00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

SpeakyDooman just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Options for character controls...

473 Views | 10 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Options for character controls... 2014-09-12 03:39:40

Tinkering around with a few games at the moment and one of them is a very simple platformer.

Depending on the level the character's control attributes will vary. By that I mean the player will use the same keys to move control the player (WASD or Arrows) but some levels the controls will be reversed or his speed will be greatly increased or reduced.

Wondering what would be the best way to go about organizing this.

My current idea is to use booleans inside the key handlers that will check which level it is.

I'm open to any other suggestions. Since I'm still fairly new to arrays/loops if you are going to suggest them in some way could you go a little into detail about how I would use them for this situation or give me some pseudo code demonstration.

Thanks in advance guys.

Response to Options for character controls... 2014-09-12 04:18:03

At 9/12/14 03:39 AM, Hero101 wrote: My current idea is to use booleans inside the key handlers that will check which level it is.

Imagine what your code would look like if you had 100 different levels and you put all possibilities inside the key handler...
Stuff that differs between levels (like gravity, friction etc) should be defined in the levels.
Include the environment variables when deciding what exactly your character does.