Respond to this Topic
pythagoras
pythagoras
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Copycat Rant 2004-06-10 05:16:03 Reply

As a webmaster of such a site that Tom talks about (I won't plug it, but I'm sure you can figure it out), the first response that comes to mind is "Imitation is the best form of flattery." You should be proud that your ideas were deemed good enough to be copied by others. I understand that that may or may not mean much to some, but to me, that would be a huge honor.

I must make it clear that I have a huge amount of respect for NG. I didn't create my site to rip it off, but rather for personal experience with PHP. A learning experience. I don't see the point in me making a PHP site using ideas that I don't find particularly interesting. As a flash artist myself, A flash portal was a natural selection for my site, if not for others to submit their stuff, then for me to have a place of my own to submit to.

At 6/9/04 01:21 PM, TomFulp wrote: took all of our ideas and simply mirrored them for their own gain.

That hurts. I don't gain a thing from running my site, the minute amout of money the banners on my site make are in the hopes of actually paying the bandwidth costs (which they don't.) I imagine that most people who run these sites are under the same banner as me, just some dumb bored kids looking for something to do.

Juudas
Juudas
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Copycat Rant 2004-06-10 05:18:02 Reply

I feel ya Tom. To think there wasn't even much of a credit given.. Arrgh, I'm gettin even more pissed after visiting that flipsided.com, which the 16 yr old author had been working hard on. What fucking work!? It wouldn't have been so bad if he hadn't incorporated the whole copycat flash section to the website Someone should teach him something about appreciation and respect for other people's work ....it's such a sad thing [img]http://www.erowebs.org/forums/images/smilies/new/reddisgust.gif[/img]