00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

TheADHX just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Advice on ''cartoony'' artstyles?

556 Views | 5 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Advice on ''cartoony'' artstyles? 2015-05-19 18:04:37

I’m not very good at drawing toons so would like to know if anyone has any general advice on the subject.
(Not any particular style)
I know it’s a pretty open ended question but I’m not sure how else to put it.
And by saying ''advice'' I don’t just mean word-to-word; things like forums, Youtube channels websites, articles, blogs, etc would also help.The reason I’m asking is because I’ve been meaning to get into animation and there the cartoony style would make things a lot easier.
All information would be appreciated, thanks in advance.

Response to Advice on ''cartoony'' artstyles? 2015-05-19 18:09:33

At 5/19/15 06:04 PM, Metallum wrote: I’m not very good at drawing toons so would like to know if anyone has any general advice on the subject.
And by saying ''advice'' I don’t just mean word-to-word; things like forums, Youtube channels websites, articles, blogs, etc would also help.The reason I’m asking is because I’ve been meaning to get into animation and there the cartoony style would make things a lot easier.

make designs simple and easy to draw a thousand times over. Figure out faces from good angles, and rely on tropes like villains being angular, heroes being solid, goofy characters being round. and eyes really make the style, so whatever you draw inspiration from, see how they do their eyes and mirror it.

Response to Advice on ''cartoony'' artstyles? 2015-05-19 23:35:41

Sadly, there's really no easy way to get what your looking for.
Do studies. Draw. A lot. Watch various tutorials like Jazza, Sycra, or Proko.