00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

BorfDoggo just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Seeking advice; RPG engines.

1,469 Views | 7 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Seeking advice; RPG engines. 2014-12-07 00:01:59

Hello folks! How's everyone doing? This is a long post. There's a TL;DR at the bottom. :)

My name is Sands and I am a writer. I have stories that I'd like to convey via games. I'd like to push out my first few published works myself, almost entirely me (art, programming, writing; will outsource audio), simply to get something under my belt and perhaps improve my skills for writing specifically for games. After which I'll probably focus almost solely on writing stuff that may or may not be chewed up into someone else's productions.

Now, I can draw, and I can code, but the extent to which I can do these things are far from the levels required for me to award myself with the mantle of "pimp supreme master creator of everything awesome." It would be nothing short of an outrageous lie to call myself either an artist or a programmer. Yet, I can operate to a certain degree within existing frameworks. It is with this in mind that I am looking for the ideal engine to create my initial works.

The game I'm trying to go for is not exceedingly dissimilar from every 2D top-down perspective RPG you've ever played. Of course what I have in mind is different, but it will be within that continuum, not some cutting-edge AAA title. What I have in my mind are the games I wanted to play on the SNES when I was 5. I'm looking for a game engine that will help me achieve this goal.