Be a Supporter!
1337-Lock
1337-Lock
  • Member since: Sep. 14, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-01-18 22:06:10 Reply

Thank you, this helped me out alot.
But I have it playing on two frames, and when you go back to the first one, it starts it over, while the first one is still playing

Agent-Brown
Agent-Brown
  • Member since: Jan. 13, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-02-07 17:42:02 Reply

Well here is my problem.

I want to do a previous and a next button for music soundtrack. What I mean is I dont want to have a button for each song. So now I dont know how to do a script that will each time jump to the next, or to the previous one.

wtfuguys
wtfuguys
  • Member since: May. 30, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-04-27 08:50:47 Reply

How do I make the sound loop? I am really bad with programming shit. Seriously. I start freaking out if I have to look at it too long.


.

edit-undo
edit-undo
  • Member since: Jan. 17, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 19
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-05-10 17:29:53 Reply

At 10/1/05 06:04 PM, Rammer wrote: it loads a sound dynamically from a URL. works kinda like this

loadSound("http://rammerzworld.com/sound.m
p3", true)

OK, so I use that to load a sound from the URL... but how do I get the sound to play? In other words, could you/someone please show me an example code with that function in?


...

BBS Signature
edit-undo
edit-undo
  • Member since: Jan. 17, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 19
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-05-15 14:21:09 Reply

At 5/10/07 05:29 PM, edit-undo wrote: OK, so I use that to load a sound from the URL... but how do I get the sound to play? In other words, could you/someone please show me an example code with that function in?

Hulp plz :D


...

BBS Signature
GustTheASGuy
GustTheASGuy
  • Member since: Nov. 2, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-05-15 14:25:57 Reply

Open the Help panel, open AS2 reference, classes, Sound.


BBS Signature
UnmutteringMatt
UnmutteringMatt
  • Member since: Aug. 3, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-05-31 11:22:32 Reply

I am making a jump sound effect for a platformer, so I altered the code in the tut slightly... only problem with it is that if you hold down "up" while jumping it keeps on playing the sound over and over. (Not a loop, it just senses that you are holding down up.) Is there a way to stop that from happening?

This is the code I have for the character MC:

on (keyPress "<up>") {
_root.Sound01.gotoAndPlay(2);
}

And the sound clip is in an MC:

First frame code:
stop();

Last frame code:
gotoAndStop(1);

TIA

UnmutteringMatt
UnmutteringMatt
  • Member since: Aug. 3, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-05-31 16:22:49 Reply

Anyone?

atomicone
atomicone
  • Member since: May. 21, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-05-31 17:07:02 Reply

you might try this instead of keypress

if(Key.isDown(Key.UP)) {

but thats just me

Cauterised
Cauterised
  • Member since: Jun. 9, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-06-24 21:59:38 Reply

At 10/21/06 06:24 PM, 23450 wrote:
that has nothing to do with this tutorial, its because the format of the song your importing is not reconized by flash. what format is it in? it should be mp3 or wav ro work properly.

I'm having the exact same problem, and its in mp3 format, whats the problem?

solid-omar
solid-omar
  • Member since: Sep. 1, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-07-04 04:46:40 Reply

sorry i know my questis is not about the tutorial(AS sound) but it is still a sound , i cannot import mp3s, what should i do?

solid-omar
solid-omar
  • Member since: Sep. 1, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-07-04 05:16:33 Reply

At 7/4/07 04:46 AM, solid-omar wrote: sorry i know my questis is not about the tutorial(AS sound) but it is still a sound , i cannot import mp3s, what should i do?

btw i tryed to export it as wav in audacity it didnt work either

edit-undo
edit-undo
  • Member since: Jan. 17, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 19
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-08-08 16:35:32 Reply

I'm having, a problem I'm defining 4 sound variables early on in my game, and at places in the game I will tell one to stop and the next one to start. However, when I tell one sound to stop, they ALL stop, and when I tell one to start, they ALL start. Same thing happens if I try to set the volume for just one of them, it affects all of them. How can I fix this?


...

BBS Signature
Denvish
Denvish
  • Member since: Apr. 25, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 46
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-08-08 17:14:30 Reply

At 8/8/07 04:35 PM, edit-undo wrote: I'm having, a problem I'm defining 4 sound variables early on in my game, and at places in the game I will tell one to stop and the next one to start. However, when I tell one sound to stop, they ALL stop, and when I tell one to start, they ALL start. Same thing happens if I try to set the volume for just one of them, it affects all of them. How can I fix this?

Yes. By default, any pan or volume setting will affect all the sounds created with actionscript. To mess with individual sounds, create a movieclip and assign the sound to that movieclip. This way, you can pan and adjust volume on individual sounds

createEmptyMovieClip("SA", 56788);
createEmptyMovieClip("SB", 56789);

Death=new Sound(SA);Death.attachSound("death");
Pop=new Sound(SB);Pop.attachSound("pop");

Death.setPan(-100);Death.start();
Pop.setPan(100);Pop.start();

etc


- - Flash - Music - Images - -

BBS Signature
edit-undo
edit-undo
  • Member since: Jan. 17, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 19
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-08-08 17:52:43 Reply

At 8/8/07 05:14 PM, Denvish wrote: <useful stuff>

Cool, thanks.


...

BBS Signature
Sparkwattclock
Sparkwattclock
  • Member since: Sep. 26, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-09-30 20:35:08 Reply

Guys how do you get sound from the audio portal to a flah movie or game your making?


Spy vs. Pyro = Spy win
Spy vs Heavy = Spy win
Spy vs Demo = Spy win Catch my drift?

sandypaw
sandypaw
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-09-30 20:38:49 Reply

At 9/30/07 08:35 PM, Sparkwattclock wrote: Guys how do you get sound from the audio portal to a flah movie or game your making?

Great question... I think its in the f.a.q
</sarcasm>


=3

Sparkwattclock
Sparkwattclock
  • Member since: Sep. 26, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-09-30 20:42:49 Reply

Dude thanks, but i'm new here and this is my first time with flash.


Spy vs. Pyro = Spy win
Spy vs Heavy = Spy win
Spy vs Demo = Spy win Catch my drift?

Sparkwattclock
Sparkwattclock
  • Member since: Sep. 26, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-09-30 20:55:59 Reply

Guys I can't find it in the audio portal FAQ? Can somebody help me with this?


Spy vs. Pyro = Spy win
Spy vs Heavy = Spy win
Spy vs Demo = Spy win Catch my drift?

asp1988
asp1988
  • Member since: Jun. 1, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-10-06 11:21:46 Reply

another usefull thread denvish, i find using the style mentioned last (that you use) is a slightly better method then what i was using, so thanks for helping my improve my techniques.

sandypaw
sandypaw
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-10-06 12:21:21 Reply

At 9/30/07 08:55 PM, Sparkwattclock wrote: Guys I can't find it in the audio portal FAQ? Can somebody help me with this?

Find your song and hit the download button. after than the numbers before the bname go on the credits in the flash portal submission place
</helpful>


=3

Sparkwattclock
Sparkwattclock
  • Member since: Sep. 26, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-10-07 16:37:06 Reply

At 10/6/07 12:21 PM, sandypaw wrote:
At 9/30/07 08:55 PM, Sparkwattclock wrote: Guys I can't find it in the audio portal FAQ? Can somebody help me with this?
Find your song and hit the download button. after than the numbers before the bname go on the credits in the flash portal submission place
</helpful>

Thanks


Spy vs. Pyro = Spy win
Spy vs Heavy = Spy win
Spy vs Demo = Spy win Catch my drift?

MOC-Productions
MOC-Productions
  • Member since: Mar. 27, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Filmmaker
Response to AS: Sound 2007-10-21 02:25:54 Reply

Ok. This seems like a good forum to post this problem in. So lets say I have a flash movie with a bunch of scenes, all containing sounds. All of my sounds have been put into a movie clip layer and when exporting, everything works out fine. No sound delays or anything. There's just one problem. Lets say I want to pause the movie. (the only way I've tested this so far is just by right clicking and hitting pause so maybe there's another solution). Anyway, when the movie pauses, the sound keeps playing...like what an event sound does. I am positive all my sounds in the MC's are streams so it can't be that I'm exporting events. I don't know why this happens. If I were to incorporate a pause button in my movie with the "stop" function, is this still going to happen. If so, is there a way around it? Help...

-MasterofCarnage

MOC-Productions
MOC-Productions
  • Member since: Mar. 27, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Filmmaker
Response to AS: Sound 2007-10-22 03:10:33 Reply

Lol...anyone?

Gustavos
Gustavos
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-10-30 00:11:21 Reply

har


I usually frequent the VG and collaboration Forums. If you find me anywhere else, I'm lost and can't find my way back.

donutmanbob
donutmanbob
  • Member since: Oct. 21, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-11-01 23:45:26 Reply

when ever i load a sound it says one or more files were not imported because of problems reading them

donutmanbob
donutmanbob
  • Member since: Oct. 21, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2007-11-01 23:47:24 Reply

At 10/21/06 06:24 PM, 23450 wrote:
At 10/21/06 06:23 PM, Stobble wrote: Err, i Still don't get it... It says that the music i import has trouble being read or something... So i can't really post anything on newgrounds 'cause they're always blammed because of no sounds... w\e help plz.
that has nothing to do with this tutorial, its because the format of the song your importing is not reconized by flash. what format is it in? it should be mp3 or wav ro work properly.

thats happening to me too and ive triedd it in both mp3 a
and wav im pissed

FearistheMindKiller
FearistheMindKiller
  • Member since: Mar. 5, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2008-03-05 03:34:27 Reply

I am making a music video currently... My problem is that it syncs up when i have the music in its own layer but it wont carry on to the next scene.. When i use the "bgSound = new Sound(this);
bgSound.attachSound("music"); bgSound.start(0,99);" code it plays through each scene but doesn't sync up... is there anyway i can stream the music using actionscript so it syncs up and plays through multiple scenes?

neon-dude
neon-dude
  • Member since: Mar. 15, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2008-04-18 12:50:56 Reply

At 8/15/05 07:09 AM, azzazin wrote: im in scene 2 and frame 1 theres a on button for music i tipe in it this
on (press){
gotoandplay(scene 2, 1)
}
doesnt work :/
on (press){
gotoandplay('scene 2', 1)
}
doesnt work , and all similiar thigs dont work what to do?

replace gotoandplay with gotoAndPlay. Needs capital A and P or it won't work. It should turn blue if you do it right.


"just because idiots are great in number does not mean they're not idiots" - alicetheDroog
The Atheist Army|English Gentleman's Club
Sig censored by: SevenSeize

BBS Signature
mayoarm11
mayoarm11
  • Member since: Jun. 13, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Blank Slate
Response to AS: Sound 2008-05-04 05:35:54 Reply

I'm sorry if this question is 'foolish' by any means, but I've read through the entire tutorial, and still couldn't find an answer to my problem.
I want a different sound to play for each value of a certain variable, for instance:

if(_root.Var == 1)
//play sound 1
if(_root.var==2)
//play sound 2

and so on... help anyone?


Awesome turret game in the making, featuring 85 uniqe turrets: News post

BBS Signature