00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

aniMATING just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Is my track good enough for games?

2,991 Views | 55 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

I've been making music for around four years now, which isn't long, I know. But, I've always wanted to see my music in games, shows, or perhaps short films. I guess you could say, its sort of my dream. Every time I listen to music in movies and shows, the tracks are always so beautiful and tells a story within the track itself. I tried endlessly to do that, but always seem to fail terribly. So, I decided to ask all of you. What makes a great game, movie and or show song? What elements should a track have to create a song that is good enough to be in one of the categories above? Should the track have real instruments, virtual ones or a little bit of both? Any tips would be helpful, as this means a lot to me. Down below you can find one of the songs I attempted to turn into a video game track. Tell me if you think its good enough for any of those categories. That would be super helpful, thanks!

http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/687285

Response to Is my track good enough for games? 2016-06-03 14:42:33

I dont think the choice of instruments matters too much be it acoustic or electronic, as long as it sounds clean.

On the subject of movies I think that it should have a dynamic spin to it that follows the events, similar to cutscenes in video games. As for actual games it helps if the track is loopable I suppose.

I could imagine your song to be played as a credits theme of some sort

Listen to drumstep awesomeness xd: http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/683617

Response to Is my track good enough for games? 2016-06-03 15:01:08

i love self advertisement posts

lel

BBS Signature