00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

NisoXD just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

"Mixing is Cheating"

1,408 Views | 19 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

"Mixing is Cheating" 2015-07-25 10:35:48

"It's so artificial and inorganic."
"You do realize EQing is supposed to make up for errors in the recording equipment itself, right?"
"I have a Master's degree in music and I've been a musician for 40 years, I know what I'm talking about. What's EQing? You shouldn't have to EQ good music."
"We might as well put on all plays and musicals with natural light, then. We don't need spotlights, they're just cheating."

It took me a sizable chunk of time to convince this person that amplifying music digitally does nothing to audio quality unless it begins clipping. Is there any hope of reasoning?

If I offer to help you in a post, PM me to get it. I often forget to revisit threads.

Want 180+ free PSP games? Try these links! - Flash - Homebrew (OFW)

Response to "Mixing is Cheating" 2015-07-25 11:15:22

At 7/25/15 10:35 AM, Kwing wrote: "It's so artificial and inorganic."
"You do realize EQing is supposed to make up for errors in the recording equipment itself, right?"
"I have a Master's degree in music and I've been a musician for 40 years, I know what I'm talking about. What's EQing? You shouldn't have to EQ good music."
"We might as well put on all plays and musicals with natural light, then. We don't need spotlights, they're just cheating."

It took me a sizable chunk of time to convince this person that amplifying music digitally does nothing to audio quality unless it begins clipping. Is there any hope of reasoning?

That was a fun read.
But it was merely that as I can recognize rhetorical reductionism when I see it. The EQ is a tool just like music theory could also be considered as another piece in part of a tool belt.