00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

SpeakyDooman just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Best Language for 2D Platformer

1,051 Views | 11 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Best Language for 2D Platformer 2016-06-27 11:49:00

Hi, I'm new to programming and looking to create a 2D platformer. I would like to know the ideal coding language for a 2D platformer that I could have on different platforms like Steam or the Xbox One store.

Response to Best Language for 2D Platformer 2016-06-27 16:26:46

At 6/27/16 11:49 AM, ChildishLemon wrote: Hi, I'm new to programming and looking to create a 2D platformer. I would like to know the ideal coding language for a 2D platformer that I could have on different platforms like Steam or the Xbox One store.

Unity can target both of those platforms, and it's learning curve is a bit easier than pure C# with DirectX or openGL, which is also a viable option

At 6/27/16 04:26 PM, GeoKureli wrote:
At 6/27/16 11:49 AM, ChildishLemon wrote: Hi, I'm new to programming and looking to create a 2D platformer. I would like to know the ideal coding language for a 2D platformer that I could have on different platforms like Steam or the Xbox One store.
Unity can target both of those platforms, and it's learning curve is a bit easier than pure C# with DirectX or openGL, which is also a viable option

Thank you

Would unity be okay if I wanted to make the game with sprites (sorry if this is a silly question I really don't know much)

Response to Best Language for 2D Platformer 2016-06-27 16:59:27

At 6/27/16 04:39 PM, ChildishLemon wrote: Would unity be okay if I wanted to make the game with sprites (sorry if this is a silly question I really don't know much)

No such thing as a silly question, but I can think of several silly answers