00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

kkolo just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Best engine for 2d Platformer Game?

1,906 Views | 7 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

I am looking to create my first video game. I am a CGI student, by the way. My game will be a 2d platformer and it will be in the same style as the earlier Castlevania games which are the games before Castlevania:Symphony of the Night. Also, I don't want the graphics to be squarish like most 2d games I see now but a little more freeform in the terrain the character will be walking on. What is the best game engine that can pull something like this off?

"Get busy living or get busy dying." -Andy Dufresne -The Shawshank Redemption

Response to Best engine for 2d Platformer Game? 2017-01-16 08:00:47

At 1/15/17 09:42 PM, sirleibl wrote: I am looking to create my first video game. I am a CGI student, by the way. My game will be a 2d platformer and it will be in the same style as the earlier Castlevania games which are the games before Castlevania:Symphony of the Night. Also, I don't want the graphics to be squarish like most 2d games I see now but a little more freeform in the terrain the character will be walking on. What is the best game engine that can pull something like this off?

Well its your art work that determine the graphics. Most people make games with squares or rects because that the easiest way to do collision detection, hence the squarish games and sprites. If you want the game to be more freeform you can easily do it in any engine, but having complex shapes will complicate your collision detection quite a bit.