00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

TheADHX just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

I'm a Composer at Harmonix, AMA!

1,621 Views | 15 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

I'm a Composer at Harmonix, AMA! 2014-12-02 17:44:48

Hello Newgrounds!

My name is James Landino (previously known as KgZ) and I am a game composer and sound designer working full time at video game developer, Harmonix Music Systems. Our company has released big franchises such as Rock Band and Dance Central.

I've had numerous people asking me questions about the game industry, how to break in, what tools I use, and so on. I'm happy to offer my advice and wisdom to you folks who want to learn more about anything you could be curious about.

You can check me out here:
www.soundcloud.com/jameslandino
www.twitter.com/jameslandino
www.facebook.com/jameslandinomusic

Ask away! I'll be on the internet forever :D

www.macjams.com/artist/kgz (Download links)

Response to I'm a Composer at Harmonix, AMA! 2014-12-02 18:02:04

At 12/2/14 05:51 PM, NekoMika wrote: Pretty cool stuff. Any updates of music in the Amplitude remake?
Also, pic of where you tend to work on musics?

There's 3 audio guys including myself creating in-house music, as well as SFX and level design. As someone who heavily grew up on Japanese music rhythm games, I think you will notice the songs I've composed for Amplitude HD to have a good amount DDR/IIDX inspiration and influence here!

Unfortunately, I just left work and back home but I can show you my home studio setup, don't mind the mess though.

I'm a Composer at Harmonix, AMA!

Hey there!
Dope home setup and really awesome work!

Qs:
What would you say has been the best (happiest/proudest/most fulfilling) moment in your musical career?
and
What's your go-to #1 Tip for any aspiring musician?

Cheers!