ComX
ComX
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 05
Blank Slate
(AS2) Reflex game help needed 2017-05-04 04:25:52 Reply

Hello
I'm trying to make a flash game similar to "Dragon's Lair" in which the animation flows until there's a moment where you need to press a specified button in a short amount of time to progress, or it's game over. I'm not very good with Flash programming (the only one I vaguely understand is AS2) so I'm turning for help to this forum.
I mostly do everything on frames and how I imagine it at the moment is like in this video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i6em4GRiRY0
When the animation arrives at a certain frame, an element will flash and display which button to press (WASD, not by clicking) and if the button isn't pressed within a few seconds (+/-) it disappears and leads to a frame labeled "GameOver_#", but if it's pressed it leads to frame labeled "Continue_#", and so on until it reaches "Ending". Basically a reflex game.

The problem is I don't know how to make a button like that, so could anyone please help?

My rough idea for the button code is:

(start timer)
on (keyPress"<W>") {
gotoAndPlay(Continue_#);
stop();
}
on (keyPress"<A>") {
gotoAndPlay(GameOver_#);
stop();
}
on (keyPress"<S>") {
gotoAndPlay(GameOver_#);
stop();
}
on (keyPress"<D>") {
gotoAndPlay(GameOver_#);
stop();
}
(if timer runs out)
gotoAndPlay(GameOver_#);

GeoKureli
GeoKureli
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 20
Game Developer

At 5/4/17 04:25 AM, ComX wrote: Hello

Made a test fla (via flash CS6)
http://www.newgrounds.com/dump/item/cbe86f6cc51e9dd5e2f5c04652a79b28

It's As3 because I've forgotten everything about as2, and you should too.

It works by tracking keyboard presses, and if you're on the frame "action_1" and press "W" it goes to "press_W_1", or if that frame doesn't exist it goes to "press_any_1" (if it exists). no matter what action your on, it will take that number and determine the "press" frame to go to.

try it out, here.

the code is literally just: