00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

wilwz just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Earning money with games

4,874 Views | 5 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Earning money with games 2015-05-20 23:11:05

1- how do i earn money posting my game in this site?

2- and if its by view. how much do i earn per view or with 1000 views ????

thanks

BBS Signature

Response to Earning money with games 2015-05-20 23:50:28 (edited 2015-05-20 23:51:24)

I've been making games solo for about 10 years now -- here's a bit of what I've learned:

Newgrounds shares some of the ad revenue generated on your game by pre-roll ads. There's a thing called ECPM(Effective cost per milli (think milli as in millimeter)) which is essentially how much you get paid per 1000 ad impressions(note that I didn't say views -- if the user has adblock or there is no ad available you get $0). This figure will vary based on many things, but to give you a ballpark figure the ecpm for pre-roll ads for my games tends to be around $3-4 -- note, again, that this is per 1000 ad impressions. You don't need to implement anything in your game for pre-roll ads, it just automatically happens.

With that said, that's by no means the only way to monetize a game. You can implement newgrounds flash ads in your game(if your game is made with flash of course) which will generate revenue even if your game is played on another site. Another way to earn money from a web game is to find a sponsor -- they will pay you to have their logo/branding/more games links visible from your game. You do this by contacting sponsor sites directly or through a site like FGL.com(fgl charges a 10% fee once your game is sold).