New Topic Respond to this Topic
anbringehr
anbringehr
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Anbringehr. Beginner Programmer. 2013-05-27 21:21:50 Reply

My name is Anbringehr, I'm 22 years old, I'm very interested in learning programming.

More specifically, Video Game programming.

I'm looking to gain experience in programming. I was pointed here by a colleague and thought I would create a post and see what came out of it.

I have tried looking online, but everything seems to be a gimmick. I'm willing to do whatever it takes.

Diki
Diki
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 13
Programmer
Response to Anbringehr. Beginner Programmer. 2013-05-28 07:43:53 Reply

What kind of games are you interested in making? PC/Mac games? Mobile? Web-based?
Will this be just for fun or do you want to eventually sell your games?

C# with the Unity engine is a good place to start for making PC games. I have no experience with Mac development so I don't know what you would use to make games for that OS; possibly Objective-C. You could use Java for both PC and Mac development but you'll lose a significant amount of performance because of the Java Virtual Machine with the benefit of not needing to re-compile your game for different platforms (you could even run it on Linux).

Mobile will depend on if you're releasing for Android or iOS. Android will require Java; iOS requires Objective-C.

Web-based gives you the most options. The two most commonly used technologies are Flash and HTML which will require ActionScript and JavaScript respectively. Out of the two I would personally recommend HTML5/JavaScript but you can't go wrong either way. If you go the route of HTML5 you could use the ImpactJS engine. I have some limited experience with it but it's been excellent from what I've seen. With Flash there is, of course, the Flixel and FlashPunk engines; the FlashPunk website is down so the best I can link to is the GitHub repository.