00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Sk8er-Gaius15 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

How do you tell the difference?

594 Views | 6 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

How do you tell the difference? 2014-03-06 15:30:20

So like if you're watching an animation of a movie, a show or whatever. How do you tell what type of animation it is? Any key things to look for that help you spot the difference? I'm talkin' about when you watch 2D animated shows by the way (obviously spotting CGI is easy). Shows like Family guy, Fairly odd parrents, Ren and Stimpy, Cowboy Bebop, Kim possible, Johnny Bravo, The power puff girls, Flapjack and South park all seem to consist of either full, limited or cut-out animation. How do I tell exactly what's being used though,? It's not always so clear. I'm an animator and I feel like it's my duty to be able to know what's going on behind the scenes, know what I'm sayin'? You catchin' mah drift? I just gotta know! So please, do go ahead... explain that stuff yo.

I just used these to get my point across, use any of your own examples if you want.

Response to How do you tell the difference? 2014-03-06 16:10:15

Google.

Response to How do you tell the difference? 2014-03-06 16:38:21

At 3/6/14 04:10 PM, BrainworkInProgress wrote: Google.

Tried it already, didn't work.

Response to How do you tell the difference? 2014-03-06 18:36:07

These are just my assumptions. The earlier Family Guy seasons from 1-3 use a more traditional style because it uses more angles on their shot while the later seasons keeps most of their shots at the same angle. I assume they do this to because its cheaper and easier to animate. Also it could recycle models and use some tweens