00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

nuggetior just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

New to Spriting, Guidance?

767 Views | 7 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

New to Spriting, Guidance? 2013-02-14 12:13:45

I'm new to Newgrounds, and also, new to Spriting. Happy Valentine's Day, btw guys. :)
I recently took up Spriting within the last 2 months, and happened to find it one of my favorite ways of creating art digitally. As such, I want to get good at it. I practice quite often, but there are limits to how much you can grow, just off of practice. I checked tutorials, I tried to apply my own artistic learning from paper and convert it to Spriting. It works to some degree, but I feel like the only way I can *really* grow as a Spriting artist is by having people critique my work. I can't really do that currently as I'm not scouted due to being a fresh member, but I'd really like it if I could get some constructive criticisms from experienced Spriters, and people who can critique spriting as well. Don't hesitate to be harsh. If it's for my improvement I'll take whatever you have to say!

I heard Newgrounds has a fairly friendly base for Art, and a lot of the members give great criticisms within the community. Anyways, here's Hawken, thanks for the help in advance!

I'll be uploading multiple images due to the fact that I can only upload one at a time, however, for ease of access, I'll also link them here in this first post as well:

Hawken V1.0

Painut V1.0

Response to New to Spriting, Guidance? 2013-02-14 12:15:00

Here's Painut V1.0 64x64. To be frank, the only thing I really feel confident about in this is the Peanut texturing. Other than that, I don't think I've nailed a 'good sprite'

Response to New to Spriting, Guidance? 2013-02-14 12:17:07