00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

444rgh just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Setting up your own Studio

1,274 Views | 10 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Setting up your own Studio 2015-04-22 16:36:37

So I decided that it was time for me to setup my own home studio. At this moment I'm still mixing on my shitty 2.1 speaker set but I wanna get some real studio monitors. I've been looking on the internet so far and I've heard somewhere that studio monitors are almost usless if you don't make your room acoustic. I'm wondering if this is true?

Also my speakers will be facing a window at the otherside with blinds covering them, would this effect the sound much compared to just a wall with acoustics?

I'm really new to this so any help would be apreciated.

Response to Setting up your own Studio 2015-04-23 13:19:38

At 4/22/15 04:36 PM, ForeverBound wrote: So I decided that it was time for me to setup my own home studio. At this moment I'm still mixing on my shitty 2.1 speaker set but I wanna get some real studio monitors. I've been looking on the internet so far and I've heard somewhere that studio monitors are almost usless if you don't make your room acoustic. I'm wondering if this is true?

Also my speakers will be facing a window at the otherside with blinds covering them, would this effect the sound much compared to just a wall with acoustics?

The flat tones that studio monitors produce is already heads and tails better than any consumer level speaker, so IMHO, it makes a difference there already. If you can't afford room treatment yet, a good cheat would be fast-food cup holders. Ask your family and friends to save their cup holders whenever they get one and in a few months you will have enough to treat a couple of walls.

Personally I use the Yamaha HS8s.