Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Musician
Response to Terrible clients May. 17th, 2013 @ 05:53 AM Reply

At 5/16/13 11:04 PM, samulis wrote: Any form of "Pop" and "good chord progression" do not belong together in any sentence ever!

Heheheh, to me, they certainly do. Having grown up hearing Mylene Farmer, Zazie and quite a few other French pop artists, having grown up hearing Ayumi Hamasaki... I grew up learning far more chord progressions than I learned normally in class.

AMDG ✝

NGADM Round 1 Entry: Oceans Wide

BBS Signature
JacobCadmus
JacobCadmus
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Terrible clients May. 19th, 2013 @ 01:45 PM Reply

I've had some pretty hefty experiences working on film music, which come down to the consensus that I'm not a fan of changing cuts and temp music. one director I've worked with had a "Terrence Malick complex," in which he would constantly send me new cuts while I had nearly finished scoring.

another director I've worked with (who was one of my best friends at the time) had me scoring music to a dramatic 9-minute short film that he made; he gave me only two days to work on it. mind you that this was the very first time I had scored drama, and this film in particular was dependent entirely on the music as the storytelling frontrunner. needless to say that this was the hardest I had ever worked on ANY score, and I did it for FREE. well, once I finished, the guy sent me a list of things to tweak, and I complied to all of his demands... just so that he would tell me on the night of release that he ended up using the temp music for the final cut. such a wasted effort. I felt so discouraged at my abilities as a composer, that I had quit music for three months.

HyperTrough
HyperTrough
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 06
Musician
Response to Terrible clients May. 20th, 2013 @ 01:39 PM Reply

Not commissions, but collabs.