00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

mike181 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Photoshop question 2013-11-21 03:41:07

Hello, I am a Desktop Publishing student, mostly working in Illustrator and Indesign.
I wish to know more about Photoshop, as I feel I'm missing out on something of some sort.
I've been occupying myself with little tutorials and it works out really well, but I've found this picture of a band named Korn, which I wish to recreate, which I've included in this post.
Does anyone know how this might be called, how it is done, or even show me a tutorial?

Thank you for your time.

Photoshop question

BBS Signature

Response to Photoshop question 2013-11-21 15:16:48

At 11/21/13 03:41 AM, RedeFusion wrote: I've been occupying myself with little tutorials and it works out really well, but I've found this picture of a band named Korn, which I wish to recreate, which I've included in this post.
Does anyone know how this might be called, how it is done, or even show me a tutorial?

Honestly? With difficulty.

There's a lot going on in this image that you'll find it tricky to recreate it. I reckon the artist may have painted in a few areas to make a really strong silhouette of Jonathan Davis. I have my own quick and easy way of doing cut-outs, but it'll require a bit more tweaking to look like that image.

I've uploaded attached a pic to try and explain the stages.

0. Take a pic, hopefully so that the silhouette of what you're drawing is clear. The photo I grabbed off the web has Jonathan bathed in light, while his surroundings are dark. (... but you can also use the lasso tool to grab the shapes you're after).

1. I want to make his body black, so I inverted the pic (you don't have to invert the image, though). I also added a Black & White adjustment layer to remove colours.