New Topic Respond to this Topic
PurplePrawn
PurplePrawn
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Animator
What canvas size do you guys use? 2013-06-27 02:19:26 Reply

I'm new to digital painting, and I've just been using flash to draw and cell shading. I want to start using photoshop, but I have no idea what canvas size to use. I've seen people say they use anywhere from like 1000x1000 pixels to 6000x6000 pixels. I understand that the bigger the canvas, the better things look, but I don't want to be using an unnecessarily huge canvas size. I just want to hear some suggestions based on your guys' experience. Thanks!

lovingthedark
lovingthedark
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 15
Artist
Response to What canvas size do you guys use? 2013-06-27 02:24:09 Reply

I usually start with a minimum of 2000-3000 pixels on my smallest side, 300 dpi. You can always resize something to make it smaller, but bigger- not so much.

Basic Art Tips_______________Art 101_______________ Orn's Scouting Guide_______________NG Art Chat

PurplePrawn
PurplePrawn
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Animator
Response to What canvas size do you guys use? 2013-06-27 02:28:45 Reply

What about on the larger side? I'm gonna be making paintings with multiple characters in them.

J-qb
J-qb
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 14
Artist
Response to What canvas size do you guys use? 2013-06-27 03:14:11 Reply

At 6/27/13 02:28 AM, PurplePrawn wrote: What about on the larger side? I'm gonna be making paintings with multiple characters in them.

That would depend on the aspect ratio you want.
don't worry about the dpi unless you want to print something, in which case you should ideally use the desired size at 300dpi.
Photoshop and other rasterbased drawing programs have trouble maintaining sharpness at pixel level. That's why I prefer to always work at at least twice the size you will eventually be working/viewing it at. Remember, you can always scale down, but it's very hard to scale up.

NEVER LOOSE FAITH IN MANCUNT