00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

RunicPixels just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

My Best Friend Is Now A Burnout

1,422 Views | 24 Replies

My Best Friend Is Now A Burnout 2014-07-16 16:11:44

My best friend of 8 years is now 26 years old. He has never had a full time job, doesn't know anything about cooking, cleaning, or hygiene, and can't see a single project or idea to fruition.

We became friends because we have a similar sense of humor, similar taste in movies and shows, and similar critical ability. We met in college. I graduated and began what is now an extremely successful and fulfilling career, and he continued on to graduate school.

He introduced me to flash animation and even had a few small projects posted here on Newgrounds. I got into it thinking that I had a lot of work to do in order to catch up with him, but quickly found that what he had created and accomplished was easily below my ability. I learned more and more about comics, illustration, and animation, and he simply stagnated.
It wasn't that I had more time than he did to devote to personal projects - I was working 40 hour weeks and he was pulling 20 hour school weeks at his own pace. Furthermore, my job is absolutely and entirely unrelated to art and animation, so I have to completely shift gears when I sit down to doodle something.

The dude is married now to a good woman who is competent and successful, and who likes him for all the same reasons I do. Unfortunately, she's never lived with him so now she is slowly realizing what a slob he actually is, and how much of life he wastes just sitting around waxing "coulda, woulda, shoulda".