Be a Supporter!

Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues

  • 2,759 Views
  • 13 Replies
New Topic
deshawn999
deshawn999
  • Member since: Aug. 13, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 13th, 2013 @ 11:58 PM

I recorded a video of what happens when I try to use Nexus with FL Studio 11.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ea-K3gQyJZY[/youtube]

Really frustrating the hell out of me. Please help.

Thank you.

AetherX
AetherX
  • Member since: Nov. 5, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Musician
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 12:05 AM

Looks like it's working how it's supposed to. Admittedly I've never used Nexus, but I don't see what the problem is.

What do you want it to do?


--NG Music -- Soundcloud--
Most Recent Song: Explore Infinity <-Failed audition to NGADM!

deshawn999
deshawn999
  • Member since: Aug. 13, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 12:10 AM

At 8/14/13 12:05 AM, AetherX wrote: Looks like it's working how it's supposed to. Admittedly I've never used Nexus, but I don't see what the problem is.

What do you want it to do?

It's not working correctly at all.

It should be playing the sample when clicked on.

Also, it only plays the beginning of the sample, one note. In Piano Roll, all that is shown is one note, C5. Instead of playing the entire sample which consists of several different notes, it only plays one prolonged note. Something is wrong but I cannot figure out what is the cause.

AetherX
AetherX
  • Member since: Nov. 5, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Musician
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 12:19 AM

Well if you're sending the step sequencer to the piano roll then yeah it's only going to show a C5 since you haven't put anything else in there. Notes on the sequencer are C5 by default. You have to write the midi yourself, Nexus can't do that.

As for only playing one note... are you sure the samples are supposed to be multi note? That seems odd, since then it would be kind of hard to write a melody. I didn't think that was how Nexus worked. Was it working in FL10 or something?

Easy fix: write your own melodies in the piano roll :D


--NG Music -- Soundcloud--
Most Recent Song: Explore Infinity <-Failed audition to NGADM!

MockOff
MockOff
  • Member since: Feb. 17, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 12:26 AM

Its working like its supposed to. That's how Nexus works. Some of the sequences and stuff play full out samples and not one note if you're looking for that.

deshawn999
deshawn999
  • Member since: Aug. 13, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 12:29 AM

At 8/14/13 12:19 AM, AetherX wrote: Well if you're sending the step sequencer to the piano roll then yeah it's only going to show a C5 since you haven't put anything else in there. Notes on the sequencer are C5 by default. You have to write the midi yourself, Nexus can't do that.

As for only playing one note... are you sure the samples are supposed to be multi note? That seems odd, since then it would be kind of hard to write a melody. I didn't think that was how Nexus worked. Was it working in FL10 or something?

Easy fix: write your own melodies in the piano roll :D

I know how Nexus should work... I've been watching tutorials of beat making for the past week and everybody uses it and all of them click the sample in the Nexus window and it plays without them having to put it into the pattern, than once they do in fact put the sample into one of the pattern channels, it plays the ENTIRE sample, every note, and than they can go into Piano Roll to edit the melody, which is never just one note.

Here's one example of it working properly. Skip to 11:12 in the video if the following link doesnt start playing at that point automatically:

Click here

deshawn999
deshawn999
  • Member since: Aug. 13, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 12:30 AM

At 8/14/13 12:26 AM, MockOff wrote: Its working like its supposed to. That's how Nexus works. Some of the sequences and stuff play full out samples and not one note if you're looking for that.

Once again, incorrect. Check out the video I posted. I tried playing that sample that the dude in the video plays and mine plays out drastically different. And also, as you can see, he clicks on the sample and it automatically plays while still in the Nexus window, which mine obviously does not do.

MockOff
MockOff
  • Member since: Feb. 17, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 12:36 AM

Did you pirate Nexus? That could be a possibility.

AetherX
AetherX
  • Member since: Nov. 5, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Musician
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 01:15 AM

Two problems:

One: it isn't actually playing automatically. I'm willing to bet money that the guy in the video you linked has a midi keyboard, or is just playing with the typing keyboard. That "melody" sounds exactly like the basic dicking around I do on my keyboard when previewing sounds and samples. He's playing it himself, it isn't going automatically.

Two: I still don't see what you mean about having all of the notes in already. It looks to me like he's drawing them in himself. Never mind Nexus, I don't think there's a VST out there at all that automatically writes midi melodies straight into the piano roll.

Also, as MockOff said, if it's pirated and this is a software issue (which I seriously doubt is the case) there isn't anything we can do to help. If you've bought it, then I suggest taking a look at some tutorials for getting started in FL before you worry about genre specific stuff. I highly recommend the Beginner to Pro series. It's a bit dated, but relevant enough. That's how I got started.


--NG Music -- Soundcloud--
Most Recent Song: Explore Infinity <-Failed audition to NGADM!

AetherX
AetherX
  • Member since: Nov. 5, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Musician
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 01:19 AM

Sorry for the double post, but I forgot to mention: FL specific questions can be asked here. They're usually answered quite promptly.


--NG Music -- Soundcloud--
Most Recent Song: Explore Infinity <-Failed audition to NGADM!

Lachi
Lachi
  • Member since: Sep. 29, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Musician
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 04:06 AM

mmmh, from your video, I don't think you really know what you are doing, lol.
Open up the piano roll man
also, read something before you start


SUCK MY KICK

deshawn999
deshawn999
  • Member since: Aug. 13, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 03:07 PM

At 8/14/13 04:06 AM, Lachi wrote: mmmh, from your video, I don't think you really know what you are doing, lol.
Open up the piano roll man
also, read something before you start

I know exactly what I'm doing. I'm demonstrating in the video what happens when I try to play the samples in Nexus and what happens when the sample plays in the pattern.

I have read up on this for the past week attempting to find a solution to these issues.

Please take your unhelpful insulting comments somewhere else.

Blackhole12
Blackhole12
  • Member since: Sep. 21, 2006
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Game Developer
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 03:27 PM

At 8/14/13 03:07 PM, deshawn999 wrote: I know exactly what I'm doing.

No, you don't.

If you go to any other video by that guy where he is using nexus, he'll start playing random notes using either a MIDI piano or his keyboard when he loads up a patch. The patch itself is not what's playing, it's him playing notes on his keyboard first before putting them into the piano roll. Nexus does not have multi-note patches. It does have an arpeggiator, but that's simply triggering different notes, and it's up to you to configure that setting yourself. If you are looking for arppegios, use the arpeggiator. If you are looking for pre-made melodies, find a sample library, because synths don't work like that.

Nexus is working exactly as it's supposed to. You can verify this by loading the synth into literally any other DAW ever made, and it will behave the exact same way.

Back-From-Purgatory
Back-From-Purgatory
  • Member since: Dec. 11, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 33
Musician
Response to Nexus 2 / Fl Studio 11 Issues Aug. 14th, 2013 @ 04:05 PM

Don't ask for help if you're not willing to accept it. Nexus is working exactly as intended. The example you linked to, the guy played a few random notes likely on a midi controller to test the patch, Nexus didn't do that melody, the user did.

Nexus WILL NOT play melodies for you. You're trying to fix an issue that doesn't exist.


Audio/BBS Mod
News: I want to write more metal... - Music: The Inevitability - Art: Kira
\/\/\/ Click the sig for fun times! \/\/\/

BBS Signature