New Topic Respond to this Topic
LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 26
Musician
Want to get signed? Read this. 2013-02-15 14:07:31 Reply

A lot of the EDM artists that hop around here (including me) have once thought 'This is what I wanna do for a living', and a lot of those people have also taken the next step towards achieving that: sending a demo to a record label. However, the response to our email 'listen to this plox' with a 128 mp3 attached make our over-enthusiasm turn into disappointment: 'Sorry, not for us'. The same goes for the other labels which we also sent a CC of the same email. We feel bad and wonder if our music sucks. We sit in a corner and cry. And a few weeks later we do the exact same thing. Why? Because the idea mentioned earlier is stuck so deep it can't get out of our brain. Ask Leonardo DiCaprio.

Cut the crap. This article was published on Beatport today. Take a serious look at it.
Want to get signed to Size, Big Beat, Axtone, Spinnin', Toolroom, or Refune? Here's what you need to know.

These are the A&R guys of some of the biggest labels of the EDM industry talking about demos. The conclusion is: what they see is just as important as what they hear, and they're darn right. You're trying to get into the professional music industry here, so act professional.

So how do you write a nice, professional email?
6 Step to Sending the Perfect Demo Submission
The idea of this article is to inspire you and show you the do's and don'ts of sending a demo. You're not supposed to copycat that shit like you've life depends on it. I recommend you to read it carefully.

Last but not least, a summary about the REAL music industry.
A great guide to the EDM business via Ferry Corsten
You can trust what it says: the music industry is one big clusterfuck. You're on your own there. There's nobody to help when your label decides to buttfuck you. Consider what you're gonna do.