00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Breakfast-Crow just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Tuners and pitch pipes

1,250 Views | 6 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Tuners and pitch pipes 2017-01-14 16:18:23

What tuner or pitch pipe do y'all use? I understand nowadays we even have applications on cell phones to use as tuners, but if I'm honest I've been shunning cell phones from the start (I do have a flip phone, though) so I wouldn't know much anything about that.

I've been using a chromatic Snark for a couple years now and I love it! It's much easier to tune while other people are playing or tuning with their foot pedal tuners than with my regular electronic chromatic tuner that uses a mic. The down side is that it doesn't fit on my baglama or divan saz (google it, it doesn't fit on the peghead).

Response to Tuners and pitch pipes 2017-01-14 18:06:57

One of the many app ukulele tuners out there. Otherwise, I use my innate pitch (perfect/absolute pitch at my disposal).

There is one of those digital tuners lying around in my house but I hardly use it unless I am with multiple people and we all need to have a standard to go by.

Response to Tuners and pitch pipes 2017-01-17 14:52:53 (edited 2017-01-17 14:55:21)

Whichever clip-on tuner costs the least. Especially on the road, tuners get broken all the time, so cheap is good.

When I'm home, I've got a tuner built into my guitar amp I use. I don't need anything like a pitch pipe, I can always just strike a note on the keyboard.

At work, we just tune our drums by ear. Now our guitar and bass players, use Shure wireless packs for their instruments, and these actually have a built in tuner that mutes their instrument over the PA so we use those live.