00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Matilly just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Switching from Actionscript?

572 Views | 6 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Switching from Actionscript? 2017-02-08 16:47:56

I've been using Actionscript for a couple of years now, first starting with AS2 and then AS3.

I've been developing a really big game for the past few months in Flash, which has been rather difficult since my library is filled with like, 800 symbols.

When I also publish my executable and open it, it runs below 25FPS, when it should be a smooth 60.
It pretty much just displays a foreground and a background, which contains one animated character. They both move at different speeds to give it that 3d parallex look.

Should I go learn a different language like Java or C#, or should I just stick with what I know?

Switching from Actionscript?

I'm not that good at signatures.

Response to Switching from Actionscript? 2017-02-11 22:35:06

Consider Haxe+OpenFL, that's what I did a few years ago in a similar situation, and I'm still using it.

If ya have something to say, PM me. I have a lot of time to spare.

Also never PM egg82.

BBS Signature

Response to Switching from Actionscript? 2017-02-11 23:16:30

as 4 lyfe

At 2/8/17 04:47 PM, Geel7989 wrote: I've been using Actionscript for a couple of years now, first starting with AS2 and then AS3.

I've been developing a really big game for the past few months in Flash, which has been rather difficult since my library is

Response to Switching from Actionscript? 2017-02-12 09:55:32

At 2/8/17 04:47 PM, Geel7989 wrote: When I also publish my executable and open it, it runs below 25FPS, when it should be a smooth 60.