00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

kawishinto just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Finally confident enough

569 Views | 7 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Sup art-folks ^^
I started drawing rougly 3 years ago and been more or less working on it inbetween university stuff. Most of the time I am drawing digitally, with the occasional and pretty flawed pencil drawing as well as alcohol-markers.
After making some progress recently with some new pieces, I finally feel good enough for them, to share them and more importantly: ask for tipps that are no longer blatantly obvious to myself.

So here is my most burning question: Are there any tipps or videos on layer-management?
Like seriously, I end up with tons of lyers for each and everything. This piece has like 20 or so (don't wanna restart the program to count). And it isn't to complex.

Now to the image, a fanart for Halloween, that wasn't finished in time:

Finally confident enough

Response to Finally confident enough 2016-11-11 08:58:07

Just condense it all to one layer and work on that lmao

Probably not the best person to ask. Layer management isn't even really an art, though, just a general indicator of your confidence in your drawing and your attachment to what you've done.

Don't be afraid to just redraw stuff if layers you keep separated before just mingle now. Drawing is fun after all, isn't?

Another quick tip I'll give you, apart from maybe check out this tutorial is one you may already know; flip your canvas to readjust your perceived sight and quickly spot stuff you want to change.

Anyway hope that helps, congrats on building the confidence to put yourself out there and hope you keep at it!

Finally confident enough

Response to Finally confident enough 2016-11-11 12:47:27 (edited 2016-11-11 12:48:49)