ZENON" :O

BBS Signature
lolswords
lolswords
  • Member since: Feb. 8, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-05-26 22:22:59 Reply

Don't worry,I got it,stupid me.