00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

WannabePyx just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Im A C Programmer,Where to start?

1,535 Views | 7 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Hi,im a programmer from SA-MP forum,if you don't know what SA-MP is,its a very popular and addictive multiplayer modification for Gta SanAndreas,i player there for 2 years,ive learned much from there,my English got improved,i learnt programming languages like C,HTML...And in not Pro at them,but now as the SA-MP Dev has announced that he wont make new updates for SA-MP,so it mean that the number of players will also be reduced,so i decided to join another community as SA-MP will be closed soon because (Not confirmed).I wanted to create games,i have little bit of experience with Game Maker 8.1,Game Maker Studio,Blender,Unity 5 and some other small game engines.I need help from your guys to choose which game engineand programming language should i choose next.I have an idea of a 2D Multiplayer TDM/DM game.

Response to Im A C Programmer,Where to start? 2016-07-05 18:04:34

If you already have experience with Unity and know C, then I would say go with Unity. It's a solid engine and uses C# for making games, which is very similar to C, but much, much easier to write. Plus it can deploy to desktop and web, which is a nice bonus.

Response to Im A C Programmer,Where to start? 2016-10-03 19:27:39

If you're fine with using C# (why wouldn't you be? It is a beautiful language), then go with Unity.

It's kind of the obvious "goto" for game development.

If it's a strictly 2D game and fairly simple though, I still highly recommend Construct 2. I have a relative who had zero programming experience make a mobile game (I helped him use the intel xdk and port it out of Construct of course) that is generating a pretty penny right now.