Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 362,532 Views
  • 6,513 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Whitekid
Whitekid
  • Member since: May. 29, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 2nd, 2006 @ 01:27 AM Reply

How do you cut up songs like bits of it for YTMND's or background music using FL6?

Perferably from an .Mp3 file.

PERVOK
PERVOK
  • Member since: Apr. 18, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 2nd, 2006 @ 01:31 AM Reply

At 4/2/06 01:27 AM, Whitekid wrote: How do you cut up songs like bits of it for YTMND's or background music using FL6?

Perferably from an .Mp3 file.

Using Audacity, Soundforge, Goldwave, etc, you can open up the MP3 in it, then highlight what you want gone then hit delete (or do whatever the program your using requires you to hit to get rid of what is selected).

BLACKNOISE
BLACKNOISE
  • Member since: Aug. 23, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 2nd, 2006 @ 01:36 AM Reply

At 4/2/06 01:27 AM, Whitekid wrote: How do you cut up songs like bits of it for YTMND's or background music using FL6?

Perferably from an .Mp3 file.

Oh shit sorry, this is -zenon-'s alt account.
I didnt read your post right.

Ok, go in FL, open up an 'audio clip', then go to the little file thing and open up your MP3 you wanna slice, and then when you open it, then click on the little place on the sequencer that you can put like, automation clips and samples and stuff, then switch your clicker to the knife tool, then cut away whatever you want gone.

Observe:

Ask your FruityLoops questions here


I'm Zenon. Stop giving me those weird looks when I have a different name :'(
And I'm submitting music on THIS account now! Check it out instead of on "ZENON" :O

BBS Signature
Whitekid
Whitekid
  • Member since: May. 29, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 2nd, 2006 @ 01:40 AM Reply

At 4/2/06 01:31 AM, -ZENON- wrote:
At 4/2/06 01:27 AM, Whitekid wrote: How do you cut up songs like bits of it for YTMND's or background music using FL6?

Perferably from an .Mp3 file.
Using Audacity, Soundforge, Goldwave, etc, you can open up the MP3 in it, then highlight what you want gone then hit delete (or do whatever the program your using requires you to hit to get rid of what is selected).

HAHAHA I GOT IT!!!

Thanks a lot man!!!

But its seriously not possible with FL6?

PERVOK
PERVOK
  • Member since: Apr. 18, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 2nd, 2006 @ 01:42 AM Reply

At 4/2/06 01:40 AM, Whitekid wrote:
But its seriously not possible with FL6?

I read your post wrong, and then posted with my alt account z3n0n on how to do it with FL.

Whitekid
Whitekid
  • Member since: May. 29, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 2nd, 2006 @ 01:48 AM Reply

At 4/2/06 01:42 AM, -ZENON- wrote:
At 4/2/06 01:40 AM, Whitekid wrote:
But its seriously not possible with FL6?
I read your post wrong, and then posted with my alt account z3n0n on how to do it with FL.

oh ok thanks a lot for that too!

I got it for Audacity and FL now :D

Distortzion
Distortzion
  • Member since: Jan. 27, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 2nd, 2006 @ 04:49 AM Reply

And what is the latest version of FLStudio and is there a free update or a purchaseble one?
You don't update FL...you buy the newest one. The newest is FL 6, and its not much better than FL 5, but since i don't have it, im just going to say the hype. I hear it has better mastering capabilites and its less harder on your CPU.

Yup, FL6 is nicer against your CPU =)


Worship.

BBS Signature
TjA
TjA
  • Member since: Oct. 30, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 2nd, 2006 @ 10:15 AM Reply

At 4/2/06 01:36 AM, Z3N0N wrote: Observe:

oh thats what he meant...


BBS Signature
natemasterbates
natemasterbates
  • Member since: Aug. 8, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 12th, 2006 @ 04:14 AM Reply

Me=Newb

where can i find some free Electric guitar loops? i looked everywhere (the first 2 pages of google search) but the only ones i find cost money.

gr0ss
gr0ss
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 14th, 2006 @ 10:49 PM Reply

I would very much like to Creat Ambient or Trance music. How would I go about doing that in Fruity Loops? The effects and stuff or what ever. >: ( It's been like a year since I used FL, I forget everything

Unbrekable
Unbrekable
  • Member since: Sep. 6, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 14th, 2006 @ 10:52 PM Reply

At 4/14/06 10:49 PM, Mac-Beth wrote: I would very much like to Creat Ambient or Trance music. How would I go about doing that in Fruity Loops? The effects and stuff or what ever. >: ( It's been like a year since I used FL, I forget everything

First, Set if you have your bases already (like... you know your stuff a bit) Then set up your drums and bases, then go and get a "Pad" instrument. So it's like wavy, and not precise, prefect for your uses. Then go ahead and play with that. If you need more precision feel free to contact me i'll help you.


Xbox 360 ; August 2006 - June 25th 2008

BBS Signature
Unbrekable
Unbrekable
  • Member since: Sep. 6, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 14th, 2006 @ 10:56 PM Reply

At 4/12/06 04:14 AM, natemasterbates wrote: Me=Newb

where can i find some free Electric guitar loops? i looked everywhere (the first 2 pages of google search) but the only ones i find cost money.

They are kinda hard to find... try to get them from songs here maybe, but it's really useful to know how to do them yourself... or use some that they give with Fl studio :(


Xbox 360 ; August 2006 - June 25th 2008

BBS Signature
gr0ss
gr0ss
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 14th, 2006 @ 11:05 PM Reply

At 4/14/06 10:52 PM, D3C4r7 wrote:
First, Set if you have your bases already (like... you know your stuff a bit) Then set up your drums and bases, then go and get a "Pad" instrument. So it's like wavy, and not precise, prefect for your uses. Then go ahead and play with that. If you need more precision feel free to contact me i'll help you.

Oh my! Thank you very much!

BLACKNOISE
BLACKNOISE
  • Member since: Aug. 23, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 14th, 2006 @ 11:31 PM Reply

At 4/14/06 10:52 PM, D3C4r7 wrote: First, Set if you have your bases already (like... you know your stuff a bit) Then set up your drums and bases, then go and get a "Pad" instrument. So it's like wavy, and not precise, prefect for your uses. Then go ahead and play with that. If you need more precision feel free to contact me i'll help you.

Good, but you failed to explain the purpose of all of the main essentials of electronic music >:(

In nearly every song, there is percussion. Theres different styles of percussion, and for trance/techno, the percussion is ment to be a steady 4 beat, with flow in it. No 4 beat, it feels unfinished, and no flow, and its very unapealing(SP?). As for ambient, percussion doesn't really matter. Its about relxation, if you choose to have percussion, make it subtle. Unless you like it loud, then be my guest.

The bassline is usualy what drives the song. Some say its the melody, others say the pad, and yet others say the drums. All of those contribute, but what is one of the only instruments playing in the song? The bass. What adds a hell of a lot of rythym in both ambient AND trance? Bass. The bass makes everything melodic, so never brush the bass off and make a cheap bass synth, or make it unmelodic or something that would ruin the song.

The melody, in either ambient or trance, can or cannot exist. Yes, trance builds up to something, and it needs something to top it off, but the melody always doesn't need to be there. The irst trance songs ever made were repeitious patterns playing with no melody, and if you listened, the song told a story, or so it seemed. If you have a melody, make it powerful. If you don't, make the rest of the song count.
Ambient melodies... err... if anything, most melodies in ambient are all mistakes, and completely unintenional. That, unless, you choose to have a melodic, yet subtle, melody. Keep it smooth though, as is the purpose of ambient.

D3C4r7 said that you should HAVE to play around with a pad. Now, the purpose of a pad is nearly for the same reason that the bassline is there, only that it isn't as nessecary. If the song sounds empty, then add a pad to fill up the empty spaces and make it seem more firm.
Now you migt be asking what a pad is.
A pad is any instrument that goes on for a long time, and fills space, and is subtle. Electonic phased synths, orchaestras, deep basses, all qualify as pads.
Its also a good idea to make the pad follow the bassline, but if you think it sounds better otherwise, then go with it.

There, that should help you out, Mac-Beth.


I'm Zenon. Stop giving me those weird looks when I have a different name :'(
And I'm submitting music on THIS account now! Check it out instead of on "ZENON" :O

BBS Signature
TjA
TjA
  • Member since: Oct. 30, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 15th, 2006 @ 11:42 AM Reply

does fruity loops have a decent piano sound i checked the 3x Osc...none there and the synths and sytruses and none there where is the damn piano!!! (oh i found a bunch of piano sound things but they sound like the piano setting you'd get off a keyboard)


BBS Signature
gr0ss
gr0ss
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 15th, 2006 @ 12:57 PM Reply

Much freaking love to you Z3N0N! <3333333 That was very detailed. <333

Feral-Fox
Feral-Fox
  • Member since: Sep. 7, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 16th, 2006 @ 12:08 AM Reply

At 4/15/06 11:42 AM, TJA wrote: does fruity loops have a decent piano sound i checked the 3x Osc...none there and the synths and sytruses and none there where is the damn piano!!! (oh i found a bunch of piano sound things but they sound like the piano setting you'd get off a keyboard)

Try Plugin Presets > Genorators > Fl Keys

gr0ss
gr0ss
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 16th, 2006 @ 01:07 PM Reply

How would I slice something?

Feral-Fox
Feral-Fox
  • Member since: Sep. 7, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 16th, 2006 @ 04:06 PM Reply

There are a few ways.
Simplest is to use fruityslicer.

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

gr0ss
gr0ss
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 16th, 2006 @ 05:52 PM Reply

May I ask what a VST is or a VSTi?

Feral-Fox
Feral-Fox
  • Member since: Sep. 7, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 16th, 2006 @ 08:31 PM Reply

its like a plugin.

Bluntly, its a vurtual instrament.

Shanetheguy
Shanetheguy
  • Member since: Feb. 3, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 17th, 2006 @ 02:07 AM Reply

how does the vocoder work, and how can i put my own sounds in the program....like my voice

JesusSaves
JesusSaves
  • Member since: Dec. 2, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 20th, 2006 @ 06:28 PM Reply

Fading in and out...how is it done?

R00ts
R00ts
  • Member since: Oct. 23, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 20th, 2006 @ 06:35 PM Reply

Automation clips set to the volume knobs of either an instrument, and FX track, or the master volume.Right click on the desired know, select create automation clip. Then go to the playlist, and below the pattern sequencer click once in the box below, which looks somewhat similar. A controller is created. Deselect the controller by right clicking next to the controller, then drag the upper right hand side of the controller to the desured length, select the top to move it into position, then inside the controller right click to creat the desired volume path. You can figure everything else out from there. Alternatively, some audio apps offer this as a preset option, but that is post rendering, less capable, and I don't know which ones do that.

TumbleWeedPro
TumbleWeedPro
  • Member since: Mar. 16, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 21st, 2006 @ 04:35 PM Reply

OK guys, I have a problem, I made this lil beat in fruity loops but recorded it with audacity because I did not need to make an entire song for the small beat. The problem is that when I import it to flash ( i have professional 8) it always gets warped. And totally messes the sound quality up. can anyone help me out?

UnknownFear
UnknownFear
  • Member since: Feb. 27, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 37
Gamer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 22nd, 2006 @ 09:13 PM Reply

I ahve a question about making a certin genre in FruityLoops. How do you make remixes of video game songs?

D-man17
D-man17
  • Member since: Apr. 12, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 24th, 2006 @ 08:51 AM Reply

Here's a question , where do I download Fruity Loops?
D-man.

B0UNC3
B0UNC3
  • Member since: Jan. 4, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 24th, 2006 @ 09:50 AM Reply

Here's another question, why don't you read the stickies?
And another one. If you don't find it in the stickies, why don't you try Gooohgulle ?


CenterWall | Soundcloud | Facebook | Twitter

TjA
TjA
  • Member since: Oct. 30, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 24th, 2006 @ 04:09 PM Reply

At 4/20/06 06:28 PM, -Steve- wrote: Fading in and out...how is it done?

Pan-O-Matic on the plug-in


BBS Signature
R00ts
R00ts
  • Member since: Oct. 23, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here Apr. 24th, 2006 @ 07:11 PM Reply

At 4/24/06 08:51 AM, D-man17 wrote: Here's a question , where do I download Fruity Loops?
D-man.

You can get the trial at FL's Homepage