00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

TheADHX just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

A Guide to Collaboration Seeking

468 Views | 0 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

A Guide to Collaboration Seeking 2014-04-28 17:48:37

Hey everyone. I don't post much, but I frequent the collaboration board out of interest. I've been programming for a few years and I like to see what else is out there. Throughout the months that I've browsed, I can safely say that I can count the number of appealing threads on here on one hand. Almost every thread is rushed, excluding necessary information, or not offering good return. Here are my thoughts on how to make a good collaboration thread. I'll be speaking with bias as a programmer who mostly reads the artist's threads, but hopefully this can help people.

1. Who are you?
An introduction to your post. If you're looking to work with someone else, establish yourself. Your skillset, a bit about your history, who you are seeking and why.

2. What are you looking for?
Threads often lack essential detail in what they seek. So many times a thread will say "Seeking VA" or "Looking for programmer" without any further detail. What exactly are you looking for? Or at the very least, a rough idea. If you're looking for a programmer, what do you want the programmer to do? Flash games? HTML 5? Something else? Do you have a code base that you want a programmer to start working from? If you're looking for a voice actor, who are they playing? What do they sound like? What's their character. Specifying "male" and "female" doesn't cut it. Voice acting is such a wide field that you need to give more details for what you're looking for. If you're not sure and want to leave it a bit open, that's fine, but something more than "Looking for male VA" would work well.

3. What are you offering?