00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

twmimic001 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

New Programmer, Looking For As3 Hel

2,205 Views | 49 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Hey all. Just to let you all know before I begin, I am relatively new to programming, particularly when it comes to coding a game.

The game I am looking to code for the moment is a simple, MUD style text adventure game. I want to start by keeping it single player and add in the multiplayer aspect later. I have been going through a lot of tutorials for AS3 and even Javascript. As I understand it, Jave is close to AS3 in Syntax.

So, I started to code in my classes first as a starting point, I believe by doing them first I will avoid issues later and will have a better idea of what I have to do. However, I have come across an issue. The Auto Formater threw a hissy fit at me and told me there was an error "near line: }"

Would appreciate if it someone could have a look please?

Also, if there is any advice you can give me, that would be appreciated too.

package 
{

//defining the player class. This is the object defining the player.
	//Last Modification date: July 07, 2014
	public class Player
	{
		private var pName:String;
		private var pGender:String;
		private var pRace:String;
		private var pClass:String;
		private var pDescription:String;
		private var pStrength:int;
		private var pEndurance:int;
		private var pAgility:int;
		private var pIntelligence:int;
		private var pHitPoints:int;
		private var pSovPieces:int;
		private var pInventory:Array = new Array();
	}

//Defining the Location Class.
	//Last Modification: July 07, 2014
	public class Location
	{
		private const l_roomTitle:String;
		private const l_roomDescription:String;
		private const l_vecExits:Vector;
		private var l_roomInventory:Array = new Array;

//Return Location Title