Be a Supporter!
Haggard
Haggard
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 56
Writer
Response to Why University? 2013-03-22 17:57:34 Reply

At 3/22/13 01:34 PM, Bri wrote: Are young people being pressured into gaining University entry to feed their parents ego?

Because studying is fun! At least, when you can afford it. Tough luck if you live in a country where only private universities with outrageous fees count for anything in your resumee... :P

Surf Nazis must die! || Wi/Ht? #38 || Review Request Club || NG Logs || METAL-ABC (Last update: 04. March 2012)

JaY11
JaY11
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 21
Melancholy
Response to Why University? 2013-03-22 18:46:37 Reply

i'm studying physics because physics is interesting, I don't need nor expect mountains of money, but I would like a job that at least has something to do with physics

I think an amazing paying job isn't the right reason to be studying.

mothballs
mothballs
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 37
Game Developer
Response to Why University? 2013-03-22 19:02:29 Reply

At 3/22/13 01:57 PM, Bri wrote: I find it a rather expensive exercise, to attend anywhere, for the length of time that you would be there, purely to socialize, or fill your head full of information that is virtually useless considering you may never get to use it, in the real world. I was always under the impression that University was a means of gaining a qualification, in order to enhance your employment prospects. I am unsure if this is what you meant by not always attending in order to come out with more job opportunities, but that is the way that it reads, I might be wrong, and if so, I apologise, I would be grateful if you were to elaborate upon other reasons for going to College, or University.