00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

mikeymurder just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

My first decent creation.

1,173 Views | 20 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

My first decent creation. 2014-10-27 15:13:56

Hey guys. I'm just getting started with drawing and what not. This is the first thing I've made that wasn't terribly disproportionate. Positive criticism is always welcome

Response to My first decent creation. 2014-10-27 19:27:29

At 10/27/14 03:13 PM, RationLlama wrote: Hey guys. I'm just getting started with drawing and what not. This is the first thing I've made that wasn't terribly disproportionate. Positive criticism is always welcome

So proportion-wise, you did well, and you have a very good eye for shadows but i'd take a look at those hair spikes once again, the shadows are opposite where they should be cast. Two things bother me with this and this is understandable because I was once at these positions in my art lessons:

1. The chest area isn't round but because of the black background, the dark grey shirt, and the angled point of the shirt makes the chest look extended. So here I cannot tell if the character is male or female. I will assume male for no reason. Make sure that you use folds and curves on the body so that the body angle is not confused with the body shape.

2. Work on your posing. along with your anatomy, this will come in handy as you keep drawing more and more dynamic characters and poses.

I also did a redraw just to show the points I listed. Can't wait to see more of your arts friend.

Response to My first decent creation. 2014-10-27 21:48:20

At 10/27/14 07:27 PM, LurkinMcClerkin wrote: